16/10/2017.

Operations on the chassis

Sawing

The chassis is integral with the glazing, according to a common option at Jouef at the time (see UIC cars). The first thing to do, since the windows will be replaced, is to remove them.

Chassis sawing

Note: I used a diamond disc, which is not ideal because it causes a heating that melts the plastic, even at low speed. A toothed saw disc would have been better.

I leave a height of about 6 mm to maintain a certain rigidity. The cut is not very regular. It must be equalized because the preserved height is important: it will determine the location of the chassis positioning wedges inside the body.

Steps

The only ones already present must be levelled off: they are very coarse and it will be necessary to make others for all the doors, the large ones and those of the conductor’s compartment.

Milling for future steps

The sides of the chassis are milled to receive the uprights of the future steps. The dimensions are given in the appendix (PDF).

Milling of step locations

The “conductor” steps will be fixed on the bogie.

Regarding the large steps on the bogie side, I design a mobile system that requires ø 0.6 mm holes in the thickness of the sides (marks a).

Mobile step

Moulding between the equipment boxes

This moulding, invisible in situation, is not a problem in itself, but I want to place a DIL switch to control future lights. To embed the latter, it is necessary to remove this moulding which is therefore milled. ø 0.8 holes are drilled for the passage of the DIL switch pins.

Buffer beams

As I intend to put the intercommunications back, I must also mill the buffer beams, 1 mm over the entire height (a thickness of about 0.4 mm will remain, which is likely not to resist!), then 2.5 mm, 1 mm depth, 15 mm width on the top of the chassis.

Milling the chassis end

Notice the shims between the machining support and the chassis, with a total thickness of 12 mm, to prevent the underbody boxes from touching the support, which will be described later.

Buffers

Some buffer bodies were broken. On the other hand, replacement buffers are got back from Trix PBA cars. Indeed, these cars are delivered with buffers a little longer (as well as not compressed bellows) to equip an end car. These buffers are fool-proofed: their tenon has a diameter of 1.5 mm on one side, and 2 mm on the other.

I drill the buffer bodies at 2.5 mm and I insert pieces of ø 2,4 mm Evergreen tube. Once glued, I ream them to the desired diameter, either 1.5 mm or 2 mm depending on the side.

Fastening for elongating drawbars

The chosen drawbars are large Makette model (KKK1); the Roco are too thick and cannot be inserted between chassis and bogie. The front mounting holes are too close to the buffer beam, which, I recall, has been milled and therefore weakened. So I use the rear holes. I use miniature self-tapping 1.4 mm P-tite screws. The pilot holes are drilled at ø 1.0 mm.

Bogie pivots

To give the chassis a three point suspension, we must first give a little more clearance to the pivots. This is achieved by shortening the pivot relief by the top, and flaring it with a 90° milling bit.

On one end, 2.2 mm thick shims (obtained by superimposing two plastic layers respectively 1.5 and 0.7 mm thick) are glued on both sides of the pivot axis, at 10 mm from it. See the picture below.

On the other end, the bogie will receive a 1 mm spacer around its pivot. So, the total height of the car, which was initially insufficient (44.3 instead of 45.3 — with wheels of suitable diameter), will be corrected.

Operations on bogies

As already said, I had refined the bogies a long time ago. It remains to cut the old loop coupling flush to the load beam, and to mill a semi-cylindrical housing to avoid interaction with the drawbar spring.

It is also necessary to move the brake blocks to place them facing the wheels. For this, they are cut flush, drilled at ø 1, and joined by a bar represented by a round polystyrene stick. This bar is fixed in a milled groove in the old drawbar at the front, and in a new part attached to the back. It is not realistic, but it will not be seen very much.

Bogie linkage

Bogie masked before painting

P-tite 1.4 × 5 screw, black steel
0.15 € each — price 2016
at micro-modele

Opérations sur le châssis

Sciage

Le châssis fait corps avec les vitrages, selon une option courante chez Jouef à l’époque (cf. voitures UIC). La première chose à faire, étant donné que les vitrages vont être remplacés, est de les scier.

Sciage du châssis

NB : j’ai utilisé un disque diamanté, ce qui n’est pas l’idéal car cela provoque un échauffement qui fait fondre le plastique, même à basse vitesse. Un disque scie denté aurait été préférable.

Je laisse une hauteur de 6 mm environ pour conserver une certaine rigidité. La coupe n’est pas très régulière. Il faut l’égaliser, car la hauteur conservée a son importance : elle va déterminer l’emplacement des cales de positionnement du châssis dans la caisse.

