The AM11 LS Models pantos have a defect

The very beautiful AM11 LS Models pantos (mounted on their BB 16500) are sold as spare parts, which makes it possible to equip for example the Roco BB 16000. But these pantos suffer from a defect: their fixing device. It is in the form of a 3.3 mm diameter and 3.5 mm high metal cylinder molded with the panto frame. It is drilled but not threaded, being supposed to receive a self-tapping screw.

Hum, maybe… The first time I tried to screw a panto, I quickly abandoned: the force that had to be exerted on the screw, while holding the panto could destroy the latter. So I threaded the cylinder to ø 2 to insert a classic M2 screw. Annoying…

Central fixation of the pantos: not a great idea!

My opinion is that the central fixation of the frames distorts a loco profile. Moreover, with this very solid attachment, the slightest hooking can result in the destruction of the panto. So I do not fix the pantos by their center, but I glue them by isolators, quite simply. This frees the view from the center of the frame. But for the AM11 LSM, it was necessary to remove this big ugly fixing cylinder.

A machining fixture

How to eliminate this cylinder without a risk for the fragile panto? This question led me to make a small machining support.

Diagram of the support

The panto will be “planted” in the support by its four feet (ø 1 holes), held by four Parker screws with washers (ø 1.6 holes). In the middle of the square thus formed, a large through ø 12 hole will make it possible to mill the cylinder from below. To limit the risk to the maximum, the panto will be kept folded as much as possible.

plan du support

A 3 mm wide and about 3 mm deep groove allows to receive the main leg of the panto. The ø 12 hole is then enlarged with a file to improve the visibility of the work.

Les pantos AM11 LS Models ont un défaut

Les très beaux pantos AM11 LS Models (montés sur leurs BB 16500) sont vendus en pièces de rechange, ce qui permet d’équiper par exemple les BB 16000 Roco. Mais ces pantos souffrent d’un défaut : leur dispositif de fixation. Il se présente sous la forme d’un canon en métal moulé avec le socle de panto, d’un diamètre de 3,3 mm, et d’une hauteur de 3,5 mm. Il est percé mais pas taraudé, étant sensé recevoir une vis autotaraudeuse.

Mouais… La première fois que j’ai tenté de visser un panto, j’ai vite abandonné : la force qu’il fallait exercer sur la vis, tout en retenant le panto, risquait de détruire ce dernier. J’avais donc fileté le canon à ø 2 pour y mettre une classique vis M2. Pénible…

La fixation centrale des pantos, c’est pas génial !

Je trouve que la fixation centrale des socles défigure le profil d’une loco. De plus, avec cette fixation très solide, le moindre accrochage peut se traduire par la destruction du panto. Donc, je ne fixe plus les pantos par le milieu, mais je les colle par les isolateurs, tout simplement. Cela libère la vue du centre du socle. Mais, pour les AM11 LSM, il fallait pouvoir supprimer ce gros canon de fixation très laid.

Un support d’usinage

Comment éliminer ce canon sans risque pour le fragile panto ? C’est cette question qui m’a amené à fabriquer un petit support d’usinage.

Plan du support

Le panto sera « planté » dans le support par ses quatre pieds (trous ø 1), maintenu par quatre vis Parker munies de rondelles (trous ø 1,6). Au milieu du carré ainsi formé, un gros trou débouchant ø 12 permettra de fraiser l’excroissance par dessous. Pour limiter les risques au maximum, le panto sera maintenu replié autant que possible.

plan du support

Une rainure de largeur 3 mm et de profondeur environ 3 mm permet de recevoir la jambe principale du panto. Le trou ø 12 est ensuite agrandi à la lime pour améliorer la visibilité du travail.