Lighting

The LED strip

Once the roof has been disassembled (by two screws and a very light snap), one can find that a slot for a specific strip has been provided. The strip will be sandwiched between the compartment partitions and their counterparts under the roof. Incidentally, these ribs stiffen the roof perfectly. Again, why not have stiffened the top of the body the same way?

The remaining space is 8 mm wide by 0.8 thick. At the body ends, there are bosses obviously provided for snapping the strip. All this imposes practically the dimensions of the strip; it will be 251 mm long × 7.6 mm wide × 0.8 mm thick.

Here is my solution (valid only in digital). Click the image to see the whole circuit, in full size (140 KB PDF).

View of etching mask

View of etching mask

Current pickup

Even if I was in favor of the metal strips rubbing on the axles, this solution seems difficult to apply here, given the complexity and the detailing of the bogies. On the other hand, there are no brass bearings, and the space between the wheel and the guard plate is restricted. I guess REE wanted to conform to reality as close as possible.

I therefore tried a solution à la Roco, with thin plates doubling the bogie flanks and acting as conductive bearings. But this solution must be effective, relatively easy to implement, and should not lead to any additional friction, which would be counterproductive.

Here is the diagram of such a bearing. The bottom shape allows it to come close to the axle box and thus be virtually invisible. The electrical connection will be made from the top.

Dimensions of the bearings

I cut 5 mm wide strips into 0.2 mm thick brass sheet. Every 8 mm (it could have been less), I “stamped” a conical shape, thanks to a pin axle and a matrix formed of a steel plate first drilled with a ø 1.5 mm cylindrical hole whose entrance was flared with a diamond mill bit, to reach approximately a diameter of 2 mm. The conical stamp must be large enough not to float in the bogie housing (to be correctly centered), but not too much to be able to tack properly.

Stamping the bearings

Then the strip is cut into sections according to the diagram, each bearing is shaped, tinned on top…

The cutting tool visible in this picture is one of those that we regret not having known before. This is the Xuron 440 cutting pliers whose primary purpose is to cut photo-etched nickel silver. These are in fact scissors with short blades, very useful to cut thin sheet.

Cutting the bearings

… and glued with cyanoacrylate, inside the guard plate. During this operation, it is held in place by a false axle that can be expanded to fit to the desired length.

Caution: the connecting rods of the brake shoes break like glass. Secondary suspension leaf springs are also very fragile. A bogie can only be held by the frame of the chassis or between two axle boxes.

Positioning the bearings

Cutting pliers for photo-etching
24.80 € - price 2015
Miniatures Passion ref. XUR440

Éclairage

La réglette de leds

Le toit étant démonté (par les deux fameuses vis et un très léger encliquetage), on constate qu’un emplacement pour une réglette spécifique a été prévu. Elle sera prise en sandwich entre les cloisons de compartiments et des contre-cloisons qui leur font face sous le pavillon. Incidemment, ces nervures raidissent parfaitement le toit. Encore une fois, pourquoi ne pas avoir raidi aussi le haut de caisse ?

L’espace restant fait 8 mm de large sur 0,8 d’épaisseur. Au niveau des dossiers, il y a des bossages manifestement prévus pour maintenir la réglette par clipsage. Tout ceci impose pratiquement les dimensions de ladite réglette ; ce sera (L × l × e en mm) : 251 × 7,6 × 0,8.

Voici ma solution (valable seulement en numérique). Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le circuit en entier et en vraie grandeur (PDF 140 Ko).

Vue typon

Vue typon

La prise de courant

Même si j’étais partisan des lamelles frottant sur les axes, cette solution me paraît difficile à appliquer ici, vu la complexité et le détaillage des bogies. D’autre part, il n’y a pas de paliers en laiton, et l’espace entre roue et plaque de garde est restreint. Je suppose que REE a voulu coller au plus près à la réalité.

J’ai donc tenté une solution à la Roco, avec des tôles minces doublant les flancs de bogie et servant de paliers conducteurs. Mais il faut que cette solution soit efficace, relativement facile à mettre en œuvre, et n’introduise pas de frottement supplémentaire, ce qui irait à l’encontre du but recherché.

Voici le plan d’un tel palier. La forme du bas lui permet d’arriver à ras de la boîte d’essieu et d’être ainsi quasi-invisible. Le raccordement électrique se fera par le haut.

Cotes paliers

J’ai découpé des bandes de 5 mm dans une tôle de laiton d’épaisseur 0,2 mm. Tous les 8 mm (c’aurait pu être plus serré), j’ai « embouti » une forme conique, grâce à un axe d’essieu à pointe et à une matrice formée d une plaque d’acier d’abord percée d’un trou cylindrique ø 1,5 mm dont l’entrée a été évasée avec une fraise diamantée, pour atteindre à peu près le diamètre 2 mm. Il faut que l’embouti conique soit assez grand pour ne pas flotter dans le logement du bogie (question de centrage), mais pas trop pour pouvoir se plaquer correctement.

Emboutissage paliers

Il reste ensuite à débiter cette bande en tronçons suivant le plan, à mettre chaque palier en forme, à l’étamer vers le haut…

L’outil de découpe visible sur cette photo est de ceux que l’on regrette de ne pas avoir connus plus tôt. Il s’agit de la pince coupante Xuron 440 dont l’utilité première est de découper le maillechort photogravé. Ce sont en fait des ciseaux à lames courtes, très pratiques pour couper de la tôle fine.

Découpe paliers

… et à le coller, à la cyanoacrylate, à l’intérieur de la plaque de garde. Pendant cette opération, il est maintenu en place par un faux axe (deux demi-axes manchonnés) extensible pour s’adapter à la longueur voulue.

Attention : les barres de liaison des sabots de frein cassent comme du verre. Les ressorts à pincette de suspension secondaire sont aussi très fragiles. On ne peut tenir un bogie que par le cadre du châssis ou entre deux boîtes d’essieu.

Positionnement paliers

Pince coupante pour photodécoupe
24,80 € — prix 2015
Miniatures Passion réf. XUR440