Cab fitting out

To mask the PCB part visible through the windows of the cab, I made a semblance of interior fitting out.

I started from the following sketch, made from photos. Do not look for accuracy or scale. It’s only a sketch.

Control panel

I then adapted it, knowing that the PCB position did not make it possible to represent the details below its level, that is to say… almost everything: seats, manipulators, brake valve, etc.

So that’s what’s left of it:

Control panel

The backsplash, made of different thickness polystyrene, has to be milled (in addition to the cutout of the base) to let a place for the inductors. The base (0.5 mm thick plastic card) is painted in matt black, the desk in light brown. Dials are represented with a silver pen. The assembly is stuck to the PCB with Patafix.

Light leaks

There are light leaks everywhere: the lights are visible in the cabin, and they light up the track under the loco.

For the first case, I filled the space between the PCB and the body with Patafix. For the second, I stuck, still with Patafix, small plastic card squares in the chassis corners, where the light guides pass. To access these places, simply disassemble the bogie housing and remove the extreme axle.

Finally, I put some black paint on the light guides just under the “parabolas”, and into their housings in the chassis.

Coupling draw bar

As I had broken a drawbar dovetail, I was very much ennoyed, for I found no spare part in the Roco catalog, when I discovered by chance that the Fleischmann draw bars ref. 6575 fit perfectly, provided that a small simple operation was practiced: trim the internal relief of the closing part of the casing. Good to know, right?

Fleischmann draw bar

Aménagement de cabine

Pour masquer la partie du circuit visible par les fenêtres de la cabine, j’ai fabriqué un semblant d’aménagement intérieur.

Je suis parti du croquis suivant, fait d’après photos. N’y cherchez pas d’exactitude ni d’échelle. Ce n’est qu’un croquis.

Pupitre

Je l’ai ensuite adapté, sachant que la position du circuit imprimé ne permettait pas de représenter les détails se trouvant sous son niveau, c’est-à-dire… presque tout : sièges, manipulateurs, robinet de frein, etc.

Voilà donc ce qu’il en reste :

Pupitre

Le dosseret, constitué de différentes épaisseurs de polystyrène, doit être fraisé (en plus de la découpe du socle) pour laisser passer les inductances. Le socle (carte plastique ép. 0,5) est peint en noir mat, le pupitre en brun clair. Des cadrans sont figurés au stylo argent. L’ensemble est collé sur le CI à la Patafix.

Fuites de lumière

Il y a des fuites de lumière un peu partout : les feux sont visibles dans la cabine, et ils éclairent la voie sous la loco.

Pour le premier cas, j’ai comblé l’espace entre le CI et la caisse avec de la Patafix. Pour le deuxième, j’ai collé, toujours à la Patafix, de petits carrés de carte plastique dans les coins du châssis, au passage des conduits de lumière. Pour y accéder, il suffit de démonter le carter de bogie et d’enlever l’essieu extrême.

Enfin, j’ai mis un peu de peinture noire sur les conduits de lumière juste sous les « paraboles », et dans leurs logements dans le châssis.

Timons d’attelage

Ayant cassé un timon au niveau de la queue d’aronde, j’étais fort marri, car point ne trouvai-je de pièce de rechange dans le catalogue Roco, lorsque je découvris un peu par hasard que les timons Fleischmann réf. 6575 s’adaptaient parfaitement, pour peu que l’on pratiquât une petite opération simple : araser le relief interne de la pièce de fermeture du boîtier. Bon à savoir, non ?

Maître Capello, sors de ce corps !

Timon Fleischmann