Intervention on the PCB

Modif circuit

Cut the track marked 7 (see detail on the picture below), and solder a preferably green wire (to comply with the DCC standard) between the left end of the resistor marked 5600 (mark 6) and the side of the tulip pin no.3 of the eight pin NEM socket — from top to bottom, on the left, we first have an orange wire (pin 1), then underneath a yellow wire (pin 2), and finally pin 3 (marked 4). Be careful not to fill it!

Then, and this is the most delicate point, it will be necessary to unsolder the resistor marked 5600 and marked 8 in the photo, because the track is hidden under this resistor, and its neighbor is too close to be able to intervene without risk. Use a desoldering braid to absorb as much tin as possible. If you accidentally remove the lower pad, it does not matter, since it is precisely this part that must be cut out.

You’ll solder a preferably violet wire on this resistor; it may be the decoder’s one itself. But I prefered a separate wire soldered on the decoder’s wire, this connection being protected by a piece of heat-shrink sleeve (mark 5). This is thus possible to disconnect the decoder without directly intervening on the PCB. Attention, resistor side, this wire shouldn’t touch the older track!

Close-up of operations

PCB close-up

Voila. All you have to do now is test the operation, by assigning keys on the remote control to the red lights. If you use a Lenz Silver+ decoder, you may assign only one key, as this decoder allows the red lights reversing, depending on the direction. You will also have access to an extra output for installing cab lighting, for example.

Free supplement

You don’t know the meaning of SMD resistors marking? Here it is revealed: from the n digits, the first n-1 are significant digits, so take them as they are. For example, if the marking is 5600, take 560 as is. The last digit gives the number of zeros to be added to the first digits. Here, no zero is to be added, so it is a 560 Ω resistor. Another example: 473. There are only three digits. The first two give the value 47, to be followed by three zeros, thus 47,000, or 47 kΩ. See also this page.

Intervention sur le circuit imprimé

Modif circuit

Couper la piste repérée 7 (voir détail sur la photo ci-dessous), et souder un fil de préférence vert (pour respecter le standard DCC) entre l’extrémité gauche de la résistance marquée 5600 (repère 6) et le côté de la broche tulipe no 3 de la prise NEM huit broches — de haut en bas, à gauche, nous avons d’abord un fil orange (broche 1), puis en dessous un fil jaune (broche 2), et enfin la broche 3 (repère 4). Attention à ne pas la boucher !

Ensuite, et c’est le point le plus délicat, il va falloir dessouder la résistance marquée 5600 et repérée 8 sur la photo, car la piste est cachée sous cette résistance, et sa voisine est trop rapprochée pour pouvoir intervenir sans risque. Utiliser de préférence une tresse à dessouder pour absorber un maximum d’étain. Si vous arrachez accidentellement la pastille inférieure, ce n’est pas grave, puisque c’est précisément cette partie qu’il faut couper.

Vous souderez un fil de préférence violet sur cette résistance ; cela peut être celui du décodeur lui-même. Mais j’ai préféré un fil séparé et soudé sur celui du décodeur, ce raccordement étant protégé par un morceau de gaine thermorétractable (repère 5). Il y a ainsi moyen de déconnecter le décodeur sans intervenir directement sur le circuit imprimé. Attention, côté résistance, que ce fil ne touche pas l’ancienne piste !

Vue rapprochée des opérations

Décodeur

Voila. Il n’y a plus qu’à tester le fonctionnement, en affectant des touches de la télécommande à l’allumage des feux rouges. Si vous utilisez un Silver+, vous pourrez n’affecter qu’une seule touche en conservant l’inversion de l’allumage des feux rouges en fonction du sens. Vous disposerez aussi d’une sortie supplémentaire pour, par exemple, installer un éclairage de cabine.

Supplément gratuit

Vous ne connaissez pas la signification du marquage des résistances CMS ? Le voici révélé : sur les n chiffres, les n−1 premiers sont des chiffres significatifs, donc à prendre tels quels. Par exemple, si le marquage est 5600, on prend 560. Le dernier chiffre donne le nombre de zéros à ajouter aux premiers chiffres. Ici, aucun zéro n’est à ajouter, donc c’est une résistance de 560 Ω. Autre exemple : 473. Il n’y a que trois chiffres. Les deux premiers donnent la valeur 47, à faire suivre de trois zéros, donc 47 000, soit 47 kΩ. Voir aussi cette page.