Drawing of the spreader

The spreader is that huge frame used to grab the container. It is equipped with gripping devices (corner locks or arms) which can slide to fit the various lengths of the containers.

This document shows a recent example, different from the one that interests me, but which explains well the rotating locks gripping system (twistlocks). This mechanism is similar to that of a key in a lock. Here is a view of this kind of lock, with, underneath, a standardized ISO corner piece for container.

Twistlock

The landing pin is in fact a probe operated by the container when the lock penetrates into the corner piece, thus signaling the correct positioning of the spreader and allowing rotation of the lock.

Firsts measurements

Here at least it's simple: I have no diagram nor plan whatsoever. I  can only rely on the pictures, with the gantry and containers whose dimensions are well known. At the time (early 1970s), there was less variety than now. The ISO containers were all eight feet wide and high, ie 2.44 m. The lengths were 20, 30 and 40 feet, respectively 6.06 m, 9.12 m and 12.19 m. Since then, the 30 feet have almost disappeared.

The spreader consists mainly of a frame made of IPE beams, joined together by folded sheet iron plates at the ends, and by cross-pieces of rather complex shapes, designed to receive the hoist hooks.

Here is a first photo of which I straightened the perspective to measure the frame length and beams height. The question of the container length appeared immediately. Indeed, it seems too long for a 30 feet, and too short for a 40 feet, compared to the spreader frame that is clearly longer. And, in fact, neither is compatible with the gantry legs spreading (about 11 m).

The solution came by consulting the Wikipedia article on multimodal containers, which states that at Sea-Land, whose boss Malcolm McLean was the inventor of the concept, the containers were 35 feet long, or about 10.7 m. This is undoubtedly the case of the container photographed here!

Spreader length measurement

On the image, the first number is the value in pixels (taken from a larger image, inapplicable to this reduced image). The second is the value in millimeters. Naturally, all these dimensions are subject to considerable uncertainty, and the calculation basis is different according to whether one measures in horizontal or vertical. There would be equality only in the case of a perfectly orthogonal projection, which is hardly ever the case. The passage from pixels to millimeters was made by comparison with the container.

The spreader length, obtained by symmetry because of the hidden end, is 12.34 m, perfectly coherent with a container of 40 feet (12.19 m).

Concerning the beam height, the standard values compatible with the measurement are 450 (× 180) or 500 (× 200). I arbitrarily chose the second, choice confirmed below. Obviously, the beams might not be standard!

Here is now the picture used to get the spreader width. It will be noted that the beam height, measured here as well, is consistent with the value found previously.

The width is taken from the middle of the beams. If they have a wing width of 200, the total width will be 2.025 m, which I have arbitrarily rounded to 2 m.

Thanks to these dimensions, I can already outline the structure of the spreader. But the hardest remains to be done!

Spreader width measurement

Lifting cross-pieces

Let’s look at the lifting cross-pieces now. The method used is always the same. From the spreader width and the beam height dimensions, as noted above, an attempt is made to deduce the others. The diameter of the pulley block (also uncertain) is taken as a check.

This picture shows the presence of a smaller beam in the axis, which probably serves to support and guide mobile sets. It has a much smaller section, and must pass under the cross-pieces. I chose a 180 mm HEB beam.

Spreader cross-pieces measurement

There are also bracing profiles, which I have taken of rectangular 90 × 50 section, their actual profile being an angle either in L or in T.

Drawing

Nothing special to say about the drawing, except that it is made separately from the gantry crane and imported as an external reference. This means that it is only included as an address, and that any changes to this external reference will automatically affect the drawing of the gantry. The other method, block import, would require deleting this block and re-importing it at each change. On the other hand, you can not work on both drawings at the same time. You are obliged to close one during editing the other. Another disadvantage is that you cannot move the files to a different folder, otherwise you will lose the path — but it will be possible to declare the new path. This requires care in the project management.

Same technique for the container visible on the image at the bottom of the page.

View of the spreader frame

Progress report

Here is the current state of the spreader. It still lacks an evocation of the gripping devices (corner pieces locks) and, for the moment, it is still impossible to lift a container…

View of the spreader

Gripping devices

These are apparently cast steel parts. The locks will only be evoked, and, for the moment, I skip the semi-trailer gripping arms, too complex parts. Some spreaders were not equipped anyway.

Gripping device

And, at last, a container can take off…

View of a container lift

Here is a comparison with the first photo of this article. At least in general proportions, all seems coherent.

Comparison

To be continued…

Dessin du spreader

Le spreader, c’est ce cadre géant qui sert à saisir le conteneur. Il tire son nom de l’anglais to spread, qui signifie s’étaler. En effet, il est muni de dispositifs de préhension (verrous de coin ou pinces) qui peuvent coulisser pour s’adapter aux longueurs variées des conteneurs.

Ce document montre un exemple récent, différent de celui qui m’intéresse, mais qui explique bien le système de préhension par verrous tournants. Ce mécanisme s’apparente à celui d’une clé dans une serrure. Voici une vue de ce genre de verrou, avec, en dessous, une pièce de coin normalisée ISO pour conteneur.

Verrou tournant

La broche d’atterrissage (traduction mot-à-mot de landing pin) est en fait un palpeur actionné par le conteneur lorsque le ver­rou pénètre dans la pièce de coin, signalant ainsi le position­ne­ment correct du spreader et autorisant la rotation du verrou.

