Unic Izoard primeur Brekina

Unic Esterel primeur

Anonymous photo on blog de magnum31gb.

Brand - Reference

Brekina 85501

Type

Unic Izoard ZU 122 of 1959

Comments

What strikes first is the bending of the chassis behind the cab. It turns out that it is the box wedging that produces this, because the chassis beams are very weak. Once the lorry is out of the box, the chassis will roughly return to its proper shape.

At first glance, the whole thing is OK except the very bright tarpaulin and unpainted wheels. But there are big plastic burrs at the top of the windscreen, and the steering wheel is way too thick.

Unic Izoard Brekina windscreen view

Moreover, this windscreen should be in two parts, even if the central upright is very discreet. The bottom of the headlights is not silver, which makes them very dark, as it is almost always the case. The cab is unpainted except for the wings and bonnet front. It lacks chrome on the strip above the headlights.

Two mirrors are provided, to mount, as well as a rear hitch hook. No rear licence plate holder.

This lorry disassembles very easily, nothing is glued, a good point if you want to change or repaint something. There are two locations to assemble the chassis and the cab, which suggests that longer or shorter chassis versions are to come.

Here is the picture of the disassembled vehicle.

Unic Izoard Brekina démonté

If you know German, or with the use (at your own risk!) of the Google translation, you can read the article of m087.de, which is rather critical on this model.

Modifications

Burrs above the windscreen removed. Steering wheel changed (thinner, black). Strip over headlights silvered.

History

Quotation of roadmaster-087.

Introduced in 1956, the Izoard will know several versions, ZU 120, ZU 121, ZU 122, ZU 123 with powers of 150, 160, 180 hp, and even the ZU 221 in 1964 which will receive a V8 225 hp engine in a first time before going to 270 hp in 1966 and be mounted on cab-over.

In-line 6 cylinder engine, 9840 cm³, 160 hp (possible 195 hp with turbocharger). Top speed: 75 km/h. Tyres 12.00-20 X or 6.20.

On the “primeur” (vegetable transport), the “capucine” (part of van above the cab) was used to store the empty crates for the return, leaving room for loading on the bed.

Translation trial of the Brekina box leaflet.

UNIC ZU 122 Izoard

UNIC was one of the major international players in commercial vehicles before the French brand was merged in 1976 into the Iveco group.

Our model dates back to the year 1954, when the newly developed UNIC ZU series lorry was introduced with a modern bonnet cab. The distinctive shape of this vehicle is due to the designer Philippe Charbonneaux. UNIC describes the line as “semi cab-over”. In fact, the cab was located — for a very unusual bonnet — almost on the front axle. There were two bonnet lengths depending on the length of the 4 and 6-cylinder engines. Our model is the long version with a six-cylinder engine of 9.8 litres, the most powerful version, designed for a total weight of 19 t. It features fashionable double headlamps, introduced in 1957 on the ZU 121. With this cab come the names of French landscapes, mountain passes and mountains. The heavy cab has since received the series name Izoard, after the Col de l’Izoard, located in the Southern French Alps at an altitude of 2361 m. In 1959, a new revision takes place, the high-end model “lzoard” is now 160 hp and is named ZU 122. After a deep facelift in 1962 and a technical revision with new diesel V8 engines, the series lasted until the end of UNIC production in 1976.

Documents:

Unic Izoard primeur BrekinaUnic Izoard primeur Brekina

Unic Esterel primeur

Anonymous photo on blog de magnum31gb.

Dimension 1 Actual 1:87 Model
Chassis length 8 590 2 98.7 95.4
Cab length 3 305 3 38.0 38.5
Cab width 2 400 27.6 27.7
Cab height 2 635 30.3 30.0
Side beam height 1 095 12.6 11.8
Wheelbase 5 100 58.6 57.8
Front track 1 996 22.9 23.0
Rear track 1 865 21.4 23.0
Wheel diameter 1 110 4 12.7 12.6
Tyre width 300 3.4 3.2
  1. Source : unic-center.ch
  2. Standard chassis; other chassis : short, 7 590 ; long, 9 670.
  3. Sleeper cab.
  4. Approximative value.

Unic Izoard primeur Brekina

Unic Esterel primeur

Cliché anonyme sur blog de magnum31gb.

Marque - Référence

Brekina 85501

Type

Unic Izoard ZU 122 de 1959

Commentaires

Ce qui frappe d’abord, c’est le pliage du châssis derrière la cabine. Il se trouve que c’est le calage dans la boîte qui produit cela, car les longerons du châssis sont très faibles. Une fois le camion sorti de la boîte, le châssis reprend à peu près sa forme correcte.

