Internal operation of a decoder

Diagram of a commercial decoder

This is the LD-G-5 model of Tams Elektronik GmbH, a German brand. I chose the this decoder example because its internal electrical diagram is published by its manufacturer, which is rare, and because this diagram is quite simple and perfectly illustrates the generic operation of a DCC decoder. Here is the diagram.

Electrical diagram of a decoder

Everything colored green on this diagram has been added by me to make the operation explanations easier, without going into details however.

First, the green rectangles delimit numbered functional subsets which I will explain later. Then, I drew the motor connection (the circle with an underlined M) and an LED connection to an auxiliary output.

As the diagram is not necessarily very readable, here are some clarifications. The two leftmost terminals are to be connected to the track (red and black wires). The terminal above, from which I drew a green line marked Vcc, is the positive common (blue wire). The two terminals at the top right are the motor terminals (orange and gray wires). Finally, the bottom right three terminals are the auxiliary outputs (white, yellow and green wires).

Deciphering the diagram

Let us transform this rather complex diagram into a functional diagram, also called block diagram.

Decoder bloc diagram

Normally, since all details are removed, it should look much clearer! Here is the explanation for each block.

Block ① is the rectifier. As everybody knows, the DCC current into the track is alternating, formed by rectangular waves. However, the electronics must be supplied with direct current, hence the need for this rectifier. The continuous nature of the resulting current is further improved by the capacitor C2 visible in the detailed diagram. The voltage obtained is applied to two different blocks: ② and ④.

The block ② is used to supply a voltage adapted to the microcontroller ③. Indeed, the latter requires a voltage of approximately 5 V, whereas the rectified DCC voltage can range from 14 V to more than 20 V (which is not recommended).

The microcontroller ③ thus receives this voltage, but also a signal coming directly from the track: it is the DCC code itself which will give commands to the microcontroller, such as: accelerate, light the front lights, etc. In fact, all the decoder complexity is programmed here.

Block ④ is the power unit of the decoder: it receives the rectified voltage and a control signal coming from the microcontroller. It drives the motor with an “H-bridge”, a term that derives from its appearance (see the H drawn in the detail diagram). In this circuit, only two transistors (acting as switches) can conduct simultaneously: the one in the top left with the one in the bottom right, which gives the first direction of rotation (first diagram); the one at the top right with the one at the bottom left, which gives the opposite direction of rotation (second diagram). In these diagrams, the current flow is indicated by red lines. The rotation speed depends on the conduction time of these transistors with respect to their non-conduction time. This is called duty cycle: a small duty cycle will give a low speed, and a large one will give a high speed. To the limit, if the transistors conduct all the time, the duty cycle is equal to 1 and the motor receives the full rectified voltage.

Finally, the blocks ⑤ purpose (there are three on this decoder) is to amplify the current of the auxiliary logical outputs, here by means of NPN transistors. It may be assumed that, on more recent decoders, use is made of MOS transistors.

H-bridge, direction 1 rotation

H-bridge, direction 2 rotation

Strictly speaking, the duty cycle is the ratio between
the conduction time tC and the sum of the conduction
and non-conduction times:
Rcy = tC / (tC + tNC).
It can therefore vary between 0 (if tC = 0) and 1 (if tNC) = 0).

Fonctionnement interne d’un décodeur

Schéma d’un décodeur du commerce

Il s’agit du modèle LD-G-5 de la marque allemande Tams Elektronik GmbH. J’ai choisi l’exemple de ce décodeur parce que son schéma électrique interne est publié par son fabricant, ce qui est rare, et que ce schéma est assez simple et illustre parfaitement le fonctionnement générique d’un décodeur DCC. Voici ce schéma.

Schéma électrique d’un décodeur

Tout ce qui est colorié en vert sur ce schéma a été ajouté par moi pour faciliter les explications sur le fonctionnement, sans toutefois rentrer dans les détails.

D’abord, les rectangles verts délimitent des sous-ensembles fonctionnels numé­rotés que je vais expliciter plus loin. Ensuite, j’ai dessiné le raccordement d’un moteur (le cercle avec un M souligné) et d’une LED sur une sortie auxiliaire.

Comme le schéma n’est pas forcément très lisible, voici quelques éclaircisse­ments. Les deux bornes les plus à gauche sont à raccorder aux rails (fils rouge et noir). La borne au dessus, à partir de laquelle j’ai dessiné un trait vert repéré Vcc, est le commun positif (fil bleu). Les deux bornes en haut à droite sont celles du moteur (fils orange et gris). Enfin, les trois en bas à droite sont celles des sorties auxiliaires (fils blanc, jaune et vert).

Décryptage du schéma

Transformons ce schéma un peu complexe en schéma fonctionnel, appelé aussi schéma bloc.

Schéma bloc du décodeur

Normalement, puisque tous les détails sont supprimés, cela devrait paraître beaucoup plus clair ! Voici les explication concernant chaque bloc.

En ① se trouve le redresseur. Comme chacun le sait, le courant DCC circulant dans la voie est alternatif, formé de créneaux rectangulaires. Or l’électronique doit être alimentée en courant continu, d’où la nécessité de ce redresseur. La nature continue du courant obtenu est encore améliorée par le condensateur C2 visible sur le schéma détaillé. La tension obtenue est appliquée à deux blocs différents : ② et ④.

Le bloc ② sert à fournir une tension adaptée au microcontrôleur ③. En effet, ce dernier réclame une tension de 5 V environ, alors que la tension DCC redressée peut aller de 14 V à plus de 20 V (ce qui n’est pas recommandé).

Le microcontrôleur ③ reçoit donc cette tension, mais aussi un signal venant directement de la voie : c’est le code DCC proprement dit qui donnera des ordres au microcontrôleur, tels que : accélérer, allumer les feux avant, etc. En réalité, toute la complexité du décodeur se trouve programmée ici.

Le bloc ④ est l’organe de puissance du décodeur : il reçoit la tension redressée et un signal de commande venant du microcontrôleur. Il pilote le moteur grâce à un « pont en H », terme qui découle de son aspect (voir le H dessiné sur le schéma de détail). Dans ce circuit, seuls deux transistors (jouant le rôle d’interrupteurs) peuvent conduire simultanément : celui en haut à gauche avec celui en bas à droite, ce qui donne le premier sens de rotation (premier schéma) ; celui en haut à droite avec celui en bas à gauche, ce qui donne le sens de rotation opposé (second schéma). Dans ces schémas, la circulation du courant est indiquée par les traits rouges. La vitesse de rotation dépend, elle, du temps de conduction de ces transistors par rapport à leur temps de non-conduction. C’est ce que l’on nomme rapport cyclique : un faible rapport cyclique donnera une petite vitesse, et un grand donnera une grande vitesse. À la limite, si les transistors conduisent tout le temps, le rapport cyclique vaut 1 et le moteur reçoit la pleine tension redressée.

Enfin, les blocs ⑤ (il y en a trois sur ce décodeur) servent à amplifier le courant des sorties logiques auxiliaires, avec ici des transistors NPN. On peut supposer que, sur des décodeurs plus récents, il est fait usage de transistors MOS.

Pont en H, rotation sens 1

Pont en H, rotation sens 2

En toute rigueur, le rapport cyclique est le rapport
entre le temps de conduction tC et la somme des
temps de conduction et de non-conduction :
Rcy = tC / (tC + tNC).
Il peut donc varier entre 0 (si tC = 0) et 1 (si tNC = 0).