Application to ESU decoders Lokpilot et Loksound

Wiring of amplified outputs

In ESU decoders, as for all other brands, because the DCC standard imposes this, the amplified outputs are active at low level. This is why all wiring diagrams show receivers directly connected to the positive common (blue wire when it exists). Okay, in the example below, the front and rear lights are connected to loco housing, to the chassis, but they could be connected to the blue wire too.

Wiring example, Lokpilot V4.0 decoder

Wiring of unamplified outputs (logical)

For unamplified outputs, this is a mystery. ESU doesn’t indicate their active state nor, as already mentioned, their maximum current, nor their logical levels. This is where my little research on the Internet comes in, notably on the Loco Revue Numérique et Digital forum (funny title for that matter, since it's the same thing!), on page Fonctions AUX décodeur ESU et Zimo. According to the given diagrams, one with MOS transistor, the other with NPN bipolar transistor, the logic outputs are active at high level. I restore the two diagrams, using symbols a little more standardized!

According to a German forum diagram, the bipolar transistor circuit operates with base resistors of 4.7 kΩ. By neglecting voltage drops, this implies a maximum output current of around 1 mA, assuming that these outputs high level is 5 V (see below). If the operating circuit doesn’t consume more than this current, it will therefore be possible not to use a transistor and directly connect the circuit to the output, according to the third diagram opposite.

Attention: in Lokpilot V4.0, the common positive (blue) is directly accessible, but not the negative, which is on a soldering pad; in Lokpilot Micro, the two commons are on soldering pad. With the AUX1 and AUX2 outputs, there will be in this case four micro-soldering to make!

N-MOS transistor control

N-MOS transistor control.

Bipolar transistor control

Bipolar transistor control.

Direct control

Direct control without transistor.

But it is not over!

To calculate the resistance to put into the circuit of the LED, if there is of course an LED, we must know the output logical high level. If the output comes directly from the microcontroller that equips the decoder, it is likely that this voltage is 5 V or less, because most microcontrollers operate under this voltage. And to be sure, there is only one way: to measure it. Something I will not fail to do… on occasion.

The opportunity occured: test of the output AUX3

Having a free ESO Lokpilot 4.0 decoder with 21MTC connector, I was able to test the famous logical outputs. For this, I have prepared a 1.27 mm pitch two row male connector on which I soldered the minimum number of wires. This is small: you have to carefully solder the wires and make sure there are no contacts between the pins. Here is the wiring diagram, with the six wires needed to test the AUX3 output.

AUX3 output test diagram

The terminal numbers are those of the 21-pin connector. It is necessary to connect a resistor to the motor output so that the decoder can operate. Here is the decoder equipped with the connector.

Decoder connector

General view of the test assembly. The decoder is gently tightened into the vise to prevent it from moving. The two wire grips are connected to the Lokprogrammer, which allows to configure the function keys and control the AUX3 output level.

Test set assembly

Test results

The output voltage is actually 5 V. The internal resistance is approximately 20 Ω. The test was carried out with a current of 6.4 mA without any problem. So a current of at least 5 mA could be used without worrying. With a 1 kΩ series resistance, a 3 V forward voltage LED will consume 2 mA. The detailed test flow is recorded in a PDF document which can be consulted here (in French).

Application aux décodeurs ESU Lokpilot et Loksound

Câblage des sorties amplifiées

Dans ces décodeurs, comme d’ailleurs pour toutes les autres marques, car c’est la norme DCC qui l’impose, les sorties amplifiées sont actives au niveau bas. C’est pourquoi tous les schémas de câblage montrent des récepteurs directement reliés au commun positif (fil bleu lorsqu’il existe). Bon, d’accord, dans l’exemple ci-dessous, les fanaux avant et arrière sont connectés à loco housing, au châssis, mais ils pourraient l’être aussi au fil bleu.

Exemple de câblage, décodeur Lokpilot V4.0

Câblage des sorties non amplifiées (dites logiques)

Pour les sorties non amplifiées, c’est le mystère. ESU n’indique ni leur état actif, ni, comme déjà mentionné, leur courant maximal, ni non plus leurs niveaux logiques. C’est ici qu’intervient ma petite recherche sur Internet, notamment sur le forum Loco Revue Numérique et Digital (drôle de titre d’ailleurs, puisque c’est la même chose !), à la page Fonctions AUX décodeur ESU et Zimo. Si l’on se fie aux schémas donnés, l’un avec transistor MOS, l’autre avec transistor bipolaire NPN, les sorties logiques sont actives au niveau haut. Je redonne ci-contre les deux schémas, en utilisant des symboles un peu plus normalisés !

D’après le croquis issu d’un forum allemand, le circuit à transistor bipolaire fonctionne avec des résistances de base de 4,7 kΩ. En négligeant les chutes de tension, cela implique un courant maximal de sortie de l’ordre de 1 mA, dans l’hypothèse où le niveau logique haut de ces sorties est de 5 V (voir plus bas). Si le circuit d’utilisation ne consomme pas plus que ce courant, on pourra donc se passer de transistor et brancher directement le circuit sur la sortie, selon le troisième schéma ci-contre.

Attention : sur le Lokpilot V4.0, le commun positif (bleu) est accessible directement, mais pas le négatif, qui est sur une plage à souder ; sur le Lokpilot Micro, les deux communs sont sur des plages à souder. Avec les sorties AUX1 et AUX2, il y aura dans ce cas quatre micro-soudures à réaliser !

Commande par transistor MOS canal N

Commande par transistor MOS canal N.

Commande par transistor bipolaire

Commande par transistor bipolaire NPN.

Commande directe

Commande directe sans transistor.

Mais ce n’est pas fini !

Pour calculer la résistance à mettre dans le circuit de la LED, si LED il y a bien entendu, il faut connaître le niveau logique haut de la sortie. Si elle provient directement du microcontrôleur qui équipe le décodeur, il est probable que cette tension soit de 5 V, voire moins, car la plupart des microcontrôleurs fonctionnent sous cette tension. Et pour s’en assurer, il n’y a qu’un moyen : la mesurer. Chose que je ne manquerai pas de faire… à l’occasion.

L’occasion s’est présentée : test de la sortie AUX3

Ayant un décodeur ESU Lokpilot 4.0 libre avec connecteur 21MTC, j’ai pu tester les fameuses sorties logiques. Pour cela, j’ai préparé un connecteur mâle à deux rangées au pas de 1,27 mm sur lequel j’ai soudé un minimum de fils. C’est petit : il faut soigner les soudures et vérifier qu’il n’y a pas de contacts entre les broches. Voici le schéma de branchement, avec les six fils nécessaires pour tester la sortie AUX3.

Schéma de test de la sortie AUX3

Les numéros de bornes sont ceux du connecteur à 21 broches. Il est nécessaire de connecter une résistance à la sortie moteur car, sans cela, le décodeur ne fonctionne pas. Voici le décodeur équipé du connecteur.

Connecteur du décodeur

Vue générale du montage de test. Le décodeur est maintenu en douceur dans l’étau pour éviter qu’il se promène. Les deux grippe-fils sont reliés au Lokprogrammer qui permet de configurer les touches de fonction, puis de commander le niveau de la sortie AUX3.

Ensemble du montage d’essai

Résultats du test

La tension de sortie est bien de 5 V. La résistance interne est de 20 Ω environ. Le test a été réalisé avec un courant de 6,4 mA sans aucun problème. On peut donc tabler sans souci sur au moins 5 mA. Avec une résistance en série de 1 kΩ, une LED ayant une tension directe de 3 V consommera 2 mA. Le déroulement détaillé du test est consigné dans un document PDF consultable ici.