Operations on the body

Working on the body is the most delicate. To work with sufficient precision, I make a wooden machining assembly (I've been over plywood, at least that of supermarkets, whose quality leaves something to be desired).

This assembly consists of two main parts, separable. The first, which I call the core, is inserted inside the body with as little clearance as possible. Its dimensions are 220 × 29.5 mm. The height is less critical. However, it must be sufficient so that the body does not touch the second part.

This second part, fixed perpendicularly to the first, serves to hold the assembly in the milling machine vice. Although its dimensions require less precision, it must be mounted perfectly aligned with the core. It is best to mill the bottom side after attaching it to the core.

Machining assembly

You can see that I had to compensate for a too big decrease in width and length by adding a layer of cardboard!

The core also serves to maintain the chassis for machining, with two wood screws passing through the pivot holes.

Levelling of reliefs

I guess many amateurs would do this with a scalpel. I am not very skilful in this matter. I therefore prefer milling, leaving a very slight excess of material which will be removed by sanding.

As the support is not perfectly horizontal, despite the care taken in its manufacture, I redo the zero of the milling machine for each relief to be removed.

This machining concerns the heating cables, the handrails and the plates “Inscriptions”, “Labels” and “Van not allowed to travellers”.

Rebate for embedding windows

I am experimenting with a technique that is certainly long, but that I hope to be effective, which consists in practising around the bay frames a rebate about 1.5 tenths of a millimetre wide by 0.5 mm deep, with a ø 1 milling bit. Here is the principle:

Window rebate

Cutting the windows requires some precision, but still less than trying to fit them into the frame left as is. And, as they suffer no constraint, they will remain perfectly flat.

Stopping the milling bit’s movement is not done by measuring distances, which would be quite illusory, but by ear! When I hear the milling bit going flush with the material, I consider that zero is reached. However, sometimes I went too far and cut into the frame. I filled these “skids” with ø 1 Evergreen rod resized on site.

Milling the rebate

Holes for handrails

These holes are drilled to 0.5 mm diameter, to receive ø 0.35 steel wires. They are made following the rebates, on the milling machine, which makes it possible to respect a well-defined spacing: 11.5 mm for the ends and 8.5 for the “chef de train” doors.

Recessing the gangway doors

The most delicate thing is to cut the doors. Compared to future UIC beads (Roco salvaged from a UIC car), the cut should be 22 mm in height × 13.5 in width. I used a thin saw disc. The vertical cuts are finished with the bocfil saw. As for the horizontal cut, it is finished with an X-Acto knife. Then, the edges are filed to obtain a cutting width of about 0.5 mm, which will be used for Evergreen walls.

The recess is based not on the actual value, but on the Roco bead platform (see below). Its value is 3.5 mm. A “box” made of 0.5 mm Evergreen is glued around the door. Then, the whole is glued into the opening of the body end. What remains of the fixing holes of the old beads is filled with 0,5 mm Evergreen pieces.

Here is an overview of some operations performed:

Modifications on the body

  1. Levelled plates
  2. Two-point suspension wedges
  3. Levelled handrails
  4. Surrounding of lanterns thinned (about 0.5 mm remain) and bored at ø 3
  5. Recessed gangways, old fixing holes filled
  6. Milling of buffer beams
  7. Strengthening and repairing buffer bodies

Chassis support wedges

These wedges (1), located inside the body, are intended to hold the chassis at the right height. They are placed 6.2 mm from the bottom edge of the body and glued with gel CA. The distance is adjusted with a very simple small tool (3), consisting of two strips of 0.5 Evergreen, offset by the desired distance.

Bevelled clips (2) are glued, positioned relative to the chassis provisionally placed. The latter has been protected from possible glue overflow by pieces of adhesive tape.

Body clips

The chassis will thus be maintained simply but effectively between the wedges (1) and the clips (2).

UIC beads

The original Jouef beads are too out of scale. I get those of a UIC-Y Roco car. I chose a model whose gateway is fixed. A mobile gateway is in any case useless: when the car is uncoupled, it is visible and vertical; if the car is coupled, it is invisible and can remain vertical!

The original fixation by rectangular tenons is not suitable; these tenons are levelled. A new fixing by cylindrical Evergreen pins is planned. For correct positioning, a drilling template must be provided for both the beads and the car’s body.

