Pantographs

The original Sommerfeldt pantographs are not really fine. I decided to change them for LS Models ones (the 16500’s) certainly more fragile, but much more beautiful.

Insulator spacing

First problem: the distance between the insulators is not the same. In length, it’s OK: the two pantos have a spacing of 14.5 mm. But in width, the Sommerfeldt is 14 mm against 13 mm for the LSM. I should have drilled two new holes at 13 mm spacing, with however the risk of tangent holes, which involved filler, paint retouching and drilling. I wished to avoid this by playing on the LSM pantos spacing, despite the risk of breakage, as their foot seems to be zamak. So I initially thinned the feet with a file, then I spread them very gently, and everything happily happened. But I wouldn’t do it again!

Mounting axis

Second problem: the mounting axis is centered on the LSM pantos, not on the Sommerfeldt, which led me to ovalize the roof holes. Here again, I wouldn’t do it again: now I prefer not to screw the pantos. I just glue them with a little Kristal Klear or equivalent to hold the foot and insulators. It is better for the aesthetic, and there is less risk of destroying a panto by pulling out: in case of hanging, it simply leaves its housing.

Third problem: the fixing of the LSM pantos is done by smooth barrel in which a Parker screw is supposed to make its own tapping: it is risky because it must be forced; however, at the first attempt the screw screwed up. I therefore re-drilled the barrel to 1.6 mm dia (without going through!). Then I tapped it to M2, the fixing being done by screw (M2 of course), inside the body. Another reason for not fixing the pantos!

Finally, but this was done after taking the picture below, the panto extension was limited, as on the Series 16 Vitrains, and also on all my locos equipped with LS Models pantographs, by small wedges between the frame and the main leg. This is visible on the photo at the beginning of the article.

Result

View panto raised

OK. Of course, there are still some small missing details that would be found on a recent production: lantern and flag holders, fixings for train plates (“Golden Arrow”), etc. But anyway I’m pleased with it. Too bad that Roco did not release the green version with reinforced headstocks, even though these headstocks were the subject of controversy… At the time, I had found that this transformation had disfigured this machine. Yet this was only the beginning: “béton” livery, suppression of the cab trims, etc. In the end, this loco no longer resembled anything, although it had been considered, with its sister 9200, the most aesthetic among French electric machines, not only in France, the number of reproductions that had been made of them proves it!

Pantographes

Les pantographes d’origine Sommerfeldt ne sont pas vraiment fins. J’ai décidé de les changer pour des LS Models (ceux de la 16500) plus fragiles, certes, mais beaucoup plus beaux.

Entraxe des isolateurs

Premier problème : l’entraxe des isolateurs n’est pas le même. En longueur, ça va : les deux pantos ont un entraxe de 14,5 mm. Mais en largeur, le Sommerfeldt fait 14 mm contre 13 mm pour le LSM. La logique aurait voulu que je reperce l’emplacement des pieds à 13 mm, avec cependant le risque des trous tangents, ce qui impliquait rebouchage, retouche de peinture et perçage. J’ai voulu éviter cela en jouant sur l’entraxe des pantos LSM, malgré le risque de casse, car leur pied semble être en zamak. J’ai donc dans un premier temps aminci les pieds à la lime, puis je les ai écartés très doucement, et tout s’est heureusement bien passé. Mais je ne le referais pas !

Axe de fixation

Deuxième problème : l’axe de fixation est centré sur les pantos LSM, pas sur les Sommerfeldt, ce qui m’a amené à ovaliser le trou de la toiture. Ici encore, je ne le referais pas : je préfère maintenant ne pas visser les pantos. Je me contente d’un peu de Kristal Klear ou équivalent pour maintenir le pied et les isolateurs. C’est mieux pour l’esthétique, et il y a moins de risque de destruction d’un panto par arrachement : en cas d’accrochage, il sort simplement de son logement.

Troisième problème : la fixation des pantos LSM est prévue par canon lisse dans lequel une vis Parker est censée venir faire son propre taraudage : c’est risqué parce qu’il faut forcer ; quoi qu’il en soit, à la première tentative, la vis a foiré. J’ai donc repercé le canon au ø 1,6 (sans traverser !) puis je l’ai taraudé à M2, la fixation se faisant par vis (M2 bien sûr), par l’intérieur de la caisse. Encore une raison pour ne pas fixer les pantos !

Enfin, mais cela a été fait après la prise de la photo ci-dessous, l’extension des pantos a été limitée, comme sur la Série 16 Vitrains, et aussi sur toutes mes locos à pantographes unijambistes LS Models, par des petites cales entre châssis et jambe principale. Cela est visible sur la photo en début d’article.

Résultat

Vue panto levé

Bon. Certes, il manque encore des petits détails que l’on trouverait sur une production récente : porte-lanternes, porte-drapeaux, attaches de plaques de train (« Flèche d’or) », etc. Mais elle me plaît bien quand même. Dommage que Roco n’ait pas sorti la version verte à traverses renforcées, même si ces traverses ont fait l’objet de polémiques… À l’époque, j’avais trouvé que cette transformation avait défiguré cette machine. Ce n’était pourtant que le début : livrée béton, suppression des enjoliveurs, etc. À la fin, elle ne ressemblait plus à rien, elle qui, avec sa sœur 9200, avait été considérée comme la plus esthétique des machines françaises, et pas seulement en France, pour preuve le nombre de reproductions qui en avait été faites !