Adaptation to a reduced model

Wheel diameter

For the maximum wheel diameter, simply take the value given above and divide by 87 then by pi. This gives 3989 / 87 / pi = 14.6 mm. Our HO car wheels rarely exceed 12 mm, so this is perfectly suitable.

Choosing the wagon

To me, the most appropriate type of wagon to contain the device seems to be the open wagon, but a flat wagon may also be suitable. For track holding at high speed, a bogie wagon would be preferable, but the wheels are too small in diameter in relation to the magnet thickness. A solution could be to fit larger wheels, but this will change the coupling height and possibly cause uncoupling. Moreover, in the tight curves, the axle will move with respect to the reed switch mounted in the body: one can expect malfunctions.

So I elected a brave old Hornby Acho two-axle open wagon ref. 7080: the body is large enough to hold the device, and I have equipped it with 12 mm diameter wheels. Obviously, it must also be equipped with at least one coupling of the same type as that of the locomotives.

Wagon tombereau Hornby

Fixing a magnet

The tricky point is to fix a magnet on an axle of the wagon. The one delivered with the tachometer is too bulky. It is necessary that the magnet comes near and then go away from the reed when the wheel rotates, so it must fit the space between the axle and the wheel radius, otherwise it may stall on turnouts or crocodiles. It must also be powerful enough to operate the reed, but not too much, which could cause the reed to stick permanently. Finally, it is preferable for the axle to be balanced, especially if one wishes to use the device at rather high speeds.

Essieu équipé d’un aimant

The axle has been milled on 0.5 mm (1) to ensure that the magnet (2) ø 5 × 13 is above the plane of the rails. It is much easier to machine the axis than the magnet itself.

The approximate balancing is carried out by a flyweight (3) glued on the axis opposite the magnet. All metals are suitable except iron or steel! In fact, since they are magnetic materials, they will extend the magnet action symmetrically around the axis or short-circuit the magnetic flux, and I don’t think that the reed can then be operated correctly (but I did not test). So lead or brass seem to be the most appropriate.

In my particular case, the magnet has a mass of 2 g. A cylinder of lead ø 4 × 14 gives the same mass when placed at the same distance from the axis.

Here is a view on the axle equipped with magnet and balancing mass, held by electrician tape. The wagon was equipped with a Profi coupling on Roco elongation mechanism. You can see the programming button in the tachometer’s lower right corner.

Wagon seen from above, with the magnet

Cable storage

All I have to do then is to store the connection cable between sensor and display, because I wanted not to cut it. It is therefore wound on a piece of tube on which the display is attached like on a bike handlebar. Inside the tube is placed a ballast: indeed, the poor measuring wagon will probably be subjected to speeds that were hitherto unknown to him.

Here are two views of the arrangement in the wagon body.

Wrapped display cable, seen from below

Wrapped display cable, seen from above

Tachometer setting

My tachometer’s manual is multilingual, with an instructions flyer like a medicine’s one, but much larger. The hard work is to find the interesting part in the suitable language. Then, after entering the setting mode (small button at the back), you just indicate the wheel circumference, converting it from 1:87 to 1: 1. For my wagon’s wheels of 12.0 mm in diameter, the actual size circumference is 12 × pi × 87 = 3279.8 ≈ 3280 mm. This value is to be entered into the device.

Mounting and testing

The sensor (reed) is mounted into the wagon body, just above the magnet carrying axle. It is fixed by a thin plasticized iron wire formed into a stirrup. The display is placed next to it.

If everything’s right, rolling the equipped wagon on a table end, you will see the instantaneous speed rise fast enough: God's hand can easily push the wagon at 100 km/h! You should take into account the fact that the magnet opposes a certain resistance to the forward movement when the wagon is pulled by a loco, which is not a drawback in DCC if the decoder has a load compensation. But be careful in DC, and especially on steel rail: with a strong magnet, it brakes hard! We reinvent the (electro) magnetic brake!

Here is finally the wagon equipped, ready to begin a campaign of measures.

Equipped wagon

Just a small inconvenience

Some trains, not equipped with couplings, cannot be tested: EAD, RGP, VT11. Or by pushing the wagon, but only in a straight line.

Just a little tip

For DCC tests, it is better to disable the inertia (acceleration and deceleration) settings of the tested machine, with CV3 and CV4 = 0, or more simply by pressing the key which inhibits this inertia, usually F4. Otherwise, we spend more time waiting for the speed to stabilize than to make the measurements.

Adaptation à un modèle réduit

