The problem of height

The dimensionned diagram indicates that the actual car height is 3940 mm, i.e. 45.3 mm to scale. It can be seen that the REE model is missing almost 1 mm in height at the roof: the model’s height is only 44,4 mm. At the level of couplings and buffers, the chassis is too low by about 0.5 mm from NEM 303 — it is actually at the lower limit of the standard — which is probably more troublesome for operation than the lack of overall height. And, in fact, the coupler tends to unhook, as it leans downwards (the NEM casing has a reduced bottom wall, which does not help to hold the head).

Curiously, on some forum, many agree that it is the DEV AO cars of a competing brand that are too high. These have certainly many defects, including their price, but their height is almost correct (45.5 compared0 to 45.3 to scale).

You’ll say, no problem, just put 0.5 mm thick washers on the pivots… Nay, it would be too simple! REE has provided spherical ball-and-socket joints for the pivots as well as for its bogie tanks. This choice is certainly sophisticated, but embarrassing: did you get washers shaped like a spherical bowl?

Of course, there are bosses on one side to have a 2-point suspension. They have however the fault of raising (very slightly) the chassis on their side.

One — half good — solution

On the side of the bosses, it is not very complicated: it is enough to glue 0.5 mm thick wedges on the bogies, at the location of the bosses.

On the opposite side, we must find a solution which retains as much as possible the 1-point suspension, that is to say that allows a rotation of the body in the longitudinal axis (roll).

First, we must find out the spacing between the body chassis and the bogie chassis. By successive tests, I found a value of 3.5 mm.

I made rectangular wedges in 1 mm thick plastic card, maximum width 6.8 mm (this is the space between the two inner bogie beams), height 3.5 mm. The upper side is rounded to allow rolling. On the other hand, this provision impedes the freedom of the bogie in pitching; the most satisfactory solution would be to cut the pivot pin on the chassis side and thicken it. Tough job! In fact, not that much: see below.

Dimensions of vertical wedge

Raising wedges

There is another disadvantage to this solution: there is no more limitation in pivoting of the bogie, because the stop is now too short.

Here’s what it looks like in front of a LS Models post office car, which has a height exact to within 0.2 mm. The bellows are practically at the same height, as well as the buffers and the coupling heads. For the latter, the remaining shift is due to the fact that the NEM box is tilted downwards at REE, and upwards at LSM! Unfortunately there remains a space of about a millimeter between bellows.

Buffers and couplers

According to the standard, the retraction of the NEM box from the bellows must be 7.5 mm. On the LSM car it is 7.8 mm, while it is only 7.0 mm on the REE. I do not quite understand why REE has provided heads that are supposedly long in addition, while its short heads are not short enough, and that a tight coupling could have been done thanks to the spring buffers!

Someone told on the Loco Revue forum that after shortening the drawbars, he had noticed a buffer mess when crossing a curve followed by a counter-curve (turnouts). One should try by blocking the buffers back from the plane of the bellows.

Two years after: the (better) solution

In some cases, there are derailments due at least partly to the pseudo 1-point suspension. Moreover, as already seen, this wedge could prove to be troublesome on the beginning of a slope. So I’ll try to maintain the current spherical ball bearing, but by raising it. What made me hesitate is that we must cut level with the frame, with risks of damaging the reliefs.

Now, I noticed that sawing was possible with a circular saw blade, provided that the blade screw head is not more than 1 mm high. So I grinded that head. Another condition: the disc must be less than 20 mm in diameter, and must be as thin as possible (mine is 1/10 mm). Finally, it is necessary to operate at low speed to prevent the plastic from melting.

Cutting the ball pivot

Click the image to see the details.

The rising wedge should be about 0.75 mm thick. It will be made of polystyrene to be glued with model glue. Indeed, considering the method that we will see below, I want to avoid cyanoacrylate or epoxy glue, which would be however stronger, but which would possibly block the assembly.

So the wedge is cut into a 0.75 mm Evergreen card, with a ø 4.5 mm punch, and then drilled in the center with a diameter of 1.6 mm. A 1.5 mm brass tube (or other metallic round bar) is mounted in the mandrel of the mini-drill. The car is installed in the vice. The position of the tube is adjusted with the XY table to be exactly above the pivot hole.

Pivot parts with the thickening wedge

Click the image to see the details.

The ball pivot is slipped onto the brass tube, coated with glue, then the wedge meets it, also coated with glue, and the whole is lowered until it leans on the chassis. The mini-drill is locked in position (see Stand enhancements) during the time required for the glue to dry. This method makes it possible to obtain the best possible alignment for the assembled parts.

Gluing the pivot

Click the image to see the details.

The bogie can then be reassembled (not without having cut the old wedge — that of the not so good solution — for me), without too much tightening the screw for fear of unsticking the ball bearing.

