Morgan Plus 8 Busch

Morgan Plus 8

Photo dave_7 on en.wikipedia.org.

Brand - Reference

Busch 47115

Type

Morgan Plus 8 1969.

Comments

Unpainted model (except the wings). Although it is not obvious, there are two different shades of red, the darkest on the wings. Wing mirrors are delivered in parts to be assembled. But, actually, the mirrors are mounted on the doors, and indicators are on the wings at the planned location of mirrors.

The scale is rather 1:84.

The tyres seem far too wide — in fact, it’s mostly the difference between the diameter, too small, and the width, a bit too big, that gives this impression. In addition, a rear tyre has a big hernia: it’s not wise to ride with such a powerful car and such a defective tyre!

The grille is roughly represented and the headlights are much too small. Let’s not talk about joins between parts.

Model not really good.

History

The Morgan Plus 8 succeeded the 4 in 1968 by receiving a Rover V8 engine.

Features (1968 model): V-shaped eight-cylinder engine, 3532 cm³, 125 kW (170 hp). 185/70 VR tyres 15. Top speed 210 km/h.

Here is an attempt to translate the Busch notice sheet.

Founded in 1909 by Harry Frederick Morgan Stanley, the British car factory Morgan Motor Company is the only company in the world that still uses ash wood in sports car construction. This manufacturing technique dates back to the early days of automotive construction and has survived to this day. After the death of the founder in 1959, his son Peter Morgan took over management and continued the policy of the house with great consistency; the Morgan Plus 8 was released under his direction. This noble jewel was presented to the public in October 1968 at the London Motor Show. The biggest difference from its predecessor, the Plus 4, was the 8-cylinder engine […].

The bodywork has hardly changed, except for the wing integrated headlights — the new price was DM 16,192.00 in 1968. The still private company is headed by Charles Morgan of the third generation. In 2009, it celebrated its 100th birthday and will continue to delight its fan base with its beautiful vehicles. At least some 1,000 cars are built each year, giving the company a turnover of about 48 million euros, the second biggest market for this brand being Germany.

Documents:

Morgan Plus 8 BuschMorgan Plus 8 Busch

Morgan Plus 8

Photo dave_7 on en.wikipedia.org.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Length 3 708 42.6 44.2
Width 1 460 16.8 17.5
Height 1 321 15.2 14.9
Wheelbase 2 489 28.6 28.3
Front track 1 219 14.0 15.0
Rear track 1 270 14.6 15.0
Wheel diameter 640 7.4 7.0
Tyre width 185 2.1 2.4

Morgan Plus 8 Busch

Morgan Plus 8

Cliché dave_7 sur en.wikipedia.org.

Marque - Référence

Busch 47115

Type

Morgan Plus 8 1969.

Commentaires

Modèle non peint (sauf les ailes). Bien que ce ne soit pas évident, il y a deux rouges différents, le plus foncé sur les ailes. Des rétroviseurs d’ailes sont livrés en pièces à monter. Mais, en réalité, les rétroviseurs sont montés sur les portes, et des clignotants se trouvent sur les ailes aux endroits prévus.

L’échelle est plutôt de 1:84.

Les pneus me paraissent beaucoup trop larges — en fait, c’est surtout la différence entre le diamètre, trop petit, et la largeur, un peu trop grande, qui donne cette impression. De plus, un pneu arrière a une grosse hernie : peu prudent de rouler ainsi avec une voiture aussi puissante !

La grille de calandre est représentée de façon plutôt grossière, et les phares sont nettement trop petits. Ne parlons pas des joints entre les pièces.

Modèle pas vraiment réussi.

Historique

La Morgan Plus 8 a succédé à la 4 en 1968 en recevant un moteur V8 Rover.

Caractéristiques (modèle 1968) : moteur huit cylindres en V, 3532 cm3, 125 kW (170 ch). Pneus 185/70 VR 15. Vitesse max. 210 km/h.

Voici une tentative de traduction de la notice Busch.

Fondée en 1909 par Harry Frederick Morgan Stanley, la fabrique britannique d’automobiles Morgan Motor Company est la seule entreprise dans le monde qui utilise encore le bois de frêne dans la construction de voitures de sport. Cette technique de fabrication remonte aux débuts de la construction automobile et a survécu jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Après la mort du fondateur en 1959, son fils Peter Morgan a repris la direction et a continué la politique de la maison avec une grande cohérence ; donc c’est sous sa direction qu’est sortie la Morgan Plus 8. C’est en octobre 1968 au Salon automobile de Londres que ce noble bijou a été présenté au public. La différence la plus importante par rapport à son prédécesseur, la Plus 4, était le moteur 8 cylindres […].

La carrosserie n’a presque pas changé, sauf pour les phares intégrés dans les ailes —  le nouveau prix était de 16,192.00 DM en 1968. La société toujours privée est dirigée par Charles Morgan de la troisième génération. En 2009 elle a célébré son 100e anniversaire et continuera à ravir sa base de fans avec ses magnifiques véhicules. Au moins quelque 1000 voitures sont construites par an, ce qui donne un chiffre d’affaires d’environ 48 millions d’euros pour la société, le deuxième plus grand marché pour cette marque étant l’Allemagne.

Documents :

Morgan Plus 8 Busch

Morgan Plus 8

Cliché dave_7 sur en.wikipedia.org.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur 3 708 42,6 44,2
Largeur 1 460 16,8 17,5
Hauteur 1 321 15,2 14,9
Empattement 2 489 28,6 28,3
Voie avant 1 219 14,0 15,0
Voie arrière 1 270 14,6 15,0
Diamètre roues 640 7,4 7,0
Largeur pneus 185 2,1 2,4