Boxes for locomotives

The only difference with “standard” boxes is the much higher weight of the locos, which requires reinforced boxes, while limiting the number of models per box.

I therefore planned to strengthen the bottom with 4 mm thick hardboard, but perhaps thicker cardboard would suffice. The total height of such a box is increased by 4 mm, which brings it to about 60 mm. So we can only put three of them in a Curver box, if we want to be able to overlay the boxes. Otherwise, no problem: the fourth box only exceeds 2 cm (less than 1 inch).

Changes in the bottom dimensions

As indicated above, the side height is increased by 4 mm, which gives this new diagram:

Loco box bottom

Distribution of dividers

To facilitate gripping the models, I have provided wider dividers. The ideal would have been 10 mm, which would have allowed to store eight locos. It seems, after research on the Web, that there is no 10 mm extruded polystyrene, but it exists in 9 mm. See possible arrangement with eight places below. I still preferred the 20 mm, which limits to six the number of places per box. This is no worse issue for weight! I also kept the principle of plastic film grip used in most of the original boxes. This film protects the sidewalls of the loco against the risk of abrasion by rubbing on the dividers.

Distribution of 20 mm dividers

Remarks :

Example of implementation

Loco box

  1. Bearing wedges
  2. Divider h = 30
  3. Notice summarizing the functions of the decoder
  4. Bottom hardboard reinforcement
  5. Protection wedge
  6. Removed bearing wedge

Note: for a question of aesthetics, I removed the protective films for the photo.

The bearing wedges (#1 and 6) are used to supportthe weight of the boxes placed above without the risk of leaning on the locos. They are removable to facilitate gripping of the locos.

Notice (#3) summarizes the code and functions of the corresponding machine decoder.

The protection wedges (#5), in one piece, were cut from 20 mm extruded polystyrene, width 41 mm. On one side, they are fixed with the double-sided adhesive, on the other, they are movable and frictionally hold on the dividers. They are used to prevent the locos from moving into their place, while preserving the coupling.

Distribution in eight places with 9 mm thick dividers

As seen above, the capacity of these boxes can be increased somewhat by using 9 mm thick XPS. I haven’t had the opportunity yet, but here are the corresponding dimensions. That said, I have a doubt about the strenght of a 9 mm thick divider in case of side impact.

Distribution with 9 mm thick dividers

In this case there will be seven locations of 37.5 mm and one of 38.5 mm.

Same thing, but for locos in the length of the box

Some steam locos with their tender (231 E, 231 K, 141 R) are just in width. Some others, such as the 241 P (which I do not own), are really too long. In this case, six cells can be arranged in the length of the box:

Distribution with 9 mm thick dividers

Here, it is possible to choose to widen each place to 39 mm, or, as this drawing shows, keep the value of 37.5, which will prevent the locos from moving too much, by doubling a wall (or perhaps leaving a empty location for storing accessories such as spare parts bags).

Boîtes pour locomotives

La seule différence avec les boîtes « Compo » tient au poids des machines beaucoup plus élevé, ce qui nécessite des boîtes renforcées, tout en limitant le nombre de modèles par boîte.

J’ai donc prévu de renforcer le fond avec de l’Isorel ép. 4 mm, mais peut-être que du carton plus épais suffirait. La hauteur totale d’une telle boîte est augmentée de 4 mm, ce qui la porte à environ 60 mm. On ne peut donc en placer que trois dans une caisse Curver, si l’on veut pouvoir superposer les caisses. Sinon, pas de problème : la quatrième boîte ne dépasse que de 2 cm.

Modification des dimensions du fond

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la hauteur des côtés est augmentée de 4 mm, ce qui donne ce nouveau plan :

Fond boîte loco

Répartition des cloisons

Pour faciliter la préhension des modèles, j’ai prévu des cloisons plus larges. L’idéal aurait été 10 mm, ce qui aurait permis de ranger huit locos. Il semble, après recherche sur la toile, qu’il n’y a pas de polystyrène extrudé en 10 mm, mais il existe en 9 mm. Voir l’agencement possible avec huit emplacements plus bas. J’ai quand même préféré le 20 mm, ce qui limite à six le nombre d’emplacements par boîte. Ce n’est pas plus mal question poids ! Je garde aussi le principe de préhension par film plastique utilisé dans la plupart des boîtes d’origine. Ce film protège les flancs de la loco contre le risque d’abrasion par frottement sur les cloisons.

Répartition des cloisons de 20 mm

Remarques :

Exemple de réalisation

Boîte loco

  1. Cale-rehausse
  2. Cloison h = 30
  3. Fiche résumant les fonctions du décodeur
  4. Renfort de fond en Isorel
  5. Cale de protection
  6. Cale-rehausse retirée

NB : pour une question d’esthétique, je n’ai pas laissé les films de protection pour la photo.

Les cales rehausses (1 et 6) servent à supporter le poids des boîtes posées au-dessus sans risquer qu’elles appuient sur les locos. Elles sont amovibles pour faciliter la préhension des locos.

La fiche 3 récapitule le code et les fonctions du décodeur de la machine correspondante.

Les cales de protection 5, d’une seule pièce, ont été découpées dans du polystyrène extrudé ép. 20, largeur 41. D’un côté, elles sont fixées au double-face, de l’autre, elles sont mobiles et tiennent par friction sur les cloisons. Elles servent à empêcher les locos de se déplacer dans leur logement, tout en préservant l’attelage.

Répartition en huit emplacements avec cloisons de 9 mm

Comme vu ci-dessus, on peut augmenter un peu la capacité de ces boîtes en utilisant du dépron de 9 mm. Je n’ai pas encore eu l’occasion de le faire, mais voici les cotes correspondantes. Ceci dit, j’ai un doute sur la solidité d’une cloison en épaisseur 9 en cas de choc latéral.

Répartition des cloisons de 9 mm

Dans ce cas, on aura sept emplacements de 37,5 mm et un de 38,5.

Même chose, mais pour locos dans la longueur

Certaines locos vapeur avec leur tender (231 E, 231 K, 141 R) tiennent tout juste dans la largeur. Certaines autres, telle que la 241 P (que je n’ai pas), sont vraiment trop longues. Dans ce cas, on peut aménager six emplacements dans le sens de la longueur :

Répartition des cloisons de 9 mm

Ici, on peut choisir d’élargir chaque logement à 39 mm, ou, comme sur ce dessin, conserver la valeur de 37,5, ce qui empêchera les locos de trop bouger, quitte à doubler une paroi (ou peut-être à laisser un vide permettant de ranger des accessoires tels que des sachets de pièces détachées).