Making the bundles (pipe groups)

A bundle consists of four pipes, in two layers of two, placed head to tail to prevent collars from colliding. The pipes of the first layer rest on planks of 1.5 mm square section to scale. There is a new layer of planks, then the second layer of pipes. The wedges are in the shape of a 3 mm side isosceles right-angled triangle (I have somewhat forced the dimensions for practical reasons).

Given the number of wedges to be made, 24 per bundle × 2 per wagon × 5 wagons = 240, I’ll have to find a simple and fast machining assembly. In addition, the distance between wedges will have to be fairly precise and constant so that the pipes remain parallel to each other, otherwise it might give the same effect as the architect Edifis’s home in Asterix and Cleopatra… Making an assembly template is therefore necessary.

Front view of load

  1. Stowing (see further)
  2. Triangular wegdes
  3. Planks

Edifis's home

Planks

No difficulty for planks that are cut into lengths of about 28 mm in pine strip of 1.5 × 1.5 mm.

Wedges

The wedges are sawn in 1.5 × 3 mm pine strip alternately at 45° and then perpendicularly by means of a mini-drill with a thin steel saw blade, installed horizontally in its stand, so as to make a kind of miter saw. In the stand vice is placed a sawing template equipped with slides and stops, preferably made of plastic.

Sawing template

In the drawing above, the slides and stops are hatched. The strip to be cut is white. Once in two, one cuts according to A, and the next time according to B.

Gluing the wedges on the planks

A template will allow the wedges to be glued at a constant spacing, so that the pipes are parallel. This template consists of a rather thick (2 mm or more) polystyrene plate (1), on which thin slices (rings) of Evergreen ø 11,1 tube (2) are glued.

Mounting template

During gluing, these rings are kept at the correct distance by a horizontal spacer of 1.5 mm (4) and two vertical spacers approximately 2 mm wide (3). The gluing is done by applying a liquid plastic glue inside the rings with a brush. Once the assembly is dry, the spacers (3) and (4) are removed, the rings are adjusted with a file to be as thin as possible (about 1 mm), which will facilitate the installation and removal of the parts to be assembled.

For mounting / gluing, I proceed as follows:

Assembly of bundles

On a sheet of rather rigid cardboard, I draw reference lines: the ends of a pipe, so spaced by 82 mm, and the position of two planks spaced 60 mm apart.

I fix the two planks on the cardboard base with a drop or two of Kristal Klear (this is a temporary fixing). One drop of the same glue on each diagonal side of the wedges, then I put the two pipes of the first layer, head to tail.

Then, in the same way, I glue successively the planks equipped with two rows of wedges, and the pipes of the second layer, head to tail compared to those of the bottom layer. Be careful not to tilt the assembly which is still fragile!

Assembly of bundle

Ballasting

For the concerned wagons, the NEM standard indicates a mass between 90 and 120 g. But they have very different masses. The Vitrains are already more than 100 g, and therefore require no ballast. But the Roco is 55 g (for the DB one) to 70 g, which is very insufficient.

For ballasting, I first thought of steel tube pieces having a diameter as close as possible to the inside diameter of the pipes, which would make them as discreet as possible. But this diameter is 9.5 mm, while commercial tubes are ø 10 or 8. The first is too large, and it would have been necessary to bore the plastic, the second is too small. I finally chose sections of ø 6 × L 17 round steel, which give a theoretical mass of 6.3 g per piece. I glued a number (at least 4 for symmetry and balancing reasons) in the bottom pipes to reach a total mass about 100 g. The glue used is the Pattex 100% (without solvents).

1 meter pine strip
0,40 € - price 2014
Ref. 815-PI 1515
At micro-modele

1 meter pine strip
0,40 € - price 2014
Ref. 815-PI 1530
At micro-modele

Fabrication des fardeaux (groupes de tuyaux)

Un fardeau se compose de quatre tuyaux, en deux couches de deux, disposés tête-bêche pour éviter que les collets puissent s’entrechoquer. Les tuyaux de la première couche reposent sur des madriers de section carrée de 1,5 mm à l’échelle. Il y a une nouvelle couche de madriers, puis la deuxième couche de tuyaux. Les cales sont en forme de triangle rectangle de 3 mm de côté (j’ai un peu forcé les dimensions pour des raisons pratiques).

