Poclain TY45 Wespe

Poclain TY 45

Photo P.poschadel on wikimedia.

Brand - Reference

Wespe Models 87065


Hydraulic wheeled shovel Poclain TY 45


Moulded in resin. The jib swivels (with difficulty) and is articulated. On the other hand, the wheels don't roll.

From a distance, it looks nice, and it is much thinner than the following TC 45. The cab is furnished (seat and control levers, a little big). The bucket is articulated, and the hydraulic connections are rather thin. But…

As is often the case with resin models, the traces of moulding are quite visible (but despite everything, this moulding is of much better quality than that of the Haxo Griffet crane, produced as a kit and much more expensive). The assembly of the parts is approximate: the rear part of the chassis leans down, and its stabilizers are not painted. The turret, fixed by a large Phillips head screw, is crooked. The hydraulic jacks’ rods are simple iron wires vaguely wound on an axle. The decals are put crooked. The cab door should be red.

Without boasting, I think I would have done better mounting it by myself! It will be necessary to replace the articulation axles and the jack rods by brass or nickel silver rods, and perhaps the hydraulic connections in flexible material, which act as springs and prevent to set the jib at will, by wrapping wire.


The TY 45 is the best known Poclain hydraulic shovel. This machine was released in 1961, with a lot of demonstrations to the press and television. According to the generationdeux website, more than 15,000 units were sold.

Dates of manufacture: first series from 1961 to 1967; second series from 1967 to 1976.


Poclain TY45 Wespe

Poclain TY 45

Photo P.poschadel on wikimedia.

Poclain TY45 equipmentPoclain TY45 equipment

Extract from the Poclain TY 45 instruction booklet.

Poclain TY45 Wespe

Poclain TY 45

Cliché P.poschadel sur wikimedia.

Marque - Référence

Wespe Models 87065

Type

Pelle hydraulique sur roues Poclain TY 45

Commentaires

Moulée en résine. La flèche tourne (difficilement) et est articulée. En revanche, les roues ne tournent pas.

Vue de loin, elle a l’air sympa, et elle est beaucoup plus fine que la TC 45 qui suit. La cabine est aménagée (siège et leviers de commande, un peu gros). La benne preneuse est articulée, et les raccords hydrauliques sont assez fins. Mais…

Comme souvent sur les maquettes en résine, les traces de moulage sont assez visibles (mais malgré tout, ce moulage est de bien meilleure qualité que celui de la grue Griffet Haxo, produit en kit et beaucoup plus cher). Le montage des pièces est approximatif : la partie AR du châssis penche vers le bas, et ses stabilisateurs ne sont pas peints. La tourelle, fixée par une grosse vis cruciforme à tête fraisée, est de travers. Les tiges de vérins hydrauliques sont de simples fils de fer vaguement enroulés sur un axe. Les décalcomanies sont posées de travers. La porte de cabine devrait être rouge.

Sans me vanter, je crois que j’aurais fait mieux en la montant moi-même ! Il faudra remplacer les axes d’articulation et les tiges de vérins par des tiges en laiton ou maillechort, et peut-être les raccords hydrauliques en matière souple, qui font ressort et empêchent de disposer la flèche à volonté, par du fil de wrapping.

Historique

La TY 45 est la pelle hydraulique Poclain la plus connue. Cette machine est sortie en 1961, à grand renfort de démonstrations à la presse et à la télévision. D’après le site generationdeux, elle a été vendue à plus de 15000 exemplaires.

Dates de fabrication : première série de 1961 à 1967 ; deuxième série de 1967 à 1976.

Documents :

Poclain TY45 Wespe

Poclain TY 45

Cliché P.poschadel sur wikimedia.

Équipement Poclain TY 45

Extrait de la notice de la Poclain TY 45.