16/10/2017.

Decoration

Painting

Painting is done with an airbrush. I am not yet very comfortable with this tool, but I learn a little every time I use it. What remains painful is the cleaning after each application of a colour. But this operation is much simpler with the Railcolor (nitrosynthetics) and Decapod (solvent-based acrylics) paints, with which it is enough to pass 1 or 2 ml of acetone in the airbrush, after having wiped the paint remaining in the reservoir. With these paints, we can let the airbrush unused for a few minutes — to let a layer dry — without the risk of finding it completely clogged, as it is the case with water-based acrylics.

Chassis

The chassis, which is, I recall, a transparent piece, is painted in Interfer 807 slate grey. Correctly diluted (although the manufacturer indicates that this product is ready for use) with the brand’s thinner, not with water, this paint, although water-based acrylic type, applies without too much difficulty.

Body

After some setbacks, I finally used the Decapod Celtic green on primer undercoat (because of the metal handrails).

The hue did not satisfy me completely, but I thought I would content myself with it, but no! I was stubborn and I found a solution that satisfies me more: the Railcolor Celtic green colour with a little universal dye — yes, the one for house paint! Dosage: 6 drops of blue and 2 drops of black in the half full bottle, about 30 ml of already diluted 50/50 paint. The result is a little greener than at REE, but it is very close. I was afraid of difficulties in spraying this mixture, but I had no trouble on that side.

Adopted shade of green

To be continued: decals.

Décoration

Mise en peinture

La peinture est réalisée à l’aérographe. Je ne suis pas encore très à l’aise avec cet outil, mais j’apprends un peu à chaque utilisation. Ce qui reste pénible, c’est le nettoyage après chaque application d’une teinte. Mais cette opération est nettement plus simple avec les couleurs Railcolor (nitrosynthétiques) et Decapod (acryliques à solvant), avec lesquelles il suffit de passer 1 ou 2 ml d’acétone dans l’aérographe, après avoir essuyé le restant de peinture dans le godet. Avec ces peintures, on peut abandonner l’aérographe pendant quelques minutes — pour laisser sécher une couche — sans risquer de le retrouver complètement bouché, comme c’est le cas avec les acryliques à l’eau.

Châssis

Le châssis, qui est, rappelons-le, une pièce transparente, est peint en gris ardoise 807 Interfer. Correctement diluée (bien que le fabricant indique que ce produit est prêt à l’emploi) avec le diluant de la marque, et non avec de l’eau, cette peinture, bien que de type acrylique à l’eau, s’applique sans trop de difficulté.

Caisse

Après quelques déboires (voir Trois nuances de vert), j’ai finalement utilisé le vert celtique Decapod sur sous-couche de primaire d’accrochage (à cause des rambardes métalliques).

La teinte ne me satisfaisait pas totalement, mais je pensais m’en contenter. Et puis non ! Je me suis entêté et j’ai trouvé une solution qui me satisfait davantage : la teinte vert celtique Railcolor additionnée d’un peu de colorant universel — oui, celui pour la peinture en bâtiment ! Dosage : 6 gouttes de bleu et 2 gouttes de noir dans le flacon à moitié plein, soit environ 30 ml de peinture déjà diluée à 50/50. Le résultat est encore un peu plus vert que chez REE, mais on est très proche. Je craignais des difficultés pour pulvériser ce mélange, mais je n’ai eu aucun ennui de ce côté.

Teinte de vert adoptée

À suivre : décalcomanies.