Drawings

I always loved to draw, and I must say without boasting that I was a little more gifted than the average — it's family, besides — both in art and technical drawing. I did not become an artist because I had no imagination! Copying, no problem; afterwards, no one left. I hardly exaggerate!

As I liked trains, I don’t tell you how many I drew. And how many projects. Remained at the state of plans, like castles in the air.

Here are a few examples. You can see the drawing in larger size by clicking the image.

The BB 9200 and BB 67000

The BB 9200 was my first electric model locomotive, from the Jouef Sud-Express, in 12 V, with the brass gears sounding almost like the real ones, and whose motor emitted a sublime ozone smell! As for the 67000, it had caught my eye on the sheet that La Vie du Rail published on the occasion of a railway exhibition in Paris Montparnasse Station.

Drawing of BB 9200 and 67000

The BB 16000

The BB 16000 combined the advantages: it was very similar to the 9200, and I could see it often, either at Ronchin level crossing on the way to school, or when we took the train to Paris. When it was heading the “telephone” stainless steel fast train, it was so stylish.

Well, this train, I took it once! Yes, between Douai and Lille, back from my “trois jours” of military tests in the barracks of Cambrai. To avoid missing school days, the Lycée had enrolled all of us on the Christmas holidays. During the tests, the instructors had believed in an alien invasion. I must say, we were all in Math Sup (Superior Math Class)! The three days were in fact reduced to a single night that I spent in snoring and foot smell. And I had so much enjoyed that I took a train as soon as possible for Douai… There, the next train to Lille was the fast “telephone” train (first class only train plus extra fee)! Great comfort in this luxury car! But I was slightly marring compared to other travelers (businessmen)…

Drawing of the BB 16000

In large size, you will see many calculations on the sheet. Yes, the electronic calculators did not exist. And this drawing dates from before my learning of the slide rule… and logarithm tables.

The BB 16500

The BB 16500 is my favorite: I have always been attracted by the ugly ducklings (attention: I speak of vehicles, eh, like the Citroën 2 CV for example, but it did not prevent me to find the Lamborghini Miura sublime). In addition, as you can see in Photos of railway equipment, I photographed the 16794 at the Gare du Nord in 1967. I will dedicate a separate article to it.

USI cars

USI cars interested me as soon as they appeared on the Nord network, around 1967, with their Y28 bogies which squarely contrasted on the old Pennsylvania. And they were widely more comfortable than the multi-door Express Nord, although, at the folklore level, the latter far outweighed them. The USI had at least two disadvantages: the air stream, when everyone opened the windows, transformed them into an organ pipe; and the platform sliding doors, with only one pane for the first released cars, opened in the curves under the centrifugal force effect!

Drawing of USI car

DEV Dd4s luggage van

The Dd4s luggage van was called at the time “UIC” van. I started by buying the France-Trains model (before the release of the Jouef), naively thinking that the price involved quality. What a desappointment! The doors were not in the right place, the roof did not fit properly at all. Only the bogies were clearly above the Jouef, but it was not difficult. The Jouef roof, with its folds inclined at the ends, was much better rendered, and there was no gap, since it was molded with the body.

Drawing of DEV Dd4s luggage van

Car transporters STVA TA60

I found these TA60s of insolent modernity compared to the old TA52 (released only eight years before). Note that I had planned radial axles to accommodate the large wheelbase, long before LS Models! Would it have worked? I don’t know. But I know it doesn’t work on LS Models wagons!

Drawing of STVA TA60

An “art” drawing to finish

But of course copied on a photo! Felt and Rotring. The loco is a famous Pacific Nord Chapelon (231 E).

Steam nostalgia

Plans sur la comète

J’ai toujours adoré dessiner, et je dois dire sans forfanterie que j’étais un peu plus doué que la moyenne — c’est de famille, d’ailleurs — tant en dessin d’art qu’en dessin technique. Je ne suis pas devenu artiste parce que je n’avais aucune imagination ! La copie, sans problème, après, il n’y avait plus personne. J’exagère à peine ! En tout cas, le dessin industriel est, avec l’anglais, la seule matière où j’ai eu au dessus de la moyenne, et nettement, au concours d’entrée à Centrale où je me suis planté lamentablement.

Comme j’aimais les trains, je ne vous dis pas combien j’en ai dessiné. Et des projets, en veux-tu en voilà. Restés à l’état de plans… sur la comète.

