Drawing of the gantry crane - continued

Cab

The cab shown on this photo, which I want to reproduce, differs from the one of the diagram: it has sloping down sides to improve the visibility of the driver.

Click the following colours to highlight the corresponding item.

Blue: front railing
Green: rear railing
Violet: ladder
Red: rear grille.

Photo of cab

At the level of the ladder giving access to the upper walking platforms, there are safety grilles whose position and fixing are not obvious. So, I’ll have to make assumptions while trying to stick closer to reality.

Click the following colours to highlight the corresponding item.

Blue: front railing
Green: rear railing
Violet: ladder
Red: rear grille.

Photo of cab access

So, here is my interpretation of this cab and the associated guardrails. The gantry crane leg is left in “wire” to allow to see the hidden parts. The pieces are obviously in false colours. The cab windows are made of transparent, 0.25 mm thick (at 1:87) material. The high and narrow grille above the rear guardrail (highlighted in red on the photos) has not been shown yet, as I do not see how it is fixed. The colour conventions are the same as in the previous pictures.

Cab

The rear protection of the ladder appears to be a horizontal bar frame, but it is not possible to know whether the bars are round or rectangular. I opted for the rectangle, easier to weld on the chassis. The superior shape of the latter is at most probable.

Cab access ladder

For the access ladder, the step pitch can be estimated in relation to the height under the deck access to the cab. It is probably 300 mm. The distance between rails is 400 mm. There is a total of 24 steps. To compensate for the cheating of 40 cm on the height under girder, I am obliged to take the step to 320 instead of 300 mm. There is a support and a security hoop every five steps. The first hoop corresponds to the third support from the bottom. The hoops are connected by rails, one on each side and one upper, to form a safety ladder. The rails will be welded up to the stairwell opened in the cabin access platform.

Photo of access ladder

In the photo of the gantry crane under construction, we see that the lateral safety rails are missing. Maybe they had not been originally planned, and were added later to improve safety.

Progress report

It’s going on… Attention: the ladder must be motor side. This must be rectified!

Cab and ladder

Top walking platforms and electric cabinets

Here, I will have to appeal even more to the imagination — while remaining in technical logic — because I have no photos of views from above (except a Google Earth satellite photo of very little detail). Between the two girders is a rather large platform (coloured in red), placed on beams, bearing two electric cabinets, one for lifting, the other for translation and direction movements.

Photo of walking platforms

A walking platform (coloured or framed in green) runs on less than half of the turn of the gantry and communicates with the platform previously seen. It is accessible by the ladder located near the cab (framed in blue). However, one cannot distinguish an opening at this place. There is probably an access hatch closed in normal use, for safety reasons.

Other photo of walking platforms

Note: in the photos of 2nd generation gantries, it can be seen that the corridor extends further towards the middle of the girder, in line with the central platform (green dotted lines on the first picture), probably to improve the access to trolleys.

Here is how I imagine these elements. As for the platform guardrail (in front of the cabinets), I assumed it is independent of that of the walking platforms attached to the girders. Indeed, the elements are mounted one after the other; the platform being mounted after the girders, I think it must have an independent guardrail. At this place I have also placed a flange, for it can be seen on all the walking platforms; their role is to prevent objects such as tools from falling. Always safety: a big wrench can do some harm, falling from a height of ten metres…

Plateforms

Progress report

Platform

An observation

In this satellite photo, the cabinets are invisible, protected by a double slope roof, probably in corrugated iron. On the other hand, the visible link between the two trolleys (a white line passing over the cabinet roof) is used to control the offset between these trolleys.

Paris La Chapelle Gantry crane

Dessin du portique - suite

Cabine

La cabine représentée sur cette photo, que je veux reproduire, est différente de celle du diagramme : elle a des pans inclinés vers le bas pour améliorer la visibilité du conducteur.

Cliquez sur les couleurs suivantes pour surligner l’élément correspondant.

Bleu : garde-corps avant
Vert : garde-corps arrière
Mauve : échelle
Rouge : grillage arrière.

Photo de la cabine

Au niveau de l’échelle qui permet d’accéder aux passerelles supérieures, il y a des grillages de sécurité dont la position et la fixation ne sont pas évidentes. Il me va donc falloir faire des suppositions tout en essayant de coller au plus près à la réalité.

