What's bred in the bone comes out in the flesh! Electricity is my basic job, and sometimes I find on the web let’s say inaccuracies… Here you will find some notions or tricks on subjects that made me react. My goal is to be fairly rigorous, but keeping it as simple as possible.

So, for the moment, these pages will deal with a little bit of everything and without specific plan.

Note: for diagrams, I use the current international standardized representation, published by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). I hope you will not be too much disturbed if you are used to the old standards of the 60s or the American representation, which persists because of PCB software originating mostly from the USA.

Light-emitting diodes

What is an LED ?

An LED, light-emitting diode, is in fact actually a diode, in the sense that it conducts current only in one direction, but the comparison stops there. It is not this property that interests us here, but rather its ability to emit light. As a normal diode, an LED has a forward voltage (ie when conducting, noted VF in the data books, which varies from 1.5 to 3 V depending on the type of LED and color of the light. Typically the voltage increases from infrared (TV remote control) to purple through the red and all colors of the rainbow. This is because the shorter wavelengths (towards violet) require more energy than the longer ones, and this explains why blue LEDs and even more violet appeared only recently (for the greatest satisfaction of train models enthusiasts!).

If the polarity is reversed (the + and – terminals are exchanged), the diode is blocked. It then supports a reverse voltage which, for a normal diode, is at least 50 V. But for an LED, it is much less (about 5 V). Caution should therefore be taken if the voltage can be reversed (eg AC). If the maximum is exceeded, it’s the assured breakdown (very inconspicuous, without fireworks!). See next page for how to know the direction of a diode.

The light emitted by the LEDs is practically monochromatic, ie. of a single wavelength. Before the white LEDs existed, yellow LEDs were often used to illuminate cars (railway models, I mean), and the visual rendering was very bad, because the objects of a color containing no yellow appeared gray or black!

The case of white LEDs is somewhat peculiar, since they emit at the source a blue light that is converted into white light by a layer of phosphorus. See an interesting article on the website led-fr.net. This is the same principle as for fluorescent lamps (those called neon, wrongly because they do not contain neon!). This explains also the problems of color temperature encountered: in no case will we have a rich light of all wavelengths like that of the sun.

Note that it exists tricolor LEDs, made up of three LEDs in the same case, one red, one green and one (or two) blue. By varying the luminous intensity of these three colors, we can theoretically reconstitute any color. This is the principle of the color additive synthesis used among other things on TV screens. But these LEDs are by nature more difficult to miniaturize than the others. Nevertheless, they have a great interest in the rear signaling of trains in era II (and III?), where multiple colors were used depending on the type of train (regular, additional, last of the day, etc.)

Connecting an LED

As we have seen, an LED has a forward voltage of a few volts. Our sources have a voltage ranging from 9 V (battery) to 20 V (DCC set to maximum). If an LED is connected like a normal (incandescent) lamp, it will be instantly destroyed by overcurrent. It is therefore necessary to add to it a resistor which will limit the current and also adjust it to obtain the desired light intensity.

How to calculate the resistor? It's very simple, don’t worry, even for a non-electrician. There are two laws (outage!) to know, and again, in only a small part: Ohm’s law and the mesh rule.

Note to specialists: I simplify on purpose not to discourage!

Let’s first apply a result of the mesh rule: the sum of the voltages along the branch constituted by the elements in series (the resistance and the LED), which constitute the receiver, must be equal to the voltage supplied by the source, or generator (which is almost never represented on the diagrams):

VR + VF = VALIM

Numerically, if the supply voltage is 12 V and the LED has a forward voltage of 3 V:

VR + 3 V = 12 V

LED circuit

VR is unknown. It is precisely this value that we seek. It is easy to find it:

VR = 12 V − 3 V = 9 V

Let’s now apply Ohm’s law, which states that the ratio between the voltage applied to a resistor and the current passing through it is constant, and is precisely called resistance. Here the applied voltage is VR, and the current is IF. Indeed, the LED’s current IF also passes through the resistor. So:

R = VR / IF

If the LED current is 5 mA (or 0.005 A), this gives:

R = 9 V / 0,005 A = 1800 Ω, or 1,8 kΩ

Note: if you do the calculation by keeping the milliamps, you get the result directly in kilohms, but do it only if you are self assured:

R = 9 V / 5 mA = 1,8 kΩ

All right. It happens that 1.8 kΩ is one of the standardized values ​​found on the market (see page 4). What if this is not the case? Well, just take the closest value. The small difference will change practically nothing. If you take the higher value, you will have a slightly smaller current, and vice versa, but the difference in light intensity will be insensitive. In our example, if we had found 1650 Ω, we could have chosen either 1500 Ω (value by default) or 1800 Ω (value by excess).

Neon lamps do exist: they can be found into the stairwells buttons, into certain irons and some coffee-makers; they give a typical orange light. But trying to light up with is a challenge…

Chassez le naturel, il revient au galop ! L’électricité, c’est mon métier de base, et je trouve parfois sur le web disons des imprécisions… Vous trouverez ici quelques notions ou astuces sur des sujets qui m’ont fait réagir. Mon but est d’être assez rigoureux, en restant aussi simple que possible.

Donc, pour le moment, ces pages vont traiter un peu de tout et sans plan précis.

Remarque : j’utilise, pour les schémas, la représentation internationale normalisée actuelle, publiée par la Commission Électrotechnique Internationale (CEI). J’espère que vous ne serez pas trop perturbés si vous avez l’habitude d’utiliser les vieilles normes des années 60 ou la représentation américaine, qui perdure à cause des logiciels de circuit imprimé d’origine US pour la plupart.

Les diodes électroluminescentes

Qu’est-ce qu’une DEL, ou LED ?

