Record 64

Here we enter the modernity of the Slot Racing! The cars have a direction articulated like a real one, that is to say with parallelogram. Unfortunately, the electrical design was, as always with Jouef, very spartan (and has become more and more). Bad contacts, accelerators whose wires were breaking, a lot of DIY was necessary,!

In fact, this circuit “belonged” to my brother, but we were obviously playing together. Better, joining our circuit to that of our friends, it became a super circuit! We had taken care to mark our tracks so that we could find ours when the game was over…

The Record 64 (released as the name indicates in 1964) had competitors: chronologically, Scalextric (England) in 1957 and Circuit 24 (France) in 1961. There were many others, see the Wikipedia article. See also the sites Rétro64 and Le petit musée Jouef.

Record 64

This circuit still exists (2013). It does not even miss the track staples. But the car motors (Mercedes, Matra) are very tired! Only the Jaguar still looks good.

At the beginning of 2014, I rehabilitated the circuit: thorough cleaning of the tracks, grinding of the rails, which were very dirty or even oxidized, repair of electrical connections and throttles, the plastic of which is very worn, changes of motor magnets, of rear tires of the Jaguar and the Matra (one of the Mercedes has no more motor, the other one has its rotor out of service, winding cut).

In early 2017, I equipped both Mercedes with cheap Mitsumi motors. I did not go in for subtleties, cutting the back part of the Jouef motors, the one that supports the axle, to stick it with superglue on the new motor. It was necessary to adapt the motor axis diameter (from 1.5 to 1.8 mm), with a brass tube, also glued. Thus equipped, the cars run a little less quickly, but much more silently, and, above all, they run!

MITSUMI miniature 12V DC motor, 2 axis outputs,
3,64 € per five, free shipping,
at eBay.

Record 64

Ici, on entre dans la modernité du « Slot Racing » ! Les voitures ont une direction articulée comme une vraie, c’est-à-dire avec parallélogramme. Malheureusement, la conception électrique était, comme toujours chez Jouef, très spartiate (et l’est devenue de plus en plus). Mauvais contacts, accélérateurs dont les fils se cassaient, il en a fallu, du bricolage !

En fait, ce circuit « appartenait » à mon frère, mais nous jouions évidemment ensemble. Mieux, en joignant notre circuit à celui de nos copains, cela faisait un super circuit ! Nous avions pris soin de marquer nos pistes pour que chacun retrouve ses petits…

Les concurrents du Record 64, apparu comme son nom l’indique en 1964, sont, chronologi­quement, Scalextric (Angleterre) en 1957 et Circuit 24 (France) en 1961. Il y en a eu bien d’autres, voir l’article Wikipédia. Voir aussi les sites Rétro64 et Le petit musée Jouef.

Record 64

Ce circuit existe toujours (2013). Il ne manque même pas les agrafes de pistes. Mais les moteurs des voitures (Mercedes, Matra) sont bien fatigués ! Seule la Jaguar fait encore bonne figure.

Début 2014, j’ai réhabilité ce circuit : nettoyage en profondeur des pistes, meulage des rails qui étaient très encrassés voire oxydés, réparation des connexions électriques et des poignées d’accélérateurs dont le plastique est très usé, changement des aimants, des frotteurs et des pneus arrière de la Jaguar et de la Matra (une des Mercedes n’a plus de moteur, l’autre a son rotor HS, bobinage coupé).

Début 2017, j’ai équipé les deux Mercedes avec des moteurs Mitsumi bon marché. Je n’ai pas fait dans la dentelle, en coupant la partie arrière des moteurs Jouef, celle qui supporte l’essieu, pour la coller à la cyanoacrylate sur le nouveau moteur. Il a fallu adapter le diamètre d’axe moteur (de 1,5 à 1,8 mm), avec un tube de laiton, lui aussi collé. Ainsi équipées, les autos roulent un peu moins vite, mais beaucoup plus silencieusement, et, surtout, elles roulent !

Moteur miniature MITSUMI 12V CC, 2 sorties d’axe,
3,64 € les cinq, livraison gratuite,
sur eBay.