Étant donné le nombre de cales à fabriquer, 24 par fardeau × 2 par wagon × 5 wagons = 240, il va falloir trouver un montage d’usinage simple et rapide. De plus, la distance entre cales devra être assez précise et constante pour que les tuyaux restent parallèles entre eux, sinon, ça risque de donner le même effet que la maison de Numérobis l’architecte dans Astérix et Cléopâtre… La fabrication d’un gabarit de montage s’impose donc.

Chargement vu de face

  1. Amarrage (voir plus loin)
  2. Cales triangulaires
  3. Madriers

Maison de Numérobis

Madriers

Aucune difficulté pour les madriers qui sont découpés en longueurs de 28 mm environ dans de la baguette de pin de 1,5 × 1,5.

Cales

Les cales sont sciées dans de la baguette de pin de 1,5 × 3 mm, alternativement à 45° puis perpendiculaire­ment à l’aide la mini-perceuse, munie d’un disque-scie mince en acier, et installée horizontalement dans son support, de façon à faire une sorte de scie à onglets. Dans l’étau du support est placé un gabarit de sciage muni de glissières et de butées de préférence en matière plastique.

Gabarit de coupe

Dans le dessin ci-dessus, les glissières et butées sont hachurées. La baguette à couper est en blanc. Une fois sur deux, on coupe selon A, et la suivante selon B.

Collage des cales sur les madriers

Un gabarit va permettre de coller les cales à un espacement constant, de façon que les tuyaux soient bien parallèles. Ce gabarit est constitué d’une plaque de polystyrène (1) assez épaisse (2 mm ou plus), sur laquelle sont collées des tranches minces de tube Evergreen ø 11,1 (2).

Gabarit de montage

Pendant leur collage, ces bagues sont maintenues à l’écartement correct par un morceau de « madrier » de 1,5 mm horizontal (4) et deux cales de largeur 2 mm environ en vertical (3). Le collage se fait en déposant au pinceau de la colle liquide pour maquette à l’intérieur des bagues. Une fois le montage sec, les cales (3) et (4) sont enlevées, les bagues sont ajustées à la lime pour être les plus minces possibles (environ 1 mm), ce qui facilitera la pose et le retrait des pièces à assembler.

Pour le montage/collage, je procède ainsi :

Assemblage des fardeaux

Sur une feuille de carton assez rigide, je trace des lignes repères : les extrémités d’un tuyau, donc espacées de 82 mm, et la position de deux madriers, espacés de 60 mm.

Je fixe avec une goutte ou deux de Kristal Klear les deux madriers sur le socle en carton (il s’agit d’une fixation temporaire). Une goutte de la même colle sur chaque face diagonale des cales, puis je pose les deux tuyaux de la première couche, tête-bêche.

Ensuite, de la même façon, je colle successivement les madriers équipés de deux rangées de cales, et les tuyaux de la deuxième couche, tête-bêche par rapport à ceux du dessous. Attention à ne pas faire basculer l’assemblage qui est encore fragile !

Montage du fardeau

Lestage

Pour les wagons concernés, la norme NEM indique une masse comprise entre 90 et 120 g. Or ils ont des masses très différentes. Les Vitrains font déjà plus de 100 g, et ne nécessitent donc aucun lest. Mais les Roco font de 55 g (pour le DB) à 70 g, ce qui est très insuffisant.

J’avais d’abord envisagé pour le lest des morceaux de tube en acier ayant un diamètre le plus proche possible du diamètre intérieur des tuyaux, ce qui les rendrait les plus discrets possible. Mais ce diamètre est de 9,5 mm, alors que les tubes du commerce font ø 10 ou 8. Le premier est trop grand, et il aurait fallu aléser le plastique, le second est trop petit. Je me suis rabattu sur des tronçons de rond acier ø 6 × L 17, ce qui fait une masse théorique de 6,3 g par morceau. J’en colle un certain nombre (au minimum 4 pour des raisons de symétrie et d’équilibrage) dans les tuyaux du bas pour atteindre une masse totale aux environs de 100 g. La colle utilisée est la Pattex 100% (sans solvants).

Baguette pin de 1 mètre
0,40 € — prix 2014
Réf. 815-PI 1515
chez micro-modèle

Baguette pin de 1 mètre
0,40 € — prix 2014
Réf. 815-PI 1530
chez micro-modèle