Drawing of the gantry crane - continued

Rails and hoist trolleys

I don’t have a photo showing the trolleys rails. Basing on the diagram, I felt that it would be sufficiently similar to put rectangular or even square profiles of about 70 mm. It is also necessary to provide mechanical and electrical end stops for limit switches.

As for the trolleys, the matter is more complex, and I have only partial views. Here, as for other details, the shape of the hoods has evolved over the years. I want to represent the older models, with the cross travel electric motor protruding at the rear. One may think it was to improve ventilation.

First here is a picture of the exterior side, where we can clearly see the bonnet of the motor fan protruding out of the hood. Note the special shape of the hood.

Note: I emphasized the hood limit on the sky by a stroke, because it was very little visible.

Trolley rear view

On the inside, it is even less obvious, with an electrical connection box, probably a traction device for the festooned power cable, the messenger track (cable support rail), and the relative position control system of the two trolleys, which seems quite different from the one that can be seen on more recent cranes.

In the absence of a more precise picture, I will be led to simplify a lot, rather than to invent.

Trolley front view

  1. Electrical connection box
  2. Position control system
  3. Messenger track
  4. Guardrail
  5. Rail holder

Here is the result of these cogitations. For the dimensions, I first based myself on those of the diagram, especially for the wheelbase (1500 mm). Once modeled, I realized that the trolley size was too large, inconsistent with the photos. So I selected a picture almost front view whose perspective I rectified. From this picture, and based on the length of the girder, I recalculated the trolley size:

Photo of the trolley on the girder

I applied a coefficient of 75% on the length, which gave me a value of 1875 instead of 1855 on the image, a very close value. On the other hand, there is no change in the width: the distance between the rails must be respected, unless we assume that all the dimensions have been changed between the successive generations of gantries… I also preserved the wheel diameter (300 mm), already small, that it would have been dared to reduce even more.

Drawing of the trolleys

Pulley block

The pulley block is not the most complicated piece, but here again I will have to make assumptions. It consists of two hollow cylindrical casings containing the pulleys, put together by a piece of indeterminate shape, which I chose to make parallelepiped, which supports the hook. A kind of sheet metal belt encloses the whole horizontally.

Photo of pulley block

For the overall dimensions and for the hook, I had the same problem of size too big compared to the photos. The old real pulley block could not have the measured diameter of 800 mm. As for the trolleys, I reduced its dimensions a little arbitrarily to 75%, hence a retained diameter of 600 mm.

Drawings of the pulley block

Load plate and logo

I also installed the maximum load plate and the SNCF logo. I would not talk about it if it had not been a problem for me. Indeed, neither simple text (Drawing / Text) nor a bitmap image (Insert / Raster image...) accepted to display in Realistic Rendering mode. I had to declare the images as Material “pasted” on plates drawn as a Region.

Progress report

Here is an overview to conclude this step, with the load plate and SNCF logo inset.

View of gantry crane with its hoists

To be compared with this picture (see also here).

View of Dunkirk gantry crane

The top platform is longer on my model than on the original — but conforms to the diagram. It seems that over the years, all the platforms have been extended. I think, however, that I will leave it as it is, otherwise I would have to modify the electric cabinets without documentation.

What’s next?

To do: improve the drawing of the long travel motors, draw the various cables and wires, the three-phase current pickup system, and, above all, model the spreader. The latter is a rather complex device; maybe it will be enough to evoke it (frame, locks and possibly gripping arms for semi-trailers).

Dessin du portique - suite

Rails et chariots de treuils

Je n’ai pas de photo montrant les rails de roulement des chariots. En me basant sur le diagramme, j’ai estimé qu’il serait suffisamment ressemblant de mettre des profilés rectangulaires, voire carrés, d’environ 70 mm de côté. Il faut aussi prévoir des butées d’extrémité pour les capteurs de fin de course.

Concernant les chariots, l’affaire est plus complexe, et je n’ai que des vues partielles. Ici comme pour d’autres détails, la forme des capots a évolué au cours des années. Je désire représenter les modèles les plus anciens, avec le moteur électrique — de direction — qui dépasse à l’arrière. On peut penser que c’était pour améliorer la ventilation.