Cliquez sur les couleurs suivantes pour surligner l’élément correspondant.

Bleu : garde-corps avant
Vert : garde-corps arrière
Mauve : échelle
Rouge : grillage arrière.

Photo de l’accès à la cabine

Voici donc mon interprétation de cette cabine et des rambardes associées. Le pied de portique est laissé en « fil de fer » pour permettre de voir les parties cachées. Les pièces sont évidement en fausses couleurs. Les vitres de la cabine sont prévues en matériau transparent ép. 0,25 (au 1:87e). Le grillage haut et étroit situé au dessus du garde-corps arrière (surligné en rouge sur les photos) n’a pas été représenté pour le moment, car je ne vois pas comment il est fixé. Les conventions de couleurs sont les mêmes que sur les photos précédentes.

Cabine

La protection arrière de l’échelle semble constituée d’un châssis à barreaux horizontaux, mais il est impossible de savoir s’ils sont de section ronde ou rectangulaire. J’ai opté pour le rectangle, plus facile à souder sur le châssis. La forme supérieure de ce dernier est tout au plus vraisemblable.

Échelle d’accès à la cabine

Pour l’échelle d’accès, le pas d’échelon peut s’estimer par rapport à la hauteur sous platelage d’accès à la cabine. Il est probablement de 300 mm. La distance entre montants est de 400 mm. Il y a au total 24 échelons. Pour compenser la tricherie de 40 cm sur la hauteur sous poutre, je suis obligé de porter le pas à 320 au lieu de 300 mm. Il y a un support et un arceau de sécurité tous les cinq échelons. Le premier arceau correspond au troisième support à partir du bas. Les arceaux sont reliés par des lisses, une de chaque côté et une supérieure, pour former ce qui est appelé une crinoline. Les lisses seront soudées en haut à la trémie ouverte dans le platelage d’accès à la cabine.

Photo de l’échelle d’accès

Sur la photo du portique en construction, on voit qu’il manque les lisses latérales. Elles n’étaient peut-être pas prévues à l’origine, et ont été ajoutées plus tard pour améliorer la sécurité.

Bilan d’étape

Ça avance, ça avance… Attention : l’échelle doit être côté moteur. À rectifier !

Cabine et échelle

Passerelles supérieures et armoires électrique

Ici, je vais devoir faire encore plus appel à l’imagination — tout en restant dans la logique technique — car je n’ai pas de photos vues de dessus (à part une photo satellite de Google Earth très peu détaillée). Entre les deux poutres se trouve une plateforme assez vaste (colorée en rouge), posée sur des poutrelles, qui supporte deux armoires électriques, l’une pour le levage, l’autre pour les mouvements de translation et de direction.

Photo des plateformes

Une coursive (colorée ou encadrée en vert) fait une petite moitié du tour du portique et communique avec la plateforme vue précédemment. Elle est accessible par l’échelle située près de la cabine (encadrée en bleu). Toutefois, on ne peut pas distinguer d’ouverture à cet endroit. Il y a probablement une trappe fermée en utilisation normale, pour une question de sécurité.

Autre photo des plateformes

Remarque : sur les photos des portiques de 2e génération, on voit que la coursive se prolonge davantage vers le milieu de la poutre, dans l’alignement de la plateforme centrale (pointillés verts sur la première photo), sans doute pour améliorer l’accès aux chariots.

Voici comment j’imagine ces éléments. Pour ce qui est du garde-corps de la plateforme (devant les armoires), je l’ai supposé indépendant de celui des coursives attachées aux poutres. En effet, les éléments sont montés les uns après les autres ; la plateforme étant montée après les poutres, je pense qu’elle doit avoir un garde-corps indépendant. À cet endroit, j’ai aussi placé un rebord, car on en trouve sur toutes les coursives ; leur rôle est d’empêcher la chute d’objets tels que des outils. Toujours la sécurité : une grosse clé plate peut faire du dégât, en tombant d’une hauteur de dix mètres…

Plateformes

Bilan d’étape

Plateforme

Une remarque

Sur cette photo satellite, les armoires électriques sont invisibles, protégées par un toit à double pente, probablement en tôle ondulée. En revanche, on distingue très bien la liaison entre les deux chariots (trait blanc passant au dessus du toit des armoires) qui sert à contrôler le décalage entre ces chariots.

Portique de La Chapelle