I took advantage of this procedure to shorten the drawbar boxes by 0.5 mm to conform to the NEM standard for the distance between buffers and bellows.

To hold the coupling heads in their new position, I drilled horizontally through the NEM box and the coupling tail at 0.6 mm diameter and inserted a small nickel silver pin. Why horizontally? Because the REE NEM box has high and low walls that are not opposite to each other, as can be seen in this picture, and it was therefore impossible to properly hold a pin in a vertical position.

Shortened NEM box

I finally glued the buffers in the plane of the bellows, to avoid the buffer mess often observed.

Testing

Performed on my Fleischmann test layout with unlikely curves (Rmin = 356 mm). Test train set: the two DEV cars at the head of a convoy composed in addition with a Vru (dining car) LS Models and four Heris USI cars very brakers in these tight curves. Observation: it passes the curves except for one configuration, in pushing, for which a bogie derails. But I suspect the connection wires of the lighting (see page 4), poorly tidied and which are somewhat opposed to free rotation.

It will therefore be necessary for me to rectify the route of these wires before they go into the body of the car.

Le problème de la hauteur

La voiture réelle a une hauteur de 3 940 mm, soit 45,3 mm au 1:87. On s’aperçoit qu’il manque au modèle REE presque 1 mm en hauteur au pavillon : le modèle fait 44,4 mm. Au niveau des attelages et des tampons, le châssis est trop bas d’environ 0,5 mm par rapport à la norme NEM 303 — il est en fait à la limite inférieure de la norme — ce qui est sans doute plus gênant pour le fonctionnement que le manque de hauteur totale. Et, de fait, l’attelage a tendance à se décrocher, d’autant plus qu’il penche vers le bas (le boîtier NEM a une paroi inférieure réduite, ce qui n’arrange pas le maintien de la tête).

Curieusement, sur certain forum, beaucoup s’accordent pour dire que ce sont les DEV AO d’une marque concurrente qui sont trop hautes. Celles-ci ont certes de nombreux défauts, dont leur prix, mais leur hauteur est quasi correcte (45,5 pour 45,3 à l’échelle).

Vous me direz, pas de problème, il suffit de mettre des rondelles de 0,5 mm sur les pivots… Que nenni, ce serait trop simple ! REE a prévu des articulations de type rotule sphérique pour les pivots, comme pour ses citernes à bogies. Ce choix est certes sophistiqué, mais gênant pour notre problème : vous avez des rondelles en forme de cuvette sphérique, vous ?

Bien entendu, il y a d’un côté des bossages pour avoir une portée en deux points. Ils ont cependant le défaut de relever (très légèrement) le châssis de leur côté. Noter que de ce côté, la rotule est strictement inutile, puisqu’elle ne porte pas !

Une — à moitié bonne — solution

Côté bossages, ce n’est pas bien compliqué : il suffit de coller des cales de 0,5 mm sur les bogies, à l’emplacement des portées.

Côté opposé, il faut trouver une solution qui conserve autant que possible la portée en 1 point, c’est-à-dire qui permette une rotation de la caisse dans l’axe longitudinal (roulis).

Il faut d’abord déterminer quel doit être l’espacement entre châssis de caisse et châssis de bogie. Par essais successifs, j’ai trouvé une valeur de 3,5 mm.

J’ai fabriqué des cales rectangulaires en carte plastique ép. 1 mm, largeur maximale 6,8 mm (c’est l’espace entre les deux longerons intérieurs de bogie), hauteur 3,5 mm donc. Le côté supérieur est arrondi pour permettre le roulis. En revanche, cette disposition gêne la liberté du bogie en tangage ; la solution la plus satisfaisante serait de découper le pivot à rotule côté châssis et de l’épaissir. Bonjour le boulot ! En fait, pas tant que ça : voir plus bas.

Cotes cale verticale

Cales de rehausse

Il y a un autre inconvénient à cette solution : il n’y a plus de limitation en pivotement du bogie, car la butée dont c’est le rôle est maintenant trop courte.

Voici ce que cela donne face à une voiture postale de LS Models qui, elle, a une hauteur conforme à 0,2 mm près. Les soufflets sont pratiquement à la même hauteur, ainsi que les tampons et les têtes d’attelage. Pour ces dernières, le décalage restant est dû au fait que le boîtier NEM est incliné vers le bas chez REE, et vers le haut chez LSM ! Il reste malheureusement un espace d’un bon millimètre entre soufflets.

Tamponnement et attelage

Selon la norme, le retrait du boîtier NEM par rapport au soufflet doit être de 7,5 mm. Sur la voiture LSM, il est de 7,8 mm, alors qu’il est de 7,0 mm seulement sur la REE. Je ne comprends pas très bien pourquoi REE a fourni des têtes prétendument longues en supplément, alors que ses têtes dites courtes ne le sont pas assez, et qu’un attelage un peu serré aurait pu se faire grâce aux tampons à ressorts !

