New PCBs

The original PCBs take up a lot of space for few components. As I want to place the decoder under the hood and not into the cab, plus LEDs for red lights, I decided to make new circuits. They were not made without trial and error, and, when I think about it, I was wrong keeping the original lamps. Here is the very simple electrical diagram, taking advantage of the additional output of the Lenz Silver+ decoder (brown wire) for cab lighting.

Electrical diagram

Electrical diagram

However, you will see that the use of the older Silver decoder is planned on the PCB, which explains an apparent inconsistency in the wire layout, which has changed between this model and its successor.

Circuits (masks)

Here are the bare PCBs, seen components and copper side, since components are for surface mounting (SMD), except for those recovered from the original circuits (interference suppression inductors and capacitor). Board thickness: 0.8 mm.

Mask

The hatched area will receive the decoder end, where are the connecting wires. It will be stuck there with thin (otherwise, it would touch the hood) double-sided adhesive. The jutting out part will overhang the front flywheel — one has to check whether it does not touch it. The small notches visible on the front circuit make it possible to fit it on the chassis pins. But it is prudent to reinforce the holding of the circuit by gluing it, because it is no longer possible to use the original screws. On the other hand, the rear circuit will be attached like the old one, by two screws passing through two 2 mm dia. holes which must be drilled in the center of the target-shaped pads. In addition, a rectangular hole must be milled to leave room for the anti-parasite inductors (caution when you disconnect them from their original circuit: I broke a wire close to the body).

Setting up

For connecting the two circuits, I used standard colour wires recovered on the decoder itself, because the decoder / front circuit link wires are very short. The wires which connect the two circuits pass on either side of the motor, in sheaths glued along the latter.

Setting up

Some notes concerning these circuits:

Nouveaux circuits imprimés

Les circuits imprimés d’origine prennent beaucoup de place pour peu de composants. Comme je veux placer le décodeur sous le capot et non en cabine, plus des LED pour les feux rouges, j’ai décidé de refaire des circuits. Cela n’a pas été sans tâtonnements et essais successifs, et j’ai eu le tort en y repensant de vouloir garder les lampes d’origine. Voici d’abord le schéma électrique, très simple, mettant à profit la sortie supplémentaire du décodeur Lenz Silver+ (fil marron) pour l’éclairage cabine.

Schéma

Schéma électrique

Cependant, vous allez voir que l’utilisation de l’ancien décodeur Silver est prévue sur le circuit imprimé, ce qui explique une apparente incohérence dans la disposition des fils, celle-ci ayant changé entre ce modèle et son successeur.

Circuits (typon)

Voici les circuits imprimés nus, vus côté composants et cuivre, puisque ce sont des composants pour montage en surface (CMS), sauf les composants récupérés sur les circuits d’origine (inductances et condensateur d’antiparasitage). Épaisseur de carte : 0,8.

Typon

La zone hachurée recevra l’extrémité du décodeur côté fils de raccordement. Il y sera collé par du double-face mince (sinon, il toucherait le capot). Ce qui dépasse surplombera le volant d’inertie avant — on vérifiera qu’il ne le touche pas. Les petites encoches visibles sur le circuit avant permettent de l’emboîter sur des tenons du châssis. Mais il est prudent de renforcer la tenue du circuit en le collant, car on ne peut plus utiliser les vis d’origine. En revanche, le circuit arrière se fixera comme l’ancien, par deux vis passant dans deux trous ø 2 qui doivent être percés au centre des pastilles en forme de cible. De plus, un trou rectangulaire doit être pratiqué pour laisser place aux inductances antiparasites (prudence lorsque vous les dessoudez de leur circuit d’origine : j’ai cassé une patte à ras du corps).

Implantation

J’ai utilisé pour le raccordement des deux circuits des fils de couleurs standard récupérés sur le décodeur lui-même, car les fils de liaison décodeur/circuit avant sont pour la plupart très courts. Les fils qui relient les deux circuits passent de part et d’autre du moteur, dans des gaines collées le long de ce dernier.

Implantation

Quelques remarques concernant ces circuits :