B10 DEV AO U50 car profile view

REE B10 DEV AO U50 car.

As expected, REE offers very attractive, detailed models, for a relatively moderate price. As for the details, let’s mention the towing hooks under the steps, the skirt pannels handles, the brake bleed pulls, and, inside, the luggage racks ans the mirrors in the compartments.

On the other hand, they have defects that I think are difficult to forgive.

Incorrigibles mistakes

Small windows are badly positioned

The small windows between platforms and compartments are offset towards the latter. This error was spotted by Renato on the Loco-Revue Forum. Here is an illustration of the facts:

Comparison DEV

Note: do not deduct anything on the dimensions in height, the vertical view angle not being exactly the same on both photos.

This kind of error is not permissible on a modern model. This is not a detail, but a very visible feature of the car. It is very difficult to modify by the amateur (cutting, gluing, filling, painting). If one accepts this, one can accept anything and one is reduced to the notion of toy, and no longer of model.

I recall that some models have been shot for less than that (for example, the Roco 72000 first release).

Junction between body and roof

Let’s also talk about the lack of quality of the junction between body and roof. Not only is it wavy, but there are a lot of plastic burrs that do not help…

DEV REE body-roof junction

But why did not REE, like their competitors, provide ribs along the body as well as reinforcing cross-members? Well, because they molded the body and the chassis together, and it would have been impossible to mold such a piece with reinforcements! Would not it have been smarter then to make a separate chassis and a single piece for the body and the roof? There would have been no junction problem in this case! I understand that the goal was to have the thinnest wall possible, to get the thinnest possible window panes, therefore more realistic! There was a simple solution: make between body and roof an assembly by groove (roof) and tongue (body) along the whole length , and a little deeper than what was done.

So too harsh a judgment? Maybe, but as my teacher of 6th grade French said, tapping our fingers with a (flat) ruler: “qui bene amat bene castigat”.

Voiture B10 DEV AO U50 vue de profil

Voiture B10 DEV AO U50 REE.

Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, REE nous propose des modèles très flatteurs, très détaillés, pour un prix relativement modéré. Concernant les détails, citons les crochets de halage sous les marchepieds, les poignées de panneaux de jupes rapportées, les tirettes de purge de freins, et, à l’intérieur, les porte-bagages et les miroirs dans les compartiments.

En revanche, ils présentent des défauts à mon avis difficilement pardonnables.

Les erreurs incorrigibles

Les petites fenêtres sont mal positionnées

Les petites fenêtres, entre les plateformes et les compartiments, sont décalées vers ces derniers. Cette erreur a été repérée par Renato sur le Forum Loco-Revue. Voici une illustration des faits :

Comparaison DEV REE

NB : ne rien déduire sur les cotes en hauteur, l’angle vertical de prise
de vue n’étant pas exactement le même sur les deux photos.

Ce genre d’erreur n’est pas admissible sur un modèle moderne. Il ne s’agit pas là d’un détail, mais d’une caractéristique bien visible de la voiture. Ce n’est que très difficilement modifiable par l’amateur (découpe, collage, masticage, remise en peinture). Si on accepte cela, on peut accepter n’importe quoi et on est ramené à la notion de jouet, et non plus de modèle réduit.

Je rappelle qu’on a « descendu » des modèles pour moins que ça (par exemple, la 72000 Roco première mouture).

Jonction caisse-toit

Pendant qu’on y est, parlons aussi du défaut de qualité de la jonction caisse-toit. Non seulement elle est ondulée, mais il y a pas mal de bavures de plastique qui n’arrangent rien…

Comparaison DEV REE

Mais pourquoi, chez REE, n’ont-il pas prévu, comme leurs concurrents, des nervures le long de la caisse ainsi que des traverses de renfort ? Eh bien parce qu’ils ont moulé la caisse et le châssis ensemble, et qu’il aurait été impossible de mouler une telle pièce avec des renforts ! N’aurait-il pas été alors plus intelligent de faire un châssis séparé et une pièce unique pour la caisse et le toit ? Il n’y aurait eu aucun problème de jonction dans ce cas ! Je crois savoir que le but était d’avoir la paroi la plus mince possible, pour des vitrages aussi très minces et donc plus réalistes ! Il y avait une solution simple : faire entre caisse et toit un assemblage par rainure (toit) et languette (caisse) sur toute la longueur, et un peu plus profond que ce qui a été fait.

Alors, jugement trop sévère ? Peut-être, mais, comme disait mon prof’ de français de 6e, en nous tapant sur les doigts avec un double décimètre (à plat !) : « qui bene amat bene castigat ».