Voici d’abord une photo du côté extérieur, où l’on voit bien le couvercle du ventilateur de moteur qui fait saillie hors du carter de protection. Noter la forme bien particulière du capot.

NB : j’ai accentué par un trait la limite du capot sur le ciel, qui était très peu visible.

Vue arrière du chariot

Côté intérieur, c’est encore moins évident, avec un boîtier de raccordement électrique, sans doute un dispositif de traction du câble d’alimentation suspendu, le rail support de câble, et le système de contrôle de position relative des deux chariots, qui semble assez différent de celui vu sur des modèles plus récents.

En l’absence de photo plus précise, je vais être amené à simplifier beaucoup, plutôt que d’inventer.

Vue avant du chariot

  1. Boîtier de raccordement électrique
  2. Système de contrôle de position
  3. Rail support de câble d’alimentation
  4. Garde corps
  5. Support de rail

Voici le résultat de ces cogitations. Pour les cotes, je me suis d’abord basé sur celles du diagramme, en particulier pour l’empattement (1500 mm). Une fois le tout modélisé, je me suis aperçu que la taille du chariot était bien trop grande, incohérente avec les photos. J’ai donc repris une photo presque de face dont j’ai rectifié la perspective. À partir de cette photo, et sur la base de la longueur de la poutre, j’ai recalculé la taille du chariot :

Photo du chariot sur la poutre

J’ai appliqué un coefficient de 75 % sur la longueur, ce qui me donne une valeur de 1875 au lieu de 1855 sur l’image, valeur très proche. En revanche, pas de modification sur la largeur : il faut bien respecter l’écartement des rails, à moins de supposer que toutes les dimensions aient été changées entre les générations successives de portiques… J’ai conservé aussi le diamètre des galets (300 mm), déjà petit, qu’il aurait été osé de réduire encore plus.

Dessin des chariots

Moufle

La moufle n’est pas la pièce la plus compliquée, mais ici encore je vais devoir faire des suppositions. Elle est constituée de deux carters cylindriques creux contenant les poulies, réunis par une pièce de forme indéterminée, que j’ai choisi de faire parallélépipédique, qui supporte le crochet. Une sorte de ceinture en tôle enserre le tout horizontalement.

Photo du palan

Pour les cotes d’ensemble et pour le crochet, j’ai eu le même problème de taille trop grande par rapport aux photos. Le palan réel ancien ne pouvait avoir le diamètre mesuré de 800 mm. Comme pour les chariots, j’ai réduit un peu arbitrairement ses dimensions à 75 %, d’où un diamètre retenu de 600 mm.

Dessins du palan

Plaque de charge et logo

J’ai aussi posé la plaque de charge maximale et le logo SNCF. Je n’en parlerais pas si ces éléments ne m’avaient pas posé quelque problème. En effet, ni un texte tout bête (Dessin / Texte) ni une image bitmap (Insérer / Image tramée...) ne consentaient à s’afficher en mode Rendu réaliste. Il a fallu déclarer les images en tant que matériau « collé » sur des plaques dessinées sous forme de région.

Bilan d’étape

Voici une vue d’ensemble pour conclure cette étape, avec en médaillon la plaque de charge et le logo SNCF.

Vue du portique avec les palans

À comparer avec cette photo (voir aussi ici).

Vue du portique de Dunkerque

La plateforme supérieure est plus longue sur mon modèle que sur l’original — mais conforme au diagramme. Il semble qu’au fil des années, on ait prolongé toutes les passerelles. Je pense cependant que je vais la laisser telle quelle, sinon il faudrait que je modifie les armoires électriques, sans document à l’appui.

Et pour la suite ?

Il reste à améliorer le dessin des moteurs de translation, à dessiner les câbles divers, la prise de courant par trolley triphasé, et, surtout, à modéliser le spreader. Ce dernier point représente un gros morceau ; je vais sans doute me contenter de l’évoquer (châssis et éventuellement pinces de préhension pour semi-remorques).