This template consists of a 0.8 mm thick epoxy plate (but 1.6 is also suitable) where will be made ø 1 holes corresponding to pins, and two polystyrene or other plates, on either side of the first, to centre the template on the beads and on the body.

Template for beads

Here is the use of this template, body end side:

Drilling for fixing beads

… and bead side. The drill stop is set to prevent going through:

Drilling for fixing beads

Once all the holes have been drilled ø 1, they are a bit enlarged with a hand mandrel, those of the beads to ø 1.1, those of the body to ø 1.2 or 1.3, to facilitate the positioning of the ø 1 Evergreen pins. These are glued on the beads.

Pins on beads

Sanding the body

Sanding is done with wet sandpaper, successive grits 400, 600 and 1000. The areas to be treated in particular are those that have been milled, and the roof where is a visible moulding seal as well as a rest of sprue, right in the middle.

Handrails

The handrails are glued with liquid CA before painting. In fact, I believe, but without any certainty, that these handrails were painted the same colour as the body, not of bright appearance as on cars. In any case, in the photos, they are very little visible.

Opérations sur la caisse

Le travail sur la caisse est le plus délicat. Pour travailler avec une précision suffisante, je fabrique un support d’usinage en bois (je suis revenu du contreplaqué, du moins celui des grandes surfaces, dont la qualité laisse pour le moins à désirer).

Ce montage se compose de deux pièces principales, séparables. La première, que j’appelle le noyau, vient s’insérer à l’intérieur de la caisse avec le moins de jeu possible. Ses dimensions sont : 220 × 29,5. La hauteur est moins critique. Il faut néanmoins qu’elle soit suffisante pour que la caisse ne touche pas la deuxième pièce.

Cette deuxième pièce, fixée perpendiculairement à la première, sert à maintenir l’ensemble dans l’étau de la fraiseuse. Si ses dimensions demandent moins de précision, elle doit cependant être montée parfaitement alignée avec le noyau. Le mieux est de fraiser son côté inférieur après sa fixation au noyau.

Montage d’usinage

On voit que j’ai dû compenser une trop forte diminution de largeur et de longueur en ajoutant une couche de carton !

Le noyau sert aussi à maintenir le châssis pour son usinage, avec deux vis à bois passant par les trous de pivots.

Arasement des reliefs

Je suppose que beaucoup d’amateurs feraient cette opération avec un scalpel. Je ne suis pas très adroit en la matière. Je préfère donc fraiser, en laissant un très léger excédent de matière qui sera enlevé par ponçage.

Comme le support n’est pas parfaitement horizontal, malgré le soin mis à sa fabrication, je refais le zéro de la fraiseuse pour chaque relief à supprimer.

Cet usinage concerne les câblots de chauffage, les mains montoires et les plaques « Inscriptions », « Étiquettes » et « Fourgon interdit aux voyageurs ».

Feuillure pour l’encastrement des vitres

J’expérimente une technique certes longue, mais que j’espère efficace, qui consiste à pratiquer tout autour des encadrements de baies une feuillure d’environ 1,5 dixième de millimètre de large sur 0,5 mm de profondeur, avec une fraise ø 1. En voici le principe :

Feuillure pour vitres

La découpe des vitres nécessite une certaine précision, mais quand même moindre qu’en essayant de les faire tenir dans le cadre laissé tel quel. Et, comme elles ne subissent aucune contrainte, elles resteront parfaitement planes.

Le déplacement de la fraise se fait non en mesurant les distances, ce qui serait assez illusoire, mais à l’oreille ! Lorsque j’entends la fraise affleurer la matière, je considère que le zéro est atteint. Il m’est cependant arrivé de partir trop loin et d’entailler le cadre. J’ai bouché ces « dérapages » avec du rond Evergreen ø 1 retaillé sur place.

Fraisage de la feuillure

Perçages pour mains montoires

Ces perçages sont réalisés au diamètre 0,5 mm, pour recevoir des fils d’acier ø 0,35. Ils sont pratiqués à la suite des feuillures, sur la fraiseuse, ce qui permet de respecter un entraxe bien déterminé : 11,5 mm pour les extrémités et 8,5 pour les portes « chef de train ».