Les DEL, diodes électroluminescentes, ou LED en anglais pour Light Emitting Diodes, sont d’abord effectivement des diodes, c.-à-d. qu’elles ne conduisent que dans un sens, mais la comparaison s’arrête là. Ce n’est pas cette propriété qui nous intéresse ici, mais bien leur capacité à émettre de la lumière. Comme une diode normale, une LED a une tension directe (c.-à-d. lorsqu’elle conduit, notée VF dans les data books, et qui varie de 1,5 à 3 V selon le type de la LED et la couleur de la lumière. Typiquement, la tension croît lorsqu’on passe de l’infrarouge (télécommande TV) au violet en passant par le rouge et toutes les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel. Cela tient à ce que les plus courtes longueurs d’onde (vers le violet) nécessitent plus d’énergie que les plus longues, et cela explique que les LED bleues et encore plus les violettes ne sont apparues que récemment (pour la plus grande satisfaction des amateurs de petits trains !).

Si on inverse la polarité (on échange les bornes + et −), la diode est bloquée. Elle supporte alors une tension dite inverse qui, pour une diode normale, est d’au moins 50 V. Mais, pour une LED, c’est beaucoup moins (5 V environ). Il faudra donc prendre des précautions si la tension peut s’inverser (cas du courant alternatif par exemple). Si on dépasse le maximum, c’est le claquage assuré (très discret, sans feu d’artifice !). Voir page suivante comment connaître le sens d’une diode.

La lumière émise par les LED est pratiquement monochromatique, c.-à-d. d’une seule longueur d’onde. Avant que les LED blanches existent, on employait souvent des LED jaunes pour l’éclairage des voitures (de chemin de fer miniature, je précise), et le rendu visuel était très mauvais, car les objets d’une couleur ne contenant pas de jaune devenaient gris ou noirs !

Le cas des LED blanches est un peu particulier, puisqu’elles émettent à la source une lumière bleue qui est convertie en lumière blanche par une couche de phosphore. Voir un article intéressant sur le site led-fr.net. C’est un peu le même principe que pour les tubes fluorescents (ceux appelés tubes au néon, à tort car ils ne contiennent pas de néon !). C’est ce qui explique aussi les problèmes de température de couleur rencontrés : en aucun cas, on n’aura une lumière riche de toutes les longueurs d’ondes comme celle du soleil.

Remarquons qu’il existe des LED tricolores, composées en fait de trois LED dans le même boîtier, une rouge, une verte et une (ou deux) bleue. En faisant varier l’intensité lumineuse de ces trois couleurs, on peut en théorie reconstituer n’importe quelle couleur. C’est le principe de la synthèse additive des couleurs utilisée entre autre sur les écrans de TV. Mais ces LED sont par nature plus difficiles à miniaturiser que les autres. Elles ont quand même un grand intérêt pour la signalisation d’arrière des trains aux époques II (et III ?), où de multiples couleurs étaient utilisées en fonction du type de train (régulier, supplémentaire, dernier de la journée, etc.)

Câblage des LED

On l’a vu, une LED a une tension directe de quelques volts. Nos sources ont une tension allant disons de 9 V (pile) à 20 V (DCC réglé au maximum). Si on branche une LED comme une lampe normale (à incandescence), elle va être instantanément détruite par surintensité. Il faut donc lui adjoindre une résistance qui va permettre de limiter le courant et aussi de le régler pour obtenir l’intensité lumineuse voulue.

Comment calculer cette résistance ? C’est très simple, rassurez-vous, même pour un non-électricien. Il y a deux lois (ouille !) à connaître, et encore, en petite partie seulement : la loi d’Ohm et la loi des mailles.

Note aux spécialistes : je simplifie exprès pour ne pas décourager !

Appliquons d’abord un résultat de la loi des mailles : la somme des tensions le long de la branche constituée des éléments en série (la résistance et la LED), qui constituent le récepteur, doit être égale à la tension fournie par la source, ou générateur (que l’on ne représente presque jamais sur les schémas) :

VR + VF = VALIM

Numériquement, si la tension d’alimentation est de 12 V et si la LED a une tension directe de 3 V :

VR + 3 V = 12 V

Circuit à LED

VR n’est pas connue. C’est justement cette valeur que nous cherchons. Il est facile de la trouver :

VR = 12 V − 3 V = 9 V

Appliquons maintenant la loi d’Ohm qui dit que le rapport entre la tension appliquée à une résistance et le courant qui la traverse est constant, et s’appelle justement résistance. Ici, la tension appliquée est VR, et le courant est IF. En effet, le courant IF de la LED traverse aussi la résistance. Donc :

R = VR / IF

Si le courant de LED est de 5 mA (ou 0,005 A), cela donne :

R = 9 V / 0,005 A = 1800 Ω, soit 1,8 kΩ

Remarque : si vous faites le calcul en gardant les milliampères, vous obtenez directement le résultat en kilohms, mais ne le faites que si vous êtes sûrs de vous :

R = 9 V / 5 mA = 1,8 kΩ

Bon. Il se trouve que 1,8 kΩ fait partie des valeurs standardisées que l’on trouve dans le commerce (voir page 4). Que faire si cela n’est pas le cas ? Eh bien, il suffit de prendre la valeur la plus proche. La faible différence ne changera pratiquement rien. Si vous prenez la valeur supérieure, vous aurez un courant légèrement plus petit, et inversement, mais la différence d’intensité lumineuse sera insensible. Dans notre exemple, si nous avions trouvé 1650 Ω, nous aurions pu choisir soit 1500 Ω (valeur par défaut), soit 1800 Ω (valeur par excès).

Les lampes au néon, ça existe : on en trouve sur
les boutons des cages d’escalier, sur certains fers
à repasser et certaines cafetières ; ce sont des
voyants qui donnent une lumière orangée typique.
De là à s’éclairer avec…