Quelqu’un a indiqué sur le forum Loco Revue qu’après avoir raccourci les timons, il avait constaté un mariage de tampons au franchissement d’une courbe suivie d’une contre-courbe (aiguillages). Il faudrait essayer en bloquant les tampons en retrait du plan des soufflets.

Deux ans après : la (meilleure) solution

Dans certains cas, il y a des déraillements dus au moins en partie à la pseudo portée en un point. De plus, comme déjà vu, cette cale pourrait s’avérer gênante sur l’amorce d’une rampe. Je vais donc essayer de maintenir la rotule actuelle, mais en la rehaussant. Ce qui me faisait hésiter, c’est qu’il faut couper à ras du châssis, avec des risques de détérioration des reliefs.

Or j’ai constaté que le sciage était possible avec une lame de scie circulaire, à condition que la tête de vis de fixation de la lame ne fasse pas plus de 1 mm de haut. J’ai donc meulé cette tête. Autre condition : le disque doit avoir un diamètre inférieur à 20 mm, et être le plus mince possible (le mien fait 1/10 mm). Enfin, il faut opérer à faible vitesse pour éviter de faire fondre le plastique.

Découpe du pivot à rotule

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir les détails.

La cale de rehausse doit avoir une épaisseur d’environ 0,75 mm. Elle sera en poly­styrène pour être collée à la colle à maquettes. En effet, vue la méthode que l’on va voir ci-dessous, je veux éviter la cyanoacrylate ou l’époxy, qui seraient pourtant plus résistantes, mais qui risqueraient de bloquer le montage.

La cale est donc découpée dans une carte Evergreen de 0,75 mm, à l’emporte-pièce ø 4,5 mm, puis percée en son centre au diamètre 1,6 mm. Un tube de laiton (ou tout autre rond métallique) ø 1,5 mm est monté dans le mandrin de la mini-perceuse. La voiture est installée dans l’étau. La position du tube est ajustée avec la table XY pour être exactement au-dessus du trou du pivot.

Pièces du pivot avec cale d’épaisseur

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir les détails.

La rotule est enfilée sur le tube laiton, encollée, puis la cale la rejoint, elle-même encollée, et l’ensemble est descendu en appui sur le châssis. La mini-perceuse est bloquée en position (voir améliorations du support) le temps de laisser sécher la colle. Cette méthode permet d’obtenir le meilleur alignement possible pour les pièces assemblées.

Collage du pivot

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir les détails.

Le bogie peut ensuite être remonté (non sans avoir coupé l’ancienne cale — celle de la pas trop bonne solution — en ce qui me concerne), sans trop serrer la vis de peur de décoller la rotule.

J’ai profité de cette intervention pour raccourcir les boîtiers de timons de 0,5 mm, de façon à les rendre conformes à la NEM concernant la distance boîtier-tampons/soufflets.

Pour maintenir les têtes d’attelage dans leur nouvelle position, j’ai percé horizontalement à travers le boîtier NEM et la queue d’attelage au diamètre 0,6, et inséré une petite goupille en maillechort. Pourquoi horizontalement ? Parce que le boîtier NEM REE a des parois haute et basse qui ne sont pas en face l’une de l’autre, comme on peut le voir sur cette photo, et qu’il était donc impossible d’y faire tenir correctement une goupille.

Boîtier NEM raccourci

J’ai enfin collé les tampons dans le plan des soufflets, pour éviter les mariages de tampons souvent constatés.

Test du fonctionnement

Effectué sur mon circuit d’essai Fleischmann aux courbes improbables (Rmin = 356 mm). Rame d’essai : les deux voitures DEV en tête d’un convoi composé en plus d’une Vru LS Models et de quatre USI Heris très freineuses dans ces courbes serrées. Constatation : ça passe à l’exception d’une configuration, en pousse, pour laquelle un bogie déraille. Mais je soupçonne les fils de liaison de l’éclairage (voir page 4), mal remis en place et qui s’opposent quelque peu à la libre rotation.

Il va donc falloir que je rectifie le parcours de ces fils avant leur entrée dans la caisse.

Résultat visuel

Voici une photo d’une DEV attelée à la voiture-restaurant ex-CIWL 3345 de LS Models. Il y a encore un léger jour entre les soufflets, mais les hauteurs sont parfaitement compatibles. La hauteur des attelages, en revanche, ne l’est pas !

Tamponnement et attelage avec restaurant CIWL

Pince emporte-pièce
pour trous ø 2,0 à 4,5 mm
chez leroymerlin.fr