Frankenstein’s creations

Here, we will talk about slicing a body into pieces, then stitching them together, much like the Frankenstein monster… I mean, Gotlib’s one.

But I must also say that most of the models of the years 1960-70 were not to scale. Often too short, sometimes too long, too wide, not proportioned, etc. I could not bear it.

One example among others: the UIC Jouef passenger cars could have been correct. But why have they shortened them by so little, about 1 cm? What purpose? At least, the wild shortenings of the German manufacturers were explained by the need to circulate on very small radii. But 1 cm? On the other hand, to use the same bogies on all their products it seems, they had also decreased the cantilever, which gave a totally distorted silhouette. Let’s not talk about the roof too high, or the moldings in relief to make the painting easier, and intercirculations completely fanciful. So dreamed preys for the new Frankenstein, I named: myself!

Gotlib’s Frankenstein monster

Abstract of Gotlib’s The Bride of Frankenstein.

So I had to cut, shift, drill, scalp, tap, and so on. Among the poor victims which went under the knife: Lima BB 17009, Jouef Picasso (railcar), Gril-Express (self-service dining-car), one or two UIC, and I forget some, only the Hornby C 61000 shunter got over. Others escaped torture for lack of time. To make cut-outs of constant and precise width, I used to look for plates of suitable thickness and I transformed them into saw blades. Here are some plans of operations planned and carried out, or not.

BB 17009 Lima

This one was sliced like a dry saussage: it was necessary to reduce its length while respecting a constant spacing between the grids. Not simple! Operated, accessories rebuilt: pantos, buffers, cabin windows, handles, etc., it only waited for a re-painting. But the too cumbersome motor did not allow the height reduced body to get its place correctly again…

Here again, red is not epochal. And there is a misplaced dimension.

Drawing for slicing the BB 17000 Lima

CC 40101 Lima

This one escaped the executioner concerning the body; but its bogies were rebuilt from Jouef bogies. It would have been also necessary to remake the front faces rather failed. The cumbersome Lima motor would still have been a problem. This machine was nevertheless superior to the Jouef, by its correct length and its engraving sharpness. Think that Trix made again too wide a model in the late 2000s …

Drawing for slicing the 40100 Lima

Le Boucher des Trois-pattes

Évidemment, c’est pour faire un bon mot, une fois ! Mes « trois-pattes » Fleischmann étaient dans le collimateur ; elles l’ont (pas tout-à-fait) échappé belle.

Mais il faut dire aussi que la plupart des modèles des années 1960-70 n’étaient pas « aux cotes ». Souvent trop courts, parfois trop longs, trop larges, mal proportionnés, etc. J’avais du mal à supporter cela.

Un exemple parmi d’autres : les voitures UIC Jouef auraient pu être correctes. Mais pourquoi les avoir raccourcies de si peu, environ 1 cm ? Dans quel but ? Au moins, les raccourcis sauvages des fabricants allemands s’expliquaient par la circulation sur très faibles rayons. Mais 1 cm ? D’autre part, paraît-il pour utiliser les mêmes bogies sur tous les produits, ils avaient aussi diminué le porte à faux, ce qui donnait une silhouette totalement faussée. Ne parlons pas du toit trop haut, ou des moulages en relief pour favoriser la peinture, et des intercirculations complètement fantaisistes. Donc des proies rêvées pour le Boucher des Trois-pattes, j’ai nommé : moi-même !

Il fallait donc que je découpe, décale, perce, scalpe, taraude, etc. Parmi les pauvres victimes passées sur le billard : BB 17009 Lima, Picasso, Gril-Express, une ou deux UIC Jouef, et j’en oublie, seul le 61000 Hornby s’en est bien tiré. D’autres ont échappé à la torture par manque de temps. Pour faire des découpes de largeur constante et précise, je cherchais des tôles d’épaisseur adaptées et je les transformais en lames de scie. Voici quelques plans des opérations prévues et réalisées, ou non.

BB 17009 Lima

Celle-ci a bien été saucissonnée : il fallait réduire la longueur tout en respectant un espacement constant entre les grilles. Pas simple ! Opérée, accessoires refaits : pantos, tampons, vitres de cabine, mains-courantes, etc., elle n’attendait plus qu’une remise en peinture. Mais le moteur trop encombrant ne permettait plus à la caisse réduite en hauteur de se replacer correctement…

Ici encore, le rouge n’est pas d’époque. Il y a une cote mal placée.

Dessin du charcutage de la BB 17000 Lima

CC 40101 Lima

Celle-ci a échappé au bourreau, pour la caisse ; mais ses bogies ont été refaits à partir de bogies Jouef. Il aurait fallu aussi refaire les faces avant assez ratées. L’encombrant moteur Lima aurait sans doute encore posé des problèmes. Cette machine était quand même supérieure à la Jouef, par sa longueur correcte et la finesse de sa gravure. Quand on pense que Trix a encore refait un modèle trop large à la fin des années 2000…

Dessin du charcutage de la CC 40100 Lima