BB 12061 profile view

BB 12061 Trix.

Installation of a decoder

The BB 12061 Trix (ref. 22361, era III, blue “monophasé” livery) is equipped with a recent PCB (SMD components and LEDs), but the red lights are wired in parallel with the white lights. It is therefore impossible to turn off the red lights when the machine pulls a train. I also plan to equip it with a Lenz Silver decoder.

Lifting the body

No special problem, except that it is necessary to remove the cab handles (the most difficult will be to reassemble without scratching the paint). First, you unscrew the end hoods (three screws under the chassis, two near the cab and one at the “nose” end. Once these hoods are removed, the cab can be easily removed.

About the hoods, it seems to me, from the many photos I’ve seen, that they’re reversed from reality. Indeed, they are asymmetrical by the “cheek” gills, and these gills should be on the side of the “BB 12061” lateral marking and not that of “SNCF”. I wondered if it was a random error, but the box picture reproduces the same error. Fortunately, the hoods can be swapped without difficulty. This seems all right, but then the transformer tray (between the bogies) is not in the right direction! In fact, it would be necessary to swap… the markings.

See on this subject this Ray Soper’s photo on RailFanEurope.

BB 12131

Where to put the decoder?

I always try to avoid the easy way of installing the decoder in the cab. Moreover, this one is already filled up to the level of the windows.

There is, under the hood opposite the PCB, a plastic plate that seems intended to be exchanged with a decoder. There are two screws and two centering pins, respectively arranged diagonally. But the spacing is probably specific to a Trix decoder. So I removed this plate, cut the pin indicated in no.3, and fixed my Lenz Silver with a single screw (no.2). Pin no.1 is left intact.

Decoder

Don’t make this mistake!

Initially, I had just sticked the decoder on the plastic plate, but it was so tight under the hood that a component marking was printed in the black adhesive sticked under it!

BB 12061 vue de profil

BB 12061 Trix.

Montage d’un décodeur et séparation des feux rouges

La BB 12061 de Trix (réf.  22361, livrée bleu monophasé, ép. III) est équipée d’un circuit imprimé récent (composants et LED CMS), mais les feux rouges sont câblés en parallèle avec les feux blancs. Impossible donc d’éteindre les feux rouges lorsque la machine tire un train. Je prévois aussi de l’équiper d’un décodeur Lenz Silver.

Levage de la caisse

Pas de problème particulier, si ce n’est qu’il faut enlever les mains montoires de cabine (le plus difficile sera de les remonter sans rayer la peinture). On commence par dévisser les capots d’extrémité (trois vis sous le châssis, deux près de la cabine et une à l’extrémité du « nez ». Ces capots ôtés, la cabine s’enlève sans difficulté.

À propos des capots, il me semble, d’après les nombreuses photos que j’ai consultées, qu’ils sont inversés par rapport à la réalité. En effet, ils sont asymétriques au niveau des ouïes des « joues », et ces ouïes devraient être côté marquage latéral « BB 12061 » et non côté « SNCF ». Je me suis demandé si c’était une erreur aléatoire, mais l’illustration de la boîte reproduit la même erreur. Heureusement, les capots peuvent être intervertis sans difficulté. Tout cela est bel et bon, mais le bac à transformateur n’est pas dans le bon sens ! En fait, il faudrait pouvoir retourner… les marquages.

Voir à ce sujet ce cliché de Ray Soper sur RailFanEurope.

BB 12131

Où mettre le décodeur

J’essaie toujours d’éviter la solution de facilité qui consiste à installer le décodeur dans la cabine. D’ailleurs, celle-ci est déjà remplie jusqu’au ras des fenêtres.

Il y a, sous le capot côté opposé au circuit imprimé, une plaquette en plastique qui semble bien attendre un échange avec un décodeur. Il y a deux vis et deux picots de centrage, disposés respectivement en diagonale. Mais l’entraxe est sans doute spécifique à un décodeur Trix. J’ai donc enlevé cette plaquette, coupé le picot indiqué en no 3, et fixé mon Lenz Silver avec une seule vis (no 2). Le picot no 1 est laissé intact.

Décodeur

Erreur à ne pas commettre

Au départ, j’avais simplement collé le décodeur sur la plaquette en plastique, mais il s’est retrouvé si serré sous le capot que le marquage d’un composant s’est imprimé dans l’adhésif noir collé dessous !