The pipes at 1:87 scale

Dimensions of PAM Classic pipes

DN 1000 (rated diameter) pipe

According to the above-mentioned PAM Classic document, an excerpt of which is given above, the external diameter ø DE of the pipes DN 1000 is 1048 mm, ie 12 mm to scale; their collar diameter (dimension ø B) is 1191 mm, ie 13.7 mm to scale. Now the Evergreen tubes stop at 12.7 mm! So let’s try a smaller size…

DN 900 (rated diameter) pipe

The outer diameter of the DN 900 pipes is 945 mm, or 10.9 mm to scale; their collar diameter is 1082 mm, ie 12.4 mm. An Evergreen ø 12.7 tube for the collar, and another ø 11.1 for the body, seem quite suitable. So okay for DN 900 pipes! Their total length (Lu + P) is about 7150 mm, or 82 mm to scale.

Making the pipes

We’ll try to make something that really looks like the original. And, with this method, the pipes will be able to be really fitted together; for example, a small diorama showing the laying of pipes in a ditch, with a hydraulic shovel for digging, a semi-trailer for the pipe supply and a crane — or also a hydraulic excavator, as in the picture — for their handling…

Pipe laying

Pipe laying in city of Montpellier.

Dimensions of a DN 900 pipe at 1:87 scale

Dimensions of a pipe

In red, real dimensions reduced to 1:87.

Making the body

The body is cut into a ø 11.1, 350 mm long Evergreen tube. Thus, four pipes can be obtained from a single tube. The best is to cut them a little too long, then adjust the length to 80 mm in a drill mandrel (not too tight), at very slow speed, because this polystyrene softens very easily. At the same time, slightly chamfer the two ends with a cutter or a scalpel, using the back of the blade and not the cutting edge, which would attack the plastic too much.

Making the collar

Given the narrowness of the collar, this part is to be machined directly onto the ø 12.7 Evergreen tube by first making an external chamfer of about 30° on almost the entire thickness of the tube mounted in the drill mandrel already used. The collar is then cut out to about 4 to 5 mm in width.

After making a mark 1 mm from the mouth of the pipe, slide the collar on until the mark and then stick it from the inside with liquid glue for polystyrene model, like Kibri’s.

Once the glue dries, still in the drill mandrel, trim the collar length to obtain the pipe’s total length of 82 mm.

Of course, you’ve better doing this production in series.

Painting and decoration

For the outside, I used a mix of Humbrol mate colours: 90% black no.33 and 10% aluminium no.56. When the paint is dry, I luster it with a paper towel to give it a more shiny aspect.

To colour the inside of the collar, I paint it with a black felt pen. As for the inside of the pipe, which is actually covered with a grayish special cement, it is left white.

Pont-à-Mousson logo

View of real pipes.

The ideal would be to have decals of the Pont-à-Mousson logo, or a stencil to paint this logo on the pipes.

Logo Pont-à-Mousson

Ref. Evergreen 234:
Sachet of two tubes diameter 11.1
4.00 € - price 2014
At train-modelisme.com

Ref. Evergreen 236:
Sachet of two tubes diameter 12.7
4.00 € — prix 2014
At train-modelisme.com

Les tuyaux au 1/87e

Cotes des tuyaux PAM Classic

Tuyaux diamètre nominal 1000

D’après le document PAM Classic déjà cité dont un extrait figure ci-dessus, le diamètre extérieur ø DE des tuyaux DN 1000 est de 1048 mm, soit 12 à l’échelle ; leur diamètre de collet (cote ø B) est de 1191 mm, soit 13,7 à l’échelle. Or les tubes Evergreen s’arrêtent à 12,7 ! Essayons donc la taille en dessous…

Tuyaux diamètre nominal 900

Le diamètre extérieur des tuyaux DN 900 est de 945 mm, soit 10,9 à l’échelle ; leur diamètre de collet est de 1082 mm, soit 12,4. Un tube Evergreen ø 12,7 pour le collet, et un autre ø 11,1 pour le corps, semblent tout-à-fait appropriés. Donc banco pour des tuyaux DN 900 ! Leur longueur totale (Lu + P) est d’environ 7150 mm, soit 82 mm à l’échelle.

Fabrication des tuyaux

On va essayer de fabriquer quelque chose qui ressemble vraiment à l’original. Et, avec cette méthode, les tuyaux pourront être réellement emboîtés ; imaginons par exemple un petit diorama représentant la pose de tuyaux dans une fouille, avec pelle hydraulique pour le creusement, semi-remorque pour l’amenée des tuyaux et grue — ou aussi pelle hydraulique, comme sur la photo — pour leur manutention…

Pose de tuyaux

Pose de tuyaux à Montpellier.

Cotes d’un tuyau DN 900 au 1/87e

Cotes d’un tuyau

En rouge, cotes réelles ramenées au 87e.

Fabrication du corps

Le corps est coupé dans un tube Evergreen ø 11,1 de longueur 350 mm. On peut donc tirer quatre tuyaux d’un seul tube. Le mieux est de les découper un peu trop longs, puis d’ajuster la longueur à 80 mm dans le mandrin pas trop serré d’une perceuse, à vitesse très lente, car ce polystyrène se ramollit très facilement. En profiter pour chanfreiner légèrement les deux extrémités, côté intérieur, à l’aide d’un cutter ou d’un scalpel, en utilisant le dos de la lame et non le tranchant, qui attaquerait trop le plastique.

Fabrication du collet

Étant donné l’étroitesse du collet, on va ébaucher cette pièce directement sur le tube Evergreen ø 12,7 en commençant par faire un chanfrein extérieur d’environ 30° sur presque toute l’épaisseur du tube monté dans le mandrin de la perceuse déjà utilisée. Puis on débite le collet à environ 4 à 5 mm de largeur.

Après avoir fait un repère à 1 mm de l’embouchure du tuyau, glisser dessus le collet jusqu’au repère puis le coller par l’intérieur à la colle liquide pour maquette en poly­styrène, genre Kibri.

Une fois la colle sèche, toujours dans le mandrin de la perceuse, on ajuste la longueur du collet pour obtenir la longueur totale du tuyau de 82 mm.

Bien entendu, il vaut mieux faire cette fabrication en série.

Peinture et décoration

Pour l’extérieur, j’ai utilisé un mélange de couleurs Humbrol mates : 90% de noir no 33 et 10% d’aluminium no 56. Lorsque la peinture est bien sèche, je la lustre avec une serviette en papier pour lui donner un aspect plus luisant.

Pour colorer l’intérieur du collet, je le passe au feutre noir. En ce qui concerne l’intérieur du tuyau, qui, en réalité, est recouvert d’un ciment spécial grisâtre, il est laissé en blanc.

Logo Pont-à-Mousson

Vue de tuyaux réels.

L’idéal serait d’avoir des décalcomanies au logo de Pont-à-Mousson, ou un pochoir pour peindre ce logo sur les tuyaux.

Logo Pont-à-Mousson

Réf. Evergreen 234 :
sachet de deux tubes diamètre 11,1
4,00 € — prix 2014
chez train-modelisme.com

Réf. Evergreen 236 :
sachet de deux tubes diamètre 12,7
4,00 € — prix 2014
chez train-modelisme.com