Decoder and separation of the lights

New electrical circuit

So I was led to redo a PCB for an eight wire decoder, the wires of which will have to be soldered individually at the indicated locations. I did not put a connector in order to simplify the circuit design.

New electrical diagram

New electrical diagram.
The marks of the rail, motor, and LED connections are taken from the original circuit.

New electrical circuit

New electrical circuit : top, tracks; middle, components; bottom, both together.
Click the image to view the circuit in high definition
.

Some devices (capacitors, inductors) are to be gotten back from the old PCB. The others are easily found in e-commerce. Note: marking of SMD resistors: 2.2 kΩ (2k2): 222; 4.7 kΩ (4k7): 472.

Note: on the (vectorial) high definition drawing, the etching mask is shown upside down. Indeed, when exposing the board (thickness 0.8), the mask inking must be directly in contact with the board. If the light had to go through the polyester film thickness, under the ink, it could diffuse and give fuzzy outlines.

“Warming” the white light

I simply glued on the LEDs, with Kristal Klear, a small piece of translucent orange plastic cut into a soft ring binder cover. At first, I wondered if this extra thickness would prevent the body to be correctly reassembled, but no… However, there is still a small problem: LEDs are too punctual, not exactly centered, and so the light intensity is not well balanced between the two headlights of the same side.

Slowness of the machine

Many of us have noticed the relative slowness of this machine at maximum speed. Mine crawls at 113 km/h to scale under 12 V DC. In DCC, CV5 = 255 (maximum) gives 150 km/h, which is too much, but the speed collapses to 120 km/h as soon as CV5 = 254. Xavier Geillon, on the Loco Revue forum, suggested to set the EMF divider (CV50 = 32), and it works! Then, by setting CV5 to 186, I get 140 km/h (Lenz Silver decoder).

Décodeur et séparation des feux

Nouveau circuit

Tout cela pour vous dire que j’ai été amené à refaire un circuit imprimé pour un décodeur huit fils qui seront à souder individuellement aux endroits indiqués. Je n’ai pas mis de connecteur pour simplifier le dessin du circuit.

Nouveau schéma

Nouveau schéma.
Les repères des connexions rails, moteur et LED sont repris du circuit d’origine.

Nouveau circuit

Nouveau circuit : en haut, les pistes, au milieu, les composants, en bas, les deux rassemblés.
Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le circuit en haute définition
.

Certains composants (condensateurs, selfs) sont à récupérer sur l’ancien circuit. Les autres se trouvent facilement dans le commerce électronique. NB : marquage des résistances CMS : 2,2 kΩ (2k2) : 222 ; 4,7 kΩ (4k7) : 472.

Remarque : sur le dessin (vectoriel) en haute définition, le typon est représenté à l’envers. En effet, lorsqu’on expose la plaque de circuit (épaisseur 0,8), il faut que l’encrage du typon soit directement en contact avec cette plaque. Si la lumière devait traverser l’épaisseur du calque ou du film polyester, même mince, sous l’encrage, elle pourrait diffuser et donner des contours flous.

« Réchauffement » de la lumière blanche des feux

J’ai simplement collé sur les LED, à la Kristal Klear, un petit morceau de plastique orange translucide découpé dans une couverture de classeur souple. Je craignais au début une surépaisseur empêchant un remontage correct de la caisse, mais non… Il reste cependant un petit problème : les LED sont trop ponctuelles, pas exactement centrées, et il y a un déséquilibre d’intensité lumineuse entre les deux feux (du même côté).

Lenteur de la machine

Nous sommes nombreux à avoir constaté la lenteur relative de cette machine à vitesse maximale. La mienne se traîne à 113 km/h à l’échelle sous 12 V continu. En numérique, CV5 = 255 (maximum) donne 150 km/h, donc trop, mais la vitesse s’effondre à 120 km/h dès CV5 = 254. Xavier Geillon, sur le forum LR, a suggéré d’agir sur le diviseur de F.E.M. (CV50 = 32), et ça marche ! En mettant alors la CV5 à 186, j’obtiens 140 km/h (décodeur Lenz Silver).