À première vue, l’ensemble est correct, sauf la bâche très brillante et les roues non peintes. Mais il y a de grosses bavures de plastique en haut du pare-brise, et le volant est beaucoup trop épais.

Unic Izoard Brekina vue du pare-brise

D’ailleurs, ce pare-brise devrait être en deux parties, même si le montant central est très discret. Le fond des phares n’est pas argenté, ce qui les rend très sombres, comme presque toujours. La cabine n’est pas peinte, sauf les ailes et l’avant du capot. Il manque le chromage sur la baguette au dessus des phares.

Deux rétroviseurs sont fournis, avec miroir, à monter, ainsi qu’un crochet d’attelage arrière. Pas de support de plaque d’immatriculation arrière.

Ce camion se démonte très facilement, rien n’est collé, un bon point si l’on veut modifier ou repeindre quelque chose. Il y a deux emplacements pour assembler le châssis et la cabine, ce qui laisse supposer des versions à châssis plus ou moins long par la suite.

Voici la photo du véhicule démonté.

Unic Izoard Brekina démonté

Si on connaît l’allemand, ou avec l’utilisation (à ses risques et périls !) de la traduction Google, on peut lire l’article de m087.de, qui est assez critique sur ce modèle.

Modifications

Bavures au dessus du pare-brise enlevées. Volant changé (plus mince, noir). Baguette au dessus des phares argentée.

Historique

Citation de roadmaster-087.

Présenté en 1956, l’Izoard connaîtra plusieurs versions, ZU 120, ZU 121, ZU 122, ZU 123 avec des puissances de 150, 160, 180 ch, et même le ZU 221 en 1964 qui va recevoir un moteur V8 de 225 ch dans un premier temps avant de passer à 270 ch en 1966 et être monté sur les cabines avancées.

Moteur 6 cylindres en ligne, 9840 cm3, 160 ch (possibilité de 195 ch avec turbocompresseur). Vitesse maxi : 75 km/h. Pneus 12.00-20 X ou 6,20.

Sur les « primeur », la « capucine » au-dessus de la cabine servait à stocker les cageots vides pour le retour, en laissant la place libre pour un chargement sur le plateau.

Essai de traduction de la notice Brekina qui se trouve sur la boîte.

UNIC ZU 122 Izoard
UNIC a fait partie des grands acteurs internationaux des véhicules commerciaux avant que la marque française ne soit fusionnée en 1976 dans le groupe Iveco.
Notre modèle remonte à l’année 1954, lorsque le camion UNIC série ZU nouvellement développé a été présenté avec une cabine à capot moderne. La forme distinctive de ce véhicule est due au designer Philippe Charbonneaux. UNIC décrit la ligne comme « cabine semi-avancée ». En fait, la cabine était située — pour un capot très inhabituel — presque sur l’essieu avant. Il y avait deux longueurs de capot selon la longueur des moteurs de 4 et 6 cylindres. Notre modèle correspond à la version longue avec moteur six cylindres de 9,8 litres, la version la plus performante, conçue pour un poids total de 19 t. Il dispose de phares doubles à la mode, introduits en 1957 sur le ZU 121. Avec cette cabine arrivent les noms de paysages français, cols et montagnes. La cabine lourde a reçu dès lors le nom de série Izoard,d’après le Col de l’Izoard, situé dans les Alpes françaises du Sud à l’altitude de 2361 m. En 1959, une nouvelle révision a lieu, le modèle haut de gamme « lzoard » fait maintenant 160 ch et est nommé ZU 122. Après un lifting en profondeur en 1962 et une révision technique avec de nouveaux moteurs V8 diesel, la série a duré jusqu’à la fin de la production UNIC en 1976.

Documents :

Unic Izoard primeur Brekina

Unic Esterel primeur

Cliché anonyme sur blog de magnum31gb.

Cote 1 Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur châssis 8 590 2 98,7 95,4
Longueur cabine 3 305 3 38,0 38,5
Largeur cabine 2 400 27,6 27,7
Hauteur cabine 2 635 30,3 30,0
Hauteur longerons 1 095 12,6 11,8
Empattement 5 100 58,6 57,8
Voie avant 1 996 22,9 23,0
Voie arrière 1 865 21,4 23,0
Diamètre roues 1 110 4 12,7 12,6
Largeur pneus 300 3,4 3,2
  1. Source : unic-center.ch
  2. Châssis normal ; autres châssis : court, 7590 ; long, 9670.
  3. Cabine couchette.
  4. Valeur approximative.