Profile view of the car

DU65 No. 5M 154 reference REE MB-072, here equipped with modified Herpa and other characters.

Electrical findings

The current pickup is done on the inside of the wheels. The strips are very flexible. Attention in case of disassembly: you have to check the position of these strips with respect to the wheels. Chance of short circuit!

The cab is lighted by default.

Current

Before running-in, at 12 V DC, the car consumes 32 mA at slipping and 150 mA motor blocked.

Assembly and test of the decoder

Before installing the decoder, it is necessary to remove the analogue plug, and it is rather delicate. The connector has a large retention force, and the entire circuit board tends to come with the plug. Very thin LED wires could be broken.

I chose (if we can say, because the type of decoder is practically imposed) the Zimo MX630P16 decoder, Plux16 interface, no sound. Testing and programming will be done on a test track with the ESU LokProgrammer. The original operation before any intervention on the decoder is as follows:

It is impossible to switch off the cab lighting (tried with F3 to F19!)

In white lighting, I see as another person on the Loco-Revue forum that the headlights are more or less weak depending on the angle of vision. Explanation: the two-colour LEDs are slightly offset, arranged horizontally, and set back from the surface of the optics. As the light-emitting junctions are not in the axis, and especially the white ones, the white junction is half masked by the strapping of the headlight in oblique view. Personally, on the BB 63500 Roco I equipped, I arranged the LEDs vertically, just to prevent the headlights from “squinting”.

Desired operation

Lighting

For lighting, I wish if possible to control the red lights with the only F1 key, with reversal depending on the direction of travel, and the cabin by F2. This in order to keep substantially the same controls as on most of my models.

I also wish to be able to switch off all the lights on the coupled side, regardless of the direction of travel. I find this function very useful. It avoids, in case of change of direction, the following gymnastics:

  1. turn off the white lights;
  2. reverse the direction;
  3. turn on the red lights.

When this function is activated, these three operations are done in only one: reverse the travel direction.

Setting the decoder

Maximum speed

The real machine is limited to 70 km/h. CV5 = 210 gives 84 km/h in forward direction and 77 km/h in reverse (still without running in). The motor is noisy in the forward direction.

Cab lighting by F2

With some testing, I found that the cab lighting is wired on the FO5 output in Zimo terminology (it would be AUX3 at ESU).

The decoder manual tells us that the FO5 and FO6 outputs are assigned by default to the SUSI interface (§ 3.25, page 33, English edition). To assign them to the logic outputs, we must set the CV124’s bit7. So, add the value 128 (27) to the previous value of CV124 which was 3:

CV124 = 128 + 3 = 131.

Now the cab lighting doesn’t work anymore! This is normal: you have to assign a function key. I want to control it by F2, whose CV is CV36:

CV36 = 64

Explanation: the value 64 is found in the Zimo table for FO5 output. In fact, this table value is the number of the bit to set, which is far from being obvious when reading the document (§ 3.14, p. 24)! We find 6, which gives 26 = 64.

Output selection table

Note that the outputs are sometimes called FAn, sometimes FOn… Probably a hesitation between the ‘A’ of German Ausgang and the ‘O’ of English Output!

Turn on all red lights with the same key

Currently, the front red lights (FO1 output) are lit by F1 and the rear ones (FO2 output) by F2. I want to free F2 for cab lighting (see above).

I therefore assign both outputs to the same F1 key whose CV is CV35.

CV35 = 4 (for FO1) + 8 (for FO2) = 12.

Now all the red lights come on at the same time!

Here’s how to make this operation direction dependent. CV127 must contain the number of the output that will be activated in forward; CV128 must contain the number of the output that will be activated in reverse:

CV127 = 2 for FO2 output (rear red lights).

CV128 = 1 for FO1 output (front red lights).

The F1 key is now directional.

Turn off all lights on the same side

As already mentioned, I want to turn off all the front lights by F3 or all the rear lights by F4. CV107 and CV108 are responsible for this function.

The F3 and F4 keys must first be reset, since they must not control any output:

CV37 = 0

CV38 = 0

Note: using CV107 and CV108 (so by setting a value other than 0), we systematically switch off the white lights on the side concerned. The setting is to specify what other outputs should be switched off in addition.

To turn off the front lights, the CV concerned is CV107.

We have to multiply the number of the output concerned (namely FO1, front red lights) by 32 and add the number of the key to be assigned, namely F3.

CV107 = 1 × 32 + 3 = 35.

Explanation: “1” is the number of the FO1 output; “3” is the number of the key to assign, namely F3.

