Let’s break everything and start again!

I recall that I modelled a 1st generation gantry, but with a 2nd generation diagram. I tried to modify this model to make up for the differences, but it resulted in too many distortions.

On the other hand, Combi24 (a participant in the Loco-Revue forum — many thanks to him) sent me a lot of documents and detail pictures.

So, I decided to start all over again for a 2nd generation gantry.

My approach this time will be less “naive”:

After collecting some opinions on the forum, I decide that some elements (beams, legs) will be 3D printed; that others (gangways, railings) will be in nickel silver. For others (e.g. cab), it’s a lot less obvious, but I’m strongly inclined to favour 3D printing.

For sizing, I’m going to take into account the 87th reduction right from the start. For example, the gangways’ plates will be 17.4 mm thick, which will give 0.2 mm after reduction — I could have even chosen 0.16; the railings will be 26.1 mm thick to get 0.3 mm to scale. There, 0.4 would be better, but it would limit the finesse of some details.

Similarly, the axle diameters will be adapted to give commercially available values for brass, nickel silver or piano wire rods.

Choosing the subsets

I’ll create an element tree, more or less following the construction steps. Here’s what it will finally look like in the AutoCAD External Reference Manager.

External Reference Manager

Some construction details

I’ll give here some details on the choices that I had to make to simplify or facilitate the construction.

Bogies

The tricky point is the representation of the motor assembly. The motors are of the asynchronous type, and typically have external cooling fins. These fins are too thin to be rendered in 3D printing. Although I represented them in full size, I had to remove them to the 87th scale. Note also the increased thickness of some reliefs.

1:1

Driving bogie real scale

1:87

Driving bogie 1/87 scale

Cab

Choosing the technique of reproduction was delicate: the window uprights are thin and had a chance being defective in 3D printing.

By thickening them a bit, and by providing housing for rhodoïd or other transparent plastic glazing, I thought that the construction would still be easier in 3D than in nickel silver. I planned a construction in two parts, so you can access the inside to mount the windows. So, there is on the one hand the cabin itself, and on the other the floor with an evocation of control console.

The cab fastening parts under legs (shown in orange) will be made of folded nickel silver sheet.

It is not absolutely certain that the details of about 0.3 mm such as these window housings and seals will be correctly rendered in 3D printing; we’ll base judgement on evidence…

Two parts cab

Window housing

Current pickup system

There is also a wide variety of configurations here: three-phase line (380 V) in horizontal or vertical layers, cable reel in newer version, cab-side or opposite side, etc.

I chose a current pickup by trolleys on horizontal layer, cab-side. I justify this choice by considering that the most spectacular view of the gantry is facing the cab, and that it’s better that the power line is at the rear. In addition, it simplifies a little the gantry, because, otherwise, it would require an additional gangway to access the trolleys.

I don’t have very clear data on the support console of the device, which also takes quite different aspects. So I improvised a bit, being inspired by pictures and simplifying. On the other hand, I have a fairly precise diagram of the current pickups themselves.

These pickups will be photo-etched. The springs, optional, will not be functional! I did not represent insulators, too small to be rendered in 3D printing.

Current pickup

On casse tout et on recommence !

Je rappelle que j’avais modélisé un portique de 1re génération, mais avec un plan de 2e génération. J’ai essayé de modifier ce modèle pour rattraper les différences, mais ça aboutissait à trop de distorsions.

D’autre part, Combi24 (un participant au forum Loco-Revue — merci à lui) m’a fait parvenir beaucoup de documents et de photos de détail.

Du coup, je me suis décidé à tout reprendre à partir de zéro pour un portique de 2e génération.

Mon approche sera cette fois moins « naïve » :

Après recueil de quelques avis sur le forum, je décide que certains éléments (poutres, palées) seront en impression 3D ; que d’autres (passerelles, rambardes) seront en maillechort. Pour d’autres encore (cabine p. ex.), c’est beaucoup moins évident, mais je penche fortement pour l’impression 3D.

Pour le dimensionnement, je vais dès le début tenir compte de la réduction au 87e. Par exemple, l’épaisseur des tôles des passerelles sera de 17,4 mm, ce qui donnera 0,2 mm après réduction — j’aurais peut-être même pu choisir 0,16 ; l’épaisseur des rambardes sera de 26,1 mm pour obtenir 0,3 mm. Là, 0,4 serait mieux, mais cela limiterait la finesse de certains détails.

De même, les diamètres d’axes seront adaptés pour donner des valeurs disponibles dans le commerce, en laiton, maillechort ou corde à piano.

Choix des sous-ensembles

Je vais créer une arborescence d’éléments, suivant plus ou moins les étapes de construction. Voici ce que cela aura donné finalement dans le Gestionnaire des références externes d’AutoCAD.

Gestionnaire de références externes

Quelques détails de construction

Je vais donner ici quelques précisions sur les choix que j’ai été amené à faire pour simplifier ou faciliter la construction.

Bogies

Le point délicat est la représentation de l’ensemble moteur. Les moteurs sont de type asynchrone, et possèdent typiquement des ailettes de refroidissement extérieures. Ces ailettes sont trop fines pour être rendues en impression 3D. Bien que je les aie représentées en vraie grandeur, j’ai donc dû les supprimer au 87e. On remarquera aussi l’augmentation d’épaisseur de certains reliefs.

1:1

Bogie moteur échelle réelle

1:87

Bogie moteur échelle 1/87

Cabine

Le choix de la technique de reproduction était délicat : les montants de fenêtres sont fins et risquaient de ne pas sortir en impression 3D.

En les épaississant un peu, et en prévoyant des logements pour des vitres en rhodoïd ou autre plastique transparent, je me suis dit que la construction serait quand même plus facile en 3D qu’en maillechort. J’ai prévu une construction en deux parties, de façon à pouvoir accéder à l’intérieur pour monter les vitres. Il y a donc d’une part la cabine proprement dite, et de l’autre le plancher muni d’une évocation de pupitre de commande.

Les pièces de fixation de la cabine sous palée (représentées en orange) seront en tôle de maillechort pliée.

Il n’est pas absolument sûr que les détails de l’ordre de 0,3 mm comme ces emplacements pour vitres et les joints d’étanchéité vont être correctement rendus en impression 3D ; on jugera sur pièces…

Cabine en deux parties

Emplacements pour vitres

Système de captage de courant

Il y a ici aussi une grande variété de configurations : ligne triphasée (380 V) en nappe horizontale ou verticale, enrouleur de câble en version plus récente, prise côté cabine ou côté opposé, etc.

J’ai choisi une prise de courant par trolleys sur nappe horizontale, côté cabine. Je justifie ce choix en considérant que la vue la plus spectaculaire du portique est face cabine, et qu’il vaut mieux que la ligne d’alimentation soit à l’arrière. De plus, cela simplifie un peu le portique, car, dans le cas contraire, il faudrait une passerelle supplémentaire pour accéder aux trolleys.

Je n’ai pas de données très claires sur la console support du dispositif, qui prend elle aussi des aspects assez variés. J’ai donc un peu improvisé en m’inspirant de photos et en simplifiant. En revanche, j’ai un plan assez précis des trolleys proprement dits.

Ces trolleys seront en photodécoupe. Les ressorts, facultatifs, ne seront pas fonctionnels ! Je n’ai pas représenté les isolateurs, trop petits pour passer en impression 3D.

Prise de courant