The original idea : an article in La Vie du Rail

As I was walking through old documents, I came across this little article in La Vie du Rail No.1151 of July 21, 1968, accompanied by the following photo.

To summarize, the article says:

The Genlis railway station has been receiving wagons from Pont-à-Mousson, each loaded with eight cast-iron pipes, of an unit weight of 2.5 tons. These pipes are intended for supplying the city of Dijon with water, through a 20 km long pipeline.

Article La Vie du Rail

Wagons R8 loaded with Pont-à-Mousson pipes

Interesting, isn’t it? The wagons seem to be of R8 type, which I own several units, of various brands and administrations:

A total of five wagons, all belonging to the EUROP pool, of course. Obviously, it does not make a train of a realistic length, but it will at least reproduce the photo of the article, with a time shift towards the mid-1970s.

Note: the main differences between types R8.01 and R8.02 — I mean in pre-1980 marking — are, on the one hand, the frame reinforcements which are tubular for the first and in beams for the second; and on the other hand the bogie type, Y19 nicknamed “German” for the former and Y25 for the latter.

The real pipes

Let’s go into a little research on the Pont-à-Mousson water pipes (a company that I knew during my studies in Nancy). The company still exists, but as a subsidiary of Saint-Gobain. According to the PAM Classic document, pipes with a nominal diameter of 1 m still exist. Their length is about 7.10 m, and their mass is 2.7 t: this perfectly matches the article’s description.

L’idée de départ : un article dans La Vie du Rail

En parcourant de vieux documents, je suis tombé sur ce petit article de La Vie du Rail no 1151 du 21 juillet 1968 (ça ne nous rajeunit pas), article accompagné de la photo qui suit.

Article La Vie du Rail

Wagons R8 chargés de tuyaux Pont-à-Mousson

Intéressant, non ? Les wagons semblent bien de type R8, wagons dont je possède plusieurs exemplaires, de marques et d’administrations variées :

En tout, cinq wagons, appartenant tous au pool EUROP, bien sûr. Évidemment, ça ne fait pas une rame de longueur réaliste, mais cela permettra au moins de reproduire la photo de l’article, avec un glissement de date vers le milieu des années 1970.

NB : les différences essentielles entre les types R8.01 et R8.02 — je parle en marquage d’avant 1980 — sont, d’une part, les renforts des châssis qui sont en tubes pour les premiers et en poutres pour les seconds ; et d’autre part le type de bogies, Y19 dits « allemands » pour les premiers et Y25 pour les seconds.

Les tuyaux réels

En avant pour une petite recherche sur les tuyaux d’adduction d’eau Pont-à-Mousson (société que j’ai connue à l’occasion de mes études à Nancy). L’entreprise existe toujours, mais comme filiale de Saint-Gobain. D’après le document PAM Classic, les tuyaux de diamètre nominal 1 m existent encore. Leur longueur est de 7,10 m environ, et leur masse de 2,7 t : cela correspond parfaitement à la description de l’article.