Mise en retrait des intercommunications

Le plus délicat est de découper les portes. Par rapport aux futurs bourrelets UIC (des Roco récupérés sur une voiture UIC), la découpe doit être de 22 mm en hauteur × 13,5 en largeur. J’ai utilisé un disque scie mince. Les découpes verticales sont finies à la bocfil. Quant à la découpe horizontale, elle est finie au couteau X-Acto. Ensuite, les bords sont rectifiés à la lime pour obtenir une largeur de découpe d’environ 0,5 mm, qui sera utilisée pour les parois en Evergreen.

Le retrait est basé non sur la valeur réelle, mais sur la plateforme des bourrelets Roco (voir plus loin). Il est de 3,5 mm. Un « caisson » en Evergreen de 0,5 mm est donc collé autour de la porte. Ensuite, l’ensemble est collé dans l’ouverture du dossier de caisse. Ce qui reste des trous de fixation des anciens bourrelets est bouché avec des morceaux d’Evergreen ép. 0,5.

Voici un aperçu de quelques-unes des opérations réalisées :

Modifications sur la caisse

  1. Plaques arasées
  2. Cales de portée en deux points
  3. Mains montoires arasées
  4. Entourage de feux diminués (reste environ 0,5 mm) et alésé à ø 3
  5. Intercirculations en retrait, anciens trous de fixation des bourrelets bouchés
  6. Fraisage des traverses de tamponnement
  7. Renforcement et réparation des boisseaux de tampons

Cales support de châssis

Ces cales (1), situées à l’intérieur de la caisse, ont pour but de maintenir le châssis à la hauteur correcte. Elles sont placées à 6,2 mm du bord inférieur de la caisse et collées à la cyano gel. La distance est réglée grâce à un petit outil (3) très simple, composé de deux lames d’Evergreen ép. 0,5, décalées de la distance voulue.

Des clips biseautés (2) sont collés, positionnés par rapport au châssis mis en place provisoirement. Ce dernier a été protégé d’éventuels débordements de colle par des morceaux de ruban adhésif.

Cales et clips de caisse

Le châssis sera ainsi maintenu de façon simple mais efficace entre les cales (1) et les clips (2).

Bourrelets UIC

Les bourrelets Jouef d’origine sont par trop hors cotes. Je récupère ceux d’une UIC-Y Roco. J’ai choisi un modèle dont la passerelle est fixe. Une passerelle mobile est de toute façon inutile : lorsque la voiture est dételée, la passerelle est visible et verticale ; si la voiture est attelée, elle est invisible et peut donc rester verticale !

La fixation d’origine par tenons rectangulaires ne convient pas ; ces tenons sont arasés. Une nouvelle fixation par tenons cylindriques tirés d’un rond Evergreen est prévue. Pour un positionnement correct, il faut prévoir un gabarit de perçage, tant pour les bourrelets que pour la caisse du fourgon.

Ce gabarit se compose d’une plaquette d’époxy ép. 0,8 (mais 1,6 convient aussi) où seront pratiqués les perçages ø 1 correspondant aux tenons, et de deux pla­quettes en polystyrène ou autre, de part et d’autre de la première, pour centrer le gabarit sur les bourrelets et sur la caisse.

Gabarit de perçage des bourrelets

Voici l’emploi de ce ga­barit, côté dossiers :

Perçages pour fixation des bourrelets

… et côté bourrelets. La butée de la perceuse est réglée pour ne pas traverser :

Perçages pour fixation des bourrelets

Une fois tous les trous percés à ø 1, ils sont repris avec un mandrin à main, ceux des bourre­lets à ø 1,1, ceux de la caisse à ø 1,2 ou 1,3, de façon à faciliter le posi­tionnement des tenons en rond Evergreen ø 1. Ceux-ci sont collés sur les bourrelets.

Tenons sur bourrelets

Ponçage de la caisse

Le ponçage est fait avec du papier abrasif à l’eau, de grains successifs 400, 600 et 1000. Les zones à traiter en particulier sont celles qui ont été fraisées, et le toit où se trouve un joint de moulage peu discret ainsi qu’un reste de carotte d’injec­tion, au beau milieu.

Mains montoires

Les mains montoires sont collées à la cyano liquide avant la mise en peinture. En effet, je crois, mais sans certitude, que ces mains montoires étaient peintes de la même couleur que la caisse, et non d’aspect brillant comme sur les voitures. En tout cas, sur les photos, elles paraissent bien discrètes.