Miniature LEDs in headlights

Today (2015), extremely small (1.6 × 1.5 mm) bicolour SMD LEDs can be found, either naked, to which one will then have to solder wires, which is similar to microsurgery, or already wired, but of course much more expensive (more than 7 times!), and whose connections are particularly fragile, which brings us back to the previous case…

I wanted to try to fit this kind of LEDS to my BB 63888 Roco, whose lighting, even modified, was not really satisfactory.

Mounting feasibility

A small AutoCAD 3D drawing allows to validate this project.

One can see that if the optical part of the LED fits into the opening, the rear part is a little narrow. But the wall of the lighthouse is very thick, and there will be way, by thinning it, to fit the LED with no trouble.

Headlight with LED

Preparation

First, we must extract the optics. To do this, we have to lift the body (the snap-in lugs are at each end and, on the sides, just in front of the cab), not without having carefully removed the guardrails..

The light guides can then be removed beneath the ends of the hoods, and the headlight optics can be recovered, from which the small light guides are also removed. The different light guides will no longer be used.

Light guides

Optics milling

The milling purpose is to enlarge the future housing of the LED. It is better to place the optics in a small machining support that will allow milling right to the axis. A 2 mm thick polystyrene board receives two (or four) 2 mm wide by 0.5 mm deep milled grooves at least 6 mm long (the headlamp supports don’t have the same length on both sides of the machine). The optics will be maintained at right angles in the vice of the milling machine, the rear of the parabolas bearing on the edge of the support. They will be dug with a 2 mm spherical milling bit.

Optics machining support

Optics machining

Wiring the LEDs

If you choose, as I did, the “naked LEDs” option, here comes the most nervousness generating operation, while it requires the most serenity possible… It is feasible, but the problem is to ensure the soldered joint quality, without short, and without breaking the wires at the worst moment (Murphy’s law requires).

I used 1/10 mm enameled wire. It is very thin, admittedly, but more flexible and therefore less brittle than a larger diameter wire.

Here again, a support is very useful. In a scrap piece of FR4 PCB, I milled a 1 mm wide, 0.5 mm deep groove, length about 3 mm. This plate is placed in a vice. The LED will be held upside down in the groove by a first pair of tweezers (first photo), while the wire to be soldered will be held by a second pair (second photo).

Soldering wires on LED

Small, isn’t it?

The wire, cut to a much greater length than necessary, should be stripped about 1 mm by scraping on two sides. Soldering will be greatly easier if you use a liquid flux. Be careful: the latter is corrosive and conductive: the assembly must be cleaned thoroughly by soaking with water, preferably hot, during… a certain time.

Soldering wires on LED

Once everything is in place, you just have to approach the soldering iron (special SMD) tip slightly tinned by sliding it on the surface of the epoxide until contact. Tip: just after each soldering, remove the tweezers that hold the wire, pull at it moderately and colour it with a felt pen, to mark it of course, but also to test the soldered joint strenght.

Warning: if you use the same LEDs as me, the polarities indicated on the web page are false. The little green triangle, which looks like a diode symbol, is actually reversed. The positive common (anode) is the tip side of the triangle. Unless it is a marking error on the batch I received; it is better to do a polarity test before soldering these LEDs. Here is a small drawing illustrating the thing (rear view of the LED), besides showing the ideal wire implantation; in reality, we do what we can…

Connecting diagram

Bicolour warm white / red SMD LED
0605 case, 6.25 € per 25 — price 2015
Electro Discount ref. 198

Bicolour white / red LED
18.90 € per 10 — price 2015
Limousin Modélisme ref. 0605BR

0.1 mm enamelled copper wire
6.29 € per 450 m — price 2015
Conrad code 605090 - 62

Éclairage par LED microminiatures dans les phares

Il existe maintenant (2015) des LED CMS bicolores extrêmement petites (1,6 × 1,5 mm), que l’on peut trouver toutes nues, auquel cas il faudra leur souder des fils, ce qui s’apparente à de la microchirurgie, ou déjà munies de fils, mais bien sûr beaucoup plus chères (plus de 7 fois !), et dont les connexions sont particulièrement fragiles, ce qui nous ramène au cas précédent…

J’ai eu envie d’essayer d’en monter sur ma BB 63888 Roco, dont l’éclairage, même modifié, n’est pas vraiment satisfaisant.