To turn off the rear lights, the CV concerned is CV108. Same principle, therefore:

CV108 = 2 × 32 + 4 = 68.

Explanation: “2” is the number of the FO2 output (red rear lights); “4” is the number of the key to assign, namely F4.

Here we are. Now, you turn on the white lights by F0, the red ones by F1. They all reverse depending on the direction of travel. If you couple a wagon to the back, press F4. The corresponding lights turn off. In the forward direction, only the front white lights will be on; in reverse, only the front red will be on.

Dimming certain lights without influencing others

The dimming is done by CV60, which affects all the outputs. It is possible to specify the outputs not to be dimmed in CV114. For example, to avoid dimming the cab lighting wired on the FO5 output, write:

CV114 = 2664, according to this correspondence table:

Output FF FR FO1 FO2 FO3 FO4 FO5 FO6
Bit 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Value to add in CV114 1 2 4 8 16 32 64 128

Just add the values ​​of all the outputs to be excluded from the dimming.

For example, for the “early morning” photo below, I had to use a long exposure, and as a result the white lights were “burnt”. I applied a high attenuation (10 for a maximum of 255). But then the cab was not lighted enough to see the characters. So I excluded the latter from dimming as explained above.

Nocturnal view of the car

Draisine de profil

Draisine DU65 no 5M 154 référence REE MB-072,
ici équipée de personnages Herpa modifiés et autres.

Constatations électriques

La prise de courant se fait sur l’intérieur des roues. Les lamelles sont très souples. Attention en cas de démontage : il faut bien vérifier la position de ces lamelles par rapport aux roues. Risque de court-circuit !

La cabine est allumée par défaut.

Courants

Avant rodage, sous 12 V DC, la draisine consomme 32 mA au patinage et 150 mA moteur bloqué.

Montage et test du décodeur

Avant d’installer le décodeur, il faut retirer le « bouchon » (dummy) analogique, et c’est assez délicat. Le connecteur a une force de rétention importante, et tout le circuit imprimé a tendance à venir avec le bouchon. Les fils très fins de liaison aux LED risquent d’être arrachés.

J’ai choisi (si l’on peut dire, car le type de décodeur est pratiquement imposé) le décodeur Zimo MX630P16, interface Plux16, non sonorisé. Les essais et la programmation vont se faire sur une voie de test avec le LokProgrammer ESU. Le fonctionnement d’origine, avant toute intervention sur le décodeur est le suivant :

Il est impossible d’éteindre l’éclairage de cabine (essayé avec F3 à F19 !)

En éclairage blanc, je constate comme une autre personne sur le forum Loco-Revue que les phares sont plus ou moins faibles suivant l’angle de vision. Explication : les LED bicolores sont légèrement décalées, disposées horizontalement, et assez en retrait par rapport à la surface de l’optique. Comme les jonctions émettrices de lumière ne sont pas dans l’axe, et surtout les blanches, la jonction blanche est à moitié masquée par le cerclage du phare en vue oblique. Personnellement, sur la BB 63500 Roco que j’ai équipée, j’ai disposé les LED verticalement, justement pour éviter que les phares « louchent »

Fonctionnement souhaité

Éclairage

Pour l’éclairage, je souhaite si possible commander les feux rouges avec la seule touche F1, avec inversion en fonction du sens de marche, et la cabine par F2. Ceci de façon à conserver sensiblement les mêmes commandes que sur la plupart de mes modèles.

Je souhaite aussi pouvoir couper tous les feux côté attelé, quel que soit le sens de marche. Je trouve que cette fonction est bien pratique. Elle évite, en cas de changement de sens, la gymnastique suivante :

  1. éteindre les blancs ;
  2. inverser le sens ;
  3. allumer les rouges.

Lorsque cette fonction est activée, ces trois opérations se font en une seule : inverser le sens de marche.

Réglages du décodeur

Vitesse maximale

L’engin réel est limité à 70 km/h. CV5 = 210 donne 84 km/h en marche avant et 77 km/h en marche arrière (toujours sans rodage). Le moteur est bruyant en marche avant.

Éclairage cabine par F2

Suite à des tests, j’ai trouvé que l’éclairage cabine est câblé sur la sortie FO5 suivant la terminologie Zimo (ce serait AUX3 chez ESU).

Le manuel du décodeur nous apprend que les sorties FO5 et FO6 sont affectées par défaut à l’interface SUSI (§ 3.25, p. 33, édition anglaise). Pour les affecter aux sorties logiques, il faut mettre le bit7 de CV124 à 1. Ajoutons donc la valeur 128 (27) à la valeur précédente de CV124 qui était 3 :

CV124 = 128 + 3 = 131.

