Renault-Saviem Galion Narwag-Norev

Renault-Saviem Galion

Photo Traveller Dave on travellerdave.co.uk.

Brand - Reference

Narwag-Norev 518580 (grey) et 518581 (light blue)

Type

Renault Galion 1947

Comments

Overall correctness and good respect of the scale, except a concern on the overall length. Unpainted body (the tarpaulin is painted). Transparent headlights inserted, tail lights painted. Thermoformed windscreen.

The artillery type rims are well reproduced; they are not very visible, since they are black, but it is consistent. The radiator grille is very finely reproduced. The cab is furnished: seats, dashboard, steering wheel quite fine.

Some details that annoy: the tyres are irregular (flats on the flanks). There are no door panes. No mirrors either. The headlights are translucent but dark (no reflector) and are too prominent. The radiator grille doesn’t have the right number of bars (1 more); it had been reported by a member of the Loco Revue forum, perhaps too late… Finally, there are moulding irregularities under the right front wing, under the gutter, on the tarpaulin (for both copies).

On the grey copy, the bed doesn’t hold because of the fixing pins that can not fit into their housing. However, it is easy to remedy (see Modifications). It’s still Norev for manufacturing quality…

Finally, there is unfortunately a drawing error: the lower front corner of the door windows is almost sharp, while it should be much more rounded. In view of three-quarter front, this distorts the aspect, without one can say why at first. Pity.

In a comparable price range, the REE Panhard is still clearly above.

Modifications

Bed placed into the correct position on the grey model by boring the mortises, under the bed, at ø 1.4 or 1.5 mm.

History

The Galion was produced from 1947 to 1957 under the Renault brand and until 1965 under the Saviem brand.

Features (model date?): four-cylinder in-line engine, Diesel 1997 cm³ 39 kW (53 hp). Also existed as a gasoline engine. Top speed 69 km/h. Unladen weight 2,300 kg; GVW (gross vehicle weight) 4,900 kg.

Documents:

Renault-Saviem Galion 2500 kgRenault-Saviem Galion 2500 kg

Renault-Saviem Galion 2500 kgRenault-Saviem Galion 2500 kg

Renault-Saviem Galion

Photo Traveller Dave on travellerdave.co.uk.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 5 240 1 60.2 61.7
Cab width 1 980 22.8 22.4
Cab height 2 430 2 27.9 27.6
Tarpolin height 2 610 2 30.0 29.2
Wheelbase 2 440 28.0 27.7
Front track 1 600 18.4 19.0
Rear track 1 530 17.6 17.8
Wheel diameter 890 10.2 10.3
Tyre width 190 2.2 2.0
  1. With bed.
  2. Unladen.

Renault-Saviem Galion Narwag-Norev

Renault-Saviem Galion

Cliché Traveller Dave sur travellerdave.co.uk.

Marque - Référence

Narwag-Norev 518580 (gris) et 518581 (bleu clair)

Type

Renault Galion 1947

Commentaires

Allure générale correcte et bon respect de l’échelle, sauf un souci sur la longueur hors tout. Caisse non peinte (la bache l’est). Phares transparents rapportés, feux arrière peints. Pare-brise en thermoformé.

Les jantes type artillerie sont bien reproduites ; elles ne sont pas très visibles, puisqu’elles sont noires, mais c’est conforme. La grille de radiateur est très finement reproduite. La cabine est aménagée : sièges, tableau de bord, volant assez fin.

Les détails qui fâchent : les pneus sont irréguliers (méplats sur les flancs). Il n’y a pas de vitres de portes. Pas non plus de rétroviseurs. Les phares sont translucides mais sombres (pas de réflecteur) et sont trop proéminents. La grille de radiateur n’a pas le bon nombre de barres (1 de plus); cela avait pourtant été signalé par un membre du forum Loco Revue, peut-être trop tard… Enfin, il y a des irrégularités de moulage sous l’aile avant droite, sous la gouttière, sur la bâche (pour les deux exemplaires).

Sur l’exemplaire gris, le plateau ne tient pas, à cause des pions de fixation qui ne peuvent pas rentrer dans leur logement. Il est cependant facile d’y remédier (voir Modifications). C’est quand même bien du Norev pour la qualité de fabrication…

Enfin, il y a malheureusement une erreur de dessin : le coin avant bas des fenêtres de portes est à angle presque vif, alors qu’il devrait être nettement plus arrondi. En vue de trois-quart avant, cela fausse l’aspect, sans que l’on puisse dire pourquoi au premier abord. Dommage.

Dans une gamme de prix comparable, le Panhard REE est quand même nettement au dessus.

Modifications

Plateau remis en position correcte sur l’exemplaire gris par alésage des mortaises, sous le plateau, à ø 1,4 ou 1,5.

Historique

Le Galion a été produit de 1947 à 1957 sous la marque Renault puis jusqu’en 1965 sous la marque Saviem.

Caractéristiques (date modèle ?) : moteur quatre cylindres en ligne, Diesel 1997 cm3, 39 kW (53 ch). Existait aussi en moteur à essence. Vitesse maximale 69 km/h. PV : 2 300 kg ; PTC 4 900 kg.

Documents :

Renault-Saviem Galion 2500 kg

Renault-Saviem Galion

Cliché Traveller Dave sur travellerdave.co.uk.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur HT 5 240 1 60,2 61,7
Largeur cabine 1 980 22,8 22,4
Hauteur cabine 2 430 2 27,9 27,6
Hauteur bache 2 610 2 30,0 29,2
Empattement 2 440 28,0 27,7
Voie avant 1 600 18,4 19,0
Voie arrière 1 530 17,6 17,8
Diamètre roues 890 10,2 10,3
Largeur pneus 190 2,2 2,0
  1. Avec plateau.
  2. À vide.