Problem of heat emitted by bulbs

Incandescent lamps, even low power, produce much more heat than light. The plastic material is sensitive to it and can be deformed. As I didn’t wish to replace them with white LEDs (the main reason being that I wanted to keep the warm color of the light), I designed a kind of tubular heat sink capable of evacuating the heat (which is still confined under the hoods), but also and above all to distribute this heat over a larger surface, which prevents the temperature from reaching excessive values (or I hope so, having not made any serious measure; in any case, it will always be better than the bulb bearing directly on the plastic body).

The heat sink is a section of 5 mm × 4 mm dia salvage aluminum tube. A 4 × 3 mm tube would have been better. Two 1.5 mm holes drilled into the middle let the “Luciol” type lamp wires go out. It is of course necessary to isolate these wires and hold them with a drop of glue. The 3 mm dia red LED is located behind the lamp.

Heat sink

An additional advantage of this device is that it avoids light leakage on the side (but not at the back, where the LED must be filled). When the red LED is lit, its light must pass through the incandescent lamp, resulting in large losses, which require the use of a high-brightness LED. The actual color of the LED case is not red, but transparent.

Problème de la chaleur dégagée par les lampes

Les lampes à incandescence, même de faible puissance, produisent beaucoup plus de chaleur que de lumière. Or la matière plastique y est sensible et peut se déformer. N’ayant pas voulu les remplacer par des LED blanches (le principal motif étant que je voulais conserver la couleur chaude de la lumière), j’ai conçu une sorte de radiateur tubulaire capable d’évacuer la chaleur (qui reste quand même confinée sous les capots), mais aussi et surtout de répartir cette chaleur sur une plus grande surface, ce qui empêche la température d’atteindre des valeurs excessives (du moins, je l’espère, n’ayant pas fait de mesure sérieuse ; en tout cas, ce sera toujours mieux que l’ampoule portant directement sur le plastique de la caisse).

Ce radiateur est un tronçon de tube d’aluminium ø 5 × 4 de récupération. Un tube ø 4 × 3 aurait été préfé­rable. Deux trous ø 1,5 pratiqués vers le milieu laissent sortir les fils de la lampe de type « Luciol ». Il faut bien sûr isoler ces fils et les maintenir par une goutte de cyano. La LED rouge ø 3 vient se loger derrière.

Radiateur

Un avantage annexe de ce dispositif est qu’il évite les fuites de lumière sur le côté (mais pas à l’arrière, où il faut mastiquer la LED). Lorsque la LED rouge est allumée, sa lumière doit traverser la lampe à incandescence, d’où des pertes importantes, qui nécessitent l’utilisation de LED haute luminosité. Le boîtier de cette LED n’est pas rouge en réalité, mais incolore.