Premiers relevés de cotes

Ici au moins c’est simple : je n’ai aucun diagramme ni plan quelconque. Je ne pourrai compter que sur les photos, avec comme point de comparaison le portique et des conteneurs dont les cotes sont bien connues. À l’époque (début des années 1970), il y avait moins de variété que maintenant. Les conteneurs ISO faisaient tous huit pieds de large et de haut, soit 2,44 m. Quant aux longueurs, il y avait les 20, 30 et 40 pieds, soit respectivement 6,06 m, 9,12 m et 12,19 m. Depuis, les 30 pieds ont disparu.

Le spreader est constitué principalement d’un châssis en poutrelles genre IPE, réunies par des tôles pliées aux extrémités, et par des traverses aux formes assez complexes, conçues pour recevoir les crochets du portique.

Voici une première photo dont j’ai redressé la perspective pour y effectuer les relevés de longueur du châssis et de la hauteur des poutrelles. Il s’est immédiatement posé la question de la longueur du conteneur. En effet, il semble trop long pour un 30 pieds, et trop court pour un 40 comme le montre le châssis du spreader qui dépasse nettement. Et, de fait, aucun des deux n’est compatible avec l’écartement des pieds du portique (environ 11 m).

La solution est venue en consultant l’article Wikipédia sur les conteneurs : il y est indiqué que, dans les débuts, chez Sea-Land, dont le patron Malcom McLean était l’inventeur du concept, les conteneurs mesuraient 35 pieds, soit environ 10,7 m. Tel est sans doute le cas du conteneur photographié ici !

Mesure de la longueur du spreader

Sur l’image, le premier nombre est la valeur en pixels (relevé sur une photo de plus grande taille, inapplicable sur cette image réduite). Le deuxième est la valeur en millimètres. Naturellement, toutes ces cotes sont entachées d'une incertitude importante, et la base de calcul est différente selon que l’on mesure en horizontal ou en vertical. Il n’y aurait égalité qu’en cas de projection parfaitement orthogonale, ce qui n’est pratiquement jamais le cas. Le passage des pixels aux millimètres a été fait par comparaison avec le conteneur.

La longueur du spreader, obtenue par symétrie en raison de l’extrémité cachée, est de 12,34 m, parfaitement cohérente avec un conteneur de 40 pieds (12,19 m).

Concernant la hauteur des poutrelles, les valeurs standard compatibles avec le relevé sont 450 (× 180) ou 500 (× 200). J’ai arbitrairement choisi la deuxième, choix confirmé ci-dessous. Évidemment, il se pourrait que les profilés ne soient pas standards !

Voici maintenant la photo qui a servi à relever la largeur du spreader. On remarquera que la hauteur des poutrelles, mesurée ici aussi, est cohérente avec la valeur trouvée précédemment.

La largeur est prise sur les âmes des poutrelles. Si celles-ci ont une largeur d’aile de 200, la largeur totale sera de 2,025 m, que j’ai arbitrairement arrondie à 2 m.

Muni de ces cotes, je peux déjà ébaucher la structure du spreader. Mais le plus dur reste à faire !

Mesure de la largeur du spreader

Traverses de levage

Au tour des traverses de levage maintenant. La méthode utilisée est toujours la même. À partir des cotes de largeur du spreader et de hauteur des poutrelles, relevées précédemment, on essaie d’en déduire les autres. Le diamètre du palan (incertain lui aussi) est pris à titre de vérification.

On voit sur cette photo la présence d’une autre poutrelle, plus petite, dans l’axe, qui sert probablement à soutenir et guider des équipages mobiles. Elle a une section nettement plus petite, et doit passer sous les traverses. J’ai choisi un profilé HEB de 180 mm de côté.

Mesure des traverses du spreader

Il y a aussi des profilés de contreventement, que j’ai pris de section rectangulaire 90 × 50, leur profil réel étant une cornière soit en L, soit en T.

Dessin

Rien de particulier à dire concernant le dessin, sauf qu’il est fait séparément du portique et importé sous forme de référence externe. Cela signifie qu’il n’est inclus que sous forme d’adresse, et que toute modification de cette référence externe se répercutera automatiquement sur le dessin du portique. L’autre méthode, l’importation sous forme de bloc, demanderait de supprimer ce bloc et de le ré-importer à chaque modification. En revanche, on ne peut pas travailler sur les deux dessins en même temps. On est obligé de fermer l’un pendant l’édition de l’autre. Autre inconvénient : on ne peut pas déplacer les fichiers dans un dossier différent, sous peine de perdre le chemin d’accès. Cela nécessite du soin dans la gestion du projet.

Même technique pour le conteneur visible sur l’image en bas de page.

Vue du châssis du spreader

Bilan d’étape

Voici l’état actuel du spreader. Il manque encore l’évocation des dispositifs de préhension (verrous de pièces de coin) car, pour le moment, il est encore impossible de lever un conteneur…

Vue du spreader

Dispositifs de préhension

Ce sont apparemment des pièces en acier moulé. Les verrous ne seront qu’évoqués, et, pour le moment, je fais l’impasse sur les pinces de préhension de semi-remorque, pièces vraiment complexes. Certains spreaders n’en étaient d’ailleurs pas équipés.

Préhenseur

Et, enfin, un conteneur peut prendre son envol…

Vue du levage d’un  conteneur

Voici une comparaison avec la première photo de cet article. Au moins dans les proportions générales, tout cela semble cohérent.

Comparaison

À suivre…