Marchepieds

Les seuls déjà présents doivent être arasés : ils sont très grossiers et il faudra en faire d’autres pour toutes les portes, les grandes et celles du compartiment de chef de train.

Fraisage pour les futurs marchepieds

Les côtés du châssis sont fraisés pour recevoir les montants des futurs marchepieds. Les dimensions sont données en annexe (PDF).

Fraisage des emplacements de marchepieds

Les marchepieds « chef de train » seront fixés sur le bogie.

Concernant les grands marchepieds situés devant le bogie, je prévois un système mobile qui nécessite des perçages ø 0,6 dans l’épaisseur des côtés (repères a).

Marchepied mobile

Moulage entre les coffres d’appareillage

Ce moulage, invisible en situation, n’est pas gênant en soi, mais je désire y placer un inter DIL pour commander les futurs fanaux. Pour encastrer ce dernier, il faut supprimer ce moulage qui donc est fraisé. Des trous ø 0,8 sont percés pour le passage des pattes de l’inter DIL.

Traverses de tamponnement

Comme j’ai l’intention de mettre les intercom­munications en retrait, il faut également fraiser les traverses, de 1 mm sur toute la hauteur (il restera une épaisseur de 0,4 mm environ, qui a toutes les chances de ne pas résister !), puis de 2,5 mm, profondeur 1 mm, largeur 15 mm sur le haut du châssis.

Fraisage de l’extrémité du châssis

Notez les cales entre le support d’usinage et le châssis, d’une épaisseur totale de 12 mm, pour éviter que les coffres sous caisse ne touchent ledit support, qui sera décrit plus loin.

Tampons

Certains boisseaux étaient cassés. D’autre part, les tampons de remplacement sont récupérés de voitures PBA Trix. En effet, celles-ci sont livrées avec des tampons un peu plus longs (ainsi que les bourrelets non écrasés) pour équiper une voiture d’extrémité. Ces tampons sont détrompés : leur tenon a un diamètre de 1,5 mm d’un côté, et de 2 mm de l’autre.

Je reperce les boisseaux à 2,5 mm et j’insère des morceaux de tube Evergreen ø 2,4 Une fois collés, je les alèse au diamètre voulu, soit 1,5 mm, soit 2 mm selon le côté.

Fixation pour timons à élongation

Les timons choisis sont des Makette grand modèle (KKK1) ; les Roco sont trop épais et ne passent pas entre châssis et bogie. Les trous de fixation avant sont trop près de la traverse de tamponnement, qui, je le rappelle, a été fraisée et donc fragilisée. J’utilise donc les trous arrière. Les vis prévues sont des vis miniatures P-tite ø 1,4 autotaraudeuses. Les avant-trous sont percés à ø 1,0.

Pivots de bogies

Pour donner au châssis une suspension en trois points, il faut d’abord donner un peu plus de jeu aux pivots. C’est obtenu en raccourcissant le relief des pivots par le dessus, et en l’évasant avec une fraise à 90°.

D’un côté, des cales d’une épaisseur de 2,2 mm (obtenue en superposant deux couches de plastique d’épaisseur 1,5 et 0,7 mm) sont collées à 10 mm de part et d’autre de l’axe de pivotement. Voir l’illustration plus loin.

De l’autre côté, le bogie recevra une entretoise de 1 mm autour de son pivot. La hauteur totale du fourgon, qui était insuffisante à l’origine (44,3 au lieu de 45,3 — avec des roues de diamètre convenable), sera ainsi corrigée.

Opérations sur les bogies

Comme déjà dit, j’avais déjà affiné les bogies il y a très longtemps. Il reste à couper l’attelage à boucle à ras de la traverse de charge, et à fraiser un logement semi-cylindrique pour éviter l’interaction avec le ressort de timon.

Il faut aussi déplacer les sabots de frein pour les placer face aux roues. Pour cela, ils sont coupés à ras, percés au ø 1, et réunis par une barre représentée par un rond de polystyrène. Cette barre est elle-même fixée dans une rainure fraisée dans l’ancien timon à l’avant, et dans une pièce rapportée à l’arrière. Ce n’est pas réaliste, mais ça se verra très peu.

Tringlerie de bogie

Bogie masqué avant peinture

Vis P-tite 1,4 × 5 acier noir
0,15 € pièce — prix 2016
chez micro-modele