Trains need luggage cars!

Many train compositions use luggage cars, sometimes in multiple units in the same train, for multi-slice trains. In the Nord region, mainly in the 60s and 70s, we find Nord 2-axle Dd2, Est bogie metallic, and DEV Dd4s unified luggage.

The Nord Dd2 was reproduced by MMM-RG, the Est by HOrnby acHO; I always use them despite all the faults related to their old age!

As for the DEV Dd4s, I own the grey/green version Roco model era V, with “spaghetti” logo, the only one I found, expensive and out of time for me.

So, I’ve been looking for a long time for a DEV Dd4s luggage car in original livery (Celtic green), as in the photo below, but with the spread SNCF logo. Roco released it under the reference 45101; however, it is very difficult to find.

Original DEV Dd4s luggage car

Photo CIMT-Lorraine.

So I decided to rehabilitate one of my old models. I had the choice between the Jouef model ref. 4695 here, and the France-Trains there.

Choosing the “victim”

France-Trains model

The France-Trains model is fanciful in its layout: the compartments are offset to free the bogie pivoting that otherwise would be impeded by the steps. In addition, the roof, including the glazings, fits very poorly to the body: the ends don’t have the same rounding.

France-Train model roof-to-body junction

Moreover, the windows themselves have rounding larger than the window surround.

France-Train model windows

Finally, the Y24 bogies, quite fine and bearing the SKF mark on the axle boxes, are wrong as to their wheelbase (28 mm for 26.4 to scale!). Note: the Y24L bogie, which is found under some MU sleeping cars (Brissonneau) has a wheelbase of 2500 mm, or 28.7 to scale. So it is not good either, but it would be less wrong!

France-Train model bogie

In short, you will understand that I will not choose this one. It will only serve as an inspiration for markings.

Jouef model

The Jouef model is not free from defects. Handrails and cables moulded with the body, rough bogies (but correct wheelbase!), gangway doors flush with the body, not set back, wheels… Jouef, etc. However, it is practically to scale, and has a body moulded together with the roof: no junction problem!

Already at the time, I had refined its bogies. I could now replace them with REE, or more modestly Roco parts, but I’m not sure it’s worth it. I’ll see after the changes.

Proposed operations

Les trains ont besoin de fourgons !

De nombreuses compositions de trains font appel à des fourgons, parfois en plusieurs exemplaires dans la même rame, pour les trains à tranches multiples. Sur la région Nord, on rencontre principalement dans les années 60-70 des fourgons Nord Dd2 à essieux, des fourgons Est métallisés à bogies, et des fourgons unifiés DEV Dd4s.

Le Nord Dd2 a été reproduit par MMM-RG, le fourgon Est par HOrnby acHO ; je les utilise toujours malgré tous les défauts liés à leur grand âge !

Quant au Dd4s DEV, je possède le modèle Roco en version gris/vert époque V, avec signe « nouille », le seul que j’aie trouvé, cher et hors époque pour moi.

Je cherche donc depuis longtemps un fourgon DEV Dd4s en version d’origine (vert celtique), comme sur la photo ci-dessous, mais avec le sigle SNCF allongé. Roco l’a sorti sous la référence 45101 ; il est cependant très difficile à trouver.

Fourgon Dd4s DEV original

Cliché CIMT-Lorraine.

J’ai donc décidé de réhabiliter un de mes anciens fourgons. J’avais le choix entre le modèle Jouef réf. 4695 que voici, et le France-Trains que voilà.

Choix de la « victime »

Modèle France-Trains

Le fourgon France-Trains est fantaisiste dans sa disposition : les compartiments sont décalés pour libérer le pivotement des bogies qui sinon seraient gênés par les marchepieds. De plus, le toit, pièce incluant les vitrages, s’adapte très mal à la caisse : l’arrondi des extrémités n’est pas le même.

Jonction toit-caisse du France-Train

D’ailleurs, les vitrages eux-mêmes ont des arrondis plus grands que l’entourage de fenêtre.

Fenêtres du France-Train

Enfin, les bogies Y24, assez fins et arborant la marque SKF sur les boîtes d’essieux, sont faux quant à leur empattement (28 mm pour 26,4 à l’échelle !). Note : le bogie Y24L, que l’on trouve sous certaines voitures-lits MU (Brissonneau) a un empattement de 2500, soit 28,7 à l’échelle. Ce n’est donc pas bon non plus, mais ce serait moins faux !

Bogie du France-Train

Bref, vous aurez compris que ce n’est pas celui-ci que je vais choisir. Il me servira seulement d’inspiration pour les marquages.

Modèle Jouef

Le fourgon Jouef n’est pas non plus exempt de défauts. Rambardes et câblots moulés avec la caisse, bogies grossiers (mais d’empattement correct !), portes d’intercommunication à ras de la caisse et non en retrait, roues… Jouef, etc. Cependant, il respecte pratiquement l’échelle, et a une caisse moulée d’un bloc avec le toit : pas de problème de jonction !

Déjà à l’époque, j’avais affiné ses bogies. Je pourrais maintenant les remplacer par des pièces REE, ou plus modestement Roco, mais je ne suis pas sûr qu’il en vaille la peine. On verra après les modifications.

Opérations envisagées