En voici quelques exemples. Vous pourrez voir le dessin en grand format en survolant (ou en tapotant) l’image.

La BB 9200 et la BB 67000

La BB 9200, c’était ma première locomotive électrique, la Jouef du Sud-Express, en 12 V, avec les engrenages en laiton qui faisaient un bruit presque comme la vraie, et dont le moteur dégageait une sublime odeur d’ozone ! Quant à la 67000, elle m’avait tapé dans l’œil sur la fiche que La Vie du Rail avait publiée à l’occasion d’une exposition à Montparnasse.

Dessin des BB 9200 et 67000

La BB 16000

La BB 16000 cumulait les avantages : elle ressemblait beaucoup à la 9200, et je pouvais la voir souvent, soit au passage à niveau des « Sourds et Muets » à Ronchin sur le chemin du Lycée, soit lorsqu’on prenait le train pour Paris. Lorsqu’elle passait en tête du rapide « téléphone », c’était la grande classe.

Eh bien, ce train, je l’ai pris une fois ! Oui, entre Douai et Lille, de retour de mes « trois jours » de caserne à Cambrai. Pour nous éviter de rater des jours de classe, le Lycée nous avait tous inscrits aux vacances de Noël. Pour les tests, les instructeurs avaient cru à une invasion d’extraterrestres. Tu parles, on était tous en Math Sup ! En fait de trois jours, j’avais passé une seule nuit dans les ronflements et les odeurs de pieds. Et j’avais tellement apprécié que j’avais pris un train le plus tôt possible pour Douai… Là, le prochain train pour Lille était le Rapide « téléphone » ! Payé quart de place plus le supplément. Le confort dans cette voiture « coach » ! Mais je déparais légèrement par rapport aux autres voyageurs…

Dessin de la BB 16000

En grand format, vous verrez beaucoup de calculs posés sur la feuille. Eh oui, les calculatrices n’existaient pas. Et ce dessin date d’avant mon apprentissage de la règle à calcul… et des tables de logarithmes.

La BB 16500

La BB 16500, c’est mon chouchou : j’ai toujours été attiré par les vilains petits canards (attention : je parle de véhicules, hein, comme la 2 CV par exemple ; ça ne m’empêchait pas de trouver la Lamborghini Miura sublime). En plus, comme vous pouvez le voir en rubrique Photos de matériel ferroviaire, j’avais photographié la 16794 à la Gare du Nord en 1967. Je lui consacrerai donc un article à part.

Les voitures USI

Les voitures USI m’ont intéressé dès leur apparition sur le réseau Nord, vers 1967, avec leurs bogies Y28 qui tranchaient carrément sur les vieux Pennsylvania. Et elles étaient autrement plus confortables que les Express Nord à portes multiples, même si, au niveau folklore, ces dernières l’emportaient largement. Les USI avaient quand même au moins deux inconvénients : les courants d’air, quand tout le monde ouvrait les fenêtres, qui les transformaient en tuyau d’orgue ; et les portes coulissantes de plateformes, à un seul ouvrant pour les premières voitures sorties, qui s’ouvraient dans les courbes sous l’effet de la force centrifuge !

Dessin de la voiture USI

Fourgon Dd4s DEV

Le fourgon Dd4s était appelé à l’époque fourgon « UIC ». J’avais commencé par acheter le modèle France-Trains (avant la sortie du Jouef), pensant naïvement que le prix impliquait la qualité. Quelle déception ! Les portes n’étaient pas au bon endroit, le toit ne s’emboîtait pas du tout correctement. Seuls les bogies étaient nettement au-dessus des Jouef, mais ce n’était pas difficile. Le toit du Jouef, avec ses plis inclinés aux extrémités, était bien mieux rendu, et il n’y avait pas de joint, puisqu’il était moulé avec la caisse.

Dessin du fourgon Dd4s DEV

Les transports de voitures STVA TA60

Je trouvais ces TA60 d’une modernité insolente par rapport aux vieux TA52. Notez que j’avais prévu des essieux radiants pour tenir compte du grand empattement, bien avant LS Models ! Est-ce que ça aurait fonctionné ? Je ne sais pas. Mais je sais que ça ne fonctionne pas sur les wagons LS Models !

Dessin du STVA TA60

Un dessin « d’art » pour terminer

Mais bien sûr copié sur une photo ! Feutre et Rotring.

Vapeur

L’Institut des Sourds-Muets
et des Jeunes Aveugles du Nord,
devenu IRPA, jouxtait le PN.