Provisionary conclusion

Non-compliance with NMRA / NEM recommendations

The result is that the LS Models locomotive electronic board doesn’t comply with the NMRA recommendations (page 2): “When an extended service interface socket (or plug) is built into a locomotive or car by a manufacturer, the manufacturer shall document very clearly which connection is wired to which built-in equipment”. This is obviously not done in the LS Models instructions for use, known for their indigence (as for many other brands). And it would betray their little and not very sympathetic trick…

Last question

Ah! I forgot, excuse me, sir, one last question: is it possible with an ESU decoder (programmed for LS Models of course) to turn on the white (or red) front or rear lights at the same time? I confess that I’ve had a hard time with this! While it's so easy with a Lenz or Zimo decoder!

I answer to myself below!

News of the case (2015)!

Since the writing of this article, many trains had passed under bridges, and I acquired a Lokprogrammer, which allows among other to test some options much more quickly and comfortably than with a command station.

Testing with the Lokprogrammer

Going into the Function mapping part of the Lokprogrammer software, after loading the contents of the decoder of course, you can see how all the function keys are programmed. In the case of the BB 16677 which I used as a guinea pig, I did find the above ascertainments, plus a mysterious affectation: Stop, Forward → Rear light [1] and Drive, Forward → Rear light [1]. Meaning: assign the Stop forward and Forward states to Tail lights output. I recall that the lighting of the taillights is assigned to a single output, AUX4. If I disable Stop, Forward → Rear light [1] and Drive, Forward → Rear light [1], the lights will not reverse any more! That's it ! Eureka! This output sends the signal of direction change to the electronic board, which is probably equipped with an inverter for the receivers that need it: white lights, red lights and cabin light.

Definitive conclusion (?)

The result of all that is that I definitely cannot get the white or red lights on both faces at the same time, since I do not have programmatic access to the direction inversion.

Using the ESU decoder outputs in a conventional way (Front light 1 and 2 for white lights, AUX1 and AUX2 for reds, AUX3 and AUX4 for the cabs), we could have obtained all the present features plus the possibility of lighting the lights, both white and red, on each side. Thanks again LSM!

I hardly understand the motives of the designers. Okay, we're going to somehow go through an exclusivity contract with ESU, but we're going to get a hard work searching a twisted solution and get customers angry. Oh yes, I forgot: even angry, even if it is more expensive, the customers in question (including me!) will continue to buy, so why bother?

Conclusion (provisoire)

Non conformité aux recommandations NMRA/NEM

Il résulte de tout cela que la carte électronique des locomotives LS Models n’est pas conforme aux recommandations NMRA (page 2) : « When an extended service interface socket (or plug) is built-into a locomotive or car by a manufacturer, the manufacturer shall document very clearly which connection is wired to which built-in equipment ». Traduction : Lorsqu’une interface étendue est installée dans […], le fabricant doit indiquer très clairement quelle connexion est réalisée avec quel équipement interne. Chose qui n’est évidemment pas faite dans les notices LS Models, connues pour leur indigence (comme pour beaucoup d’autres marques d’ailleurs). Et puis cela trahirait leur petite magouille pas très sympathique

Dernière question

Ah ! J’oubliais, M’sieur, excusez-moi, une dernière question : est-il possible avec un décodeur ESU (programmé pour LS Models bien sûr) d’allumer les feux blancs (ou les rouges) AV et AR en même temps ? J’avoue que je m’y suis cassé les dents ! Alors que c’est si facile avec un Lenz ou un Zimo !

Je me réponds à moi-même ci-dessous !

Du nouveau dans l’affaire (2015) !

Depuis la rédaction de cet article, il est passé des trains sous les ponts, et j’ai acquis un Lokprogrammer, qui permet entre autre de tester certaines options beaucoup plus rapidement et confortablement qu’avec une centrale.

Tests avec le Lokprogrammer

En allant dans la partie Function mapping du logiciel Lokprogrammer, après avoir chargé le contenu du décodeur bien sûr, on peut voir comment sont programmées toutes les touches de fonction. Dans le cas de la BB 16677 qui m’a servi de cobaye, j’ai effectivement retrouvé les constatations ci-dessus, avec, en plus, une affectation mystérieuse : Stop, Forward → Rear light[1] et Drive, Forward → Rear light[1]. Traduction : affecter les états Arrêt en marche avant et Marche avant à la sortie Feux arrière. Or je rappelle que l’allumage des feux arrière est affecté à une seule sortie, AUX4. Si je désactive les affectations Stop, Forward → Rear light[1] et Drive, Forward → Rear light[1], les feux ne s’inversent plus ! Ça y est ! Eurêka ! C’est cette sortie qui envoie le signal de changement de sens sur la carte électronique, qui est sans doute munie d’un inverseur pour les récepteurs qui en ont besoin : feux blancs, feux rouges et éclairage cabine.

Conclusion (définitive ?)

Mais il résulte de ceci que je ne peux définitivement pas obtenir l’allumage des blancs ou des rouges des deux côtés en même temps, puisque je n’ai pas accès par programme à l’inversion de sens.

En utilisant les sorties du décodeur ESU d’une façon classique (Front light 1 et 2 pour les feux blancs, AUX1 et AUX2 pour les rouges, AUX3 et AUX4 pour les cabines), on aurait pu obtenir toutes les fonctionnalités présentes plus la possibilité d’allumer les feux, aussi bien blancs que rouges, de chaque côté. Encore merci LSM !

J’ai beaucoup de mal à comprendre les motivations des concepteurs. D’accord, on va passer en quelque sorte un contrat d’exclusivité avec ESU, mais on va se compliquer la vie à chercher une solution tordue et se fâcher avec les clients. Ah oui, j’oubliais : même fâchés, même si c’est plus cher, les clients en question (y compris moi !) vont continuer à acheter, alors, pourquoi se gêner ?