Setting the bundles on the wagons

A priori, the setting of bundles on the wagons poses no difficulty. The delicate point is to set lashing — if possible in a realistic manner. In reality, these lashings are attached to rings arranged around the wagon. It is rare to have functional rings at 1:87 scale. So it will be necessary to find a trick to imitate the actual device.

At first I thought I would find a removable solution, but I gave it up because of bad behavior.

Material for stowage

In order to imitate lashing belts, very thin and narrow strips (of about 0.5 mm) are needed. They must also be taut. This last point is difficult to obtain with non-elastic materials. Then I thought of the elastic thread E Z Line (pronounced Easy Line), which I bought at Apogée Vapeur to “wire” my Griffet crane. For this one, I was disappointed, because I imagined that this thread was round, whereas it is actually flat. But for the lashing belts, it's perfect!

Mounting template

Here again, to ensure the load alignment on the wagons, and also to facilitate the setting, I made a template. It is a cradle that will receive the bundles, and then the wagon upside down.

This template consists of a 10 mm plywood base with extruded polystyrene cradles fitted with V-notches that will receive the pipes without damaging the paint. The spacing of cradles must be such that it does not interfere with the passage of the lashing belts.

Mounting on wagons

To facilitate assembly, the bogies are removed. The ranchers are placed in the road position. The bundles, with their planks coated with a little Kristal Klear glue, are placed on the floor, centered by means of extruded polystyrene 3 mm wide blocks arranged along the ranchers. After drying and removing the XPS wedges, the assembly is turned over on the template and held by rubber bands.

Small problem for the Vitrains wagons

Vitrains wagons must receive a lashing belt at a place where there is a marking plate. It will therefore be necessary to drill a hole, as discreet as possible — ø 0,6 for me — to let the thread pass through. This hole must be oblique to avoid the metal ballast which is behind the wall.

Profile of Vitrains wagon

Mounting of lashing belts

The E Z Line thread is cut into segments of approximately 80 mm. It is glued under the chassis, near the edge, at a location corresponding to a lashing ring, with very little cyanoacrylate glue. It is then passed under the load, avoiding to twist it, for aesthetic reasons. Then it is glued to the other side, held by self-supporting tweezers themselves held by a “third hand”. The gluing time is very short, as the cyano seems very reactive on the E Z Line thread. It remains to cut the excess thread (razor blade).

The elastic thread should only be slightly taut. To make the load removable, I first tried to hold the belts with Patafix, then with thin double-sided adhesive. But the E Z Line thread, even if slightly taut, always ended up by escaping.

Mounting on wagon

The template, first made on insufficiently rigid cardboard, was then stapled on plywood. It has positioning marks for belts according to the type of wagon (R8.01 or R8.02), because the rings are not located in the same places.

Here is the result.

Roco wagon loaded

Reel of 30 meters heavy dark gray
12 € - price 2014
Ref. 90362C at Apogée Vapeur

Installation sur les wagons

A priori, l’installation des fardeaux sur les wagons ne pose pas de difficulté. Le point délicat est la pose — si possible réaliste — d’amarres. Dans la réalité, ces amarres sont attachées sur des anneaux disposés autour du wagon. Il est rare d’avoir des anneaux fonctionnels au 1/87e. Il va donc falloir trouver une astuce pour imiter le dispositif réel.

Au début, je pensais trouver une solution amovible, mais j’y ai renoncé pour cause de mauvaise tenue.

Matériau pour les amarres

Pour imiter des sangles, il faut des bandes très minces et très étroites (de l’ordre de 0,5 mm). Il faut aussi qu’elles soient tendues. Ce dernier point est difficile à obtenir avec des matériaux non élastiques. C’est alors que j’ai pensé au fil élastique E Z Line (prononcez Easy Line), que j’avais acheté chez Apogée Vapeur pour « câbler » ma grue Griffet. Pour celle-ci, j’avais été déçu, car j’imaginais que ce fil était rond, alors qu’il est en fait plat. Mais pour les amarres, c’est parfait !

Gabarit de montage

Ici encore, pour garantir l’alignement des charges sur les wagons, et aussi pour faciliter l’installation, j’ai fabriqué un gabarit. C’est un berceau qui recevra les fardeaux puis le wagon à l’envers.

Ce gabarit est composé d’un socle en contreplaqué de 10 mm sur lequel sont collés des berceaux en polystyrène extrudé munis d’encoches en V qui recevront les tuyaux sans risquer de détériorer la peinture. L’espacement des berceaux doit être tel qu’il ne gêne pas le passage des amarres.

Montage sur les wagons

Pour faciliter le montage, les bogies sont enlevés. Les ranchers sont mis en position de route. Les fardeaux, avec leurs madriers enduits d’un peu de colle Kristal Klear, sont posés sur le plancher, centrés grâce à des cales en polystyrène extrudé ép. 3 mm disposées le long des ranchers. Après séchage et enlèvement des cales, l’ensemble est retourné sur le gabarit, et maintenu par des élastiques.

Petit problème pour les wagons Vitrains

Les wagons Vitrains doivent recevoir une amarre à un endroit où il y a une plaque de marquage. Il va donc falloir percer un trou, le plus discret possible — ø 0,6 pour moi — pour laisser passer le fil. Ce trou doit être oblique pour éviter le lest métallique qui se trouve derrière la paroi.

Wagon Vitrains profil

Montage des amarres

Le fil E Z Line est coupé en segments de 80 mm environ. Il est collé sous le châssis, près du bord, à un emplacement correspondant à un anneau d’amarrage, avec très peu de colle cyanoacrylate. Il est ensuite passé sous le chargement, en évitant de le vriller, pour des raisons esthétiques. Puis il est collé de l’autre côté, maintenu par des brucelles autoserrantes elles-mêmes maintenues par une « troisième main ». Le temps de prise est très court, car la cyano semble très réactive sur le fil E Z Line. Il reste à couper l’excédent de fil (lame de rasoir).

Le fil élastique ne doit être que faiblement tendu. Pour rendre le chargement démontable, j’avais d’abord essayé de tenir les amarres avec de la Patafix, puis avec de l’adhésif double-face mince. Mais les fils E Z Line, même peu tendus, finissaient toujours par s’échapper.

Montage sur wagon

Le gabarit, d’abord fait sur carton insuffisam­ment rigide, a été ensuite agrafé sur contre­plaqué. Il porte des repères de positionnement des amarres en fonction du type de wagon (R8.01 ou R8.02), car les anneaux n’y sont pas situés aux mêmes endroits.

Voici le résultat.

Wagon Roco chargé

Bobine 30 mètres gris foncé lourd
12 € — prix 2014
Réf. 90362C chez Apogée Vapeur