Faisabilité du montage

Un petit dessin 3D sur AutoCAD permet de valider ce projet.

On voit que, si la partie optique de la LED s’inscrit dans l’ouverture, la partie arrière est un peu à l’étroit. Mais la paroi du phare est très épaisse, et il y aura moyen en l’affinant de faire rentrer la LED sans difficulté.

Phare avec LED

Préparation

Il faut commencer par extraire les optiques. Pour cela, il faut lever la caisse (les ergots sont à chaque extrémité et, sur les côtés, juste devant la cabine), non sans avoir par prudence enlevé les rambardes.

On peut alors ôter les guides de lumière sous les extrémités des capots, et récupérer les optiques de phares, desquelles on enlève aussi les petits conduits de lumière. Les différents conduits de lumière ne serviront plus.

Conduits de lumière

Fraisage des optiques

Le fraisage a pour but d’agrandir le futur logement des LED. Il est préférable de placer les optiques dans un petit support d’usinage qui permettra de fraiser bien dans l’axe. Une plaquette en polystyrène ép. 2 reçoit deux (ou quatre) rainures fraisées de 2 mm de large sur 0,5 de profondeur, et d’au moins 6 mm de long (les supports de phares n’ont pas la même longueur des deux côtés de la machine). Les optiques y seront maintenues bien perpendiculairement dans l’étau de la fraiseuse, l’arrière des paraboles portant sur le bord du support. Elles seront creusées avec une fraise sphérique ø 2.

Montage d’usinage des optiques

Usinage des optiques

Câblage des LED

Si on choisit, comme je l’ai fait, l’option « LED nues », voici venir l’opération la plus génératrice d’énervement, alors qu’elle nécessite le plus de zénitude possible… C’est faisable, mais le problème est de s’assurer de la qualité des soudures, sans court-circuit, et sans casse des fils au plus mauvais moment (loi de Murphy oblige).

J’ai utilisé du fil émaillé de 1/10. C’est très fin, certes, mais plus souple et donc moins cassant qu’un fil de plus gros diamètre.

Là aussi, un support est très utile. Dans un morceau de verre-époxy de rebut, j’ai fraisé une rainure de largeur 1 mm, profondeur 0,5 mm, longueur environ 3 mm. Cette plaquette est placée dans un étau. La LED y sera maintenue tête en dessous, dans la rainure, par une première paire de brucelles (première photo), tandis que le fil à souder sera mis en place et tenu par une deuxième paire (deuxième photo).

Soudage de fils sur la LED

C’est petit, n’est-ce pas ?

Le fil, coupé à une longueur bien plus grande que nécessaire, doit être dénudé sur environ 1 mm par grattage, sur deux côtés. Le soudage sera grandement facilité par l’emploi de flux liquide genre Bergeon. Attention: ce dernier est corrosif et conducteur : le montage devra être nettoyé soigneusement par trempage à l’eau, de préférence chaude, pendant… un certain temps.

Soudage de fils sur la LED

Une fois tout en place, il suffit d’approcher la panne (spéciale CMS) légèrement étamée en la faisant glisser sur la surface de l’époxy jusqu’au contact. Conseil : juste après chaque soudage, enlevez les brucelles qui tiennent le fil, tendez-le modérément et passez-le au feutre de couleur, pour le repérer bien sûr, mais aussi pour tester la solidité de la soudure.

Attention : si vous utilisez les mêmes LED que moi, les polarités indiquées sur la page web sont fausses. Le petit triangle vert, qui ressemble au symbole d’une diode, est en fait à l’envers. Le commun positif (anode) est côté pointe du triangle. À moins que ce soit une erreur de marquage sur le lot que j’ai reçu ; mieux vaut donc faire un test de polarité avant de souder ces LED. Voici un petit dessin illustrant la chose (vue arrière de la LED), montrant au passage l’implantation idéale des fils ; en réalité, on fait ce qu’on peut…

Schéma de raccordement

LED CMS bicolore blanc chaud / rouge
boîtier 0605, 6,25 € les 25 — prix 2015
Electro Discount réf. 198

10 led 0605 cablées bicolore blanc/rouge
18,90 € les 10 — prix 2015
Limousin Modélisme réf. 0605BR

Fil de cuivre émaillé 0,1 mm
6,29 € les 450 m — prix 2015
Conrad code 605090 - 62