Maintenant, l’éclairage cabine ne fonctionne plus du tout ! C’est normal : il faut lui affecter une touche de fonction. Je veux donc le commander par F2, dont la CV est CV36 :

CV36 = 64

Explication : on trouve la valeur 64 dans le tableau de Zimo pour la sortie FO5. En fait, cette valeur du tableau est le numéro du bit à mettre à 1, ce qui est loin d’être évident lorsqu’on lit la doc (§ 3.14, p. 24) ! On trouve 6, ce qui donne 26 = 64.

Tableau de sélection des sorties

Remarquez que les sorties sont appelées parfois FAn, parfois FOn… Probablement une hésitation entre le ‘A’ de l’allemand Ausgang et le ‘O’ de l’anglais Output !

Allumer tous les feux rouges avec la même touche

Actuellement, les rouges avant (sortie FO1) sont allumés par F1 et les rouges arrière (sortie FO2) par F2. Je veux libérer F2 pour l’éclairage cabine (voir ci-dessus).

J’affecte donc les deux sorties à la même touche F1 dont la CV est CV35.

CV35 = 4 (pour FO1) + 8 (pour FO2) = 12.

Maintenant, tous les feux rouges s’allument en même temps !

Voici comment rendre ceci dépendant du sens de marche. CV127 doit contenir le numéro de la sortie qui sera activée en marche avant ; CV128 doit contenir le numéro de la sortie qui sera activée en marche arrière :

CV127 = 2 pour la sortie FO2 (feux rouges arrière).

CV128 = 1 pour la sortie FO1 (feux rouges avant).

La touche F1 est maintenant directionnelle.

Éteindre tous les feux du même côté

Comme déjà indiqué, je veux éteindre tous les feux avant par F3 ou tous les feux arrière par F4. Ce sont CV107 et CV108 qui sont chargées de cette fonction.

Il faut d’abord attribuer la valeur 0 aux touches F3 et F4, car elles ne doivent commander aucune sortie :

CV37 = 0

CV38 = 0

NB : en utilisant CV107 et CV108 (donc en y plaçant une valeur différente de 0), on coupe systématiquement les feux blancs du côté concerné. Le réglage consiste à préciser quelles autres sorties il faut couper en plus.

Pour éteindre les feux avant, la CV concernée est CV107.

Il faut multiplier le numéro de la sortie concernée (ici, FO1, feux rouges avant) par 32 et ajouter le numéro de la touche à affecter, ici F3.

CV107 = 1 × 32 + 3 = 35.

Explication : « 1 » est le numéro de la sortie FO1 ; « 3 » est le numéro de la touche à affecter F3.

Pour éteindre les feux arrière, la CV concernée est CV108. Même principe, donc :

CV108 = 2 × 32 + 4 = 68.

Explication : « 2 » est le numéro de la sortie FO2 (feux rouges arrière) ; « 4 » est le numéro de la touche à affecter F4.

Voilà. Maintenant, vous allumez les blancs par F0, les rouges par F1. Ils s’inversent tous en fonction du sens de marche. Si vous attelez un wagon à l’arrière, appuyez sur F4. Les feux arrière s’éteignent. En marche avant, seuls les blancs avant seront allumés ; en marche arrière, seuls les rouges avant seront allumés.

Atténuer les feux sans influencer d’autres sorties

L’atténuation (« dimming ») se fait par CV60, qui affecte toutes les sorties. Il est possible de spécifier les sorties à ne pas atténuer dans CV114. Par exemple, pour ne pas atténuer l’éclairage cabine câblé sur la sortie FO5, il faut écrire :

CV114 = 2664, selon ce tableau de correspondance :

Sortie FF FR FO1 FO2 FO3 FO4 FO5 FO6
Bit 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Valeur à ajouter dans CV114 1 2 4 8 16 32 64 128

Il suffit d’additionner les valeurs de toutes les sorties à exclure du « dimming ».

Par exemple, pour la photo « au petit matin » ci-dessous, j’ai dû utiliser une pose longue, et par conséquent les feux blancs étaient « cramés  ». J’ai appliqué une forte atténuation (10 pour un maximum de 255). Mais alors, la cabine n’était plus assez éclairée pour voir les personnages. J’ai donc exclu cette dernière du « dimming » comme expliqué ci-dessus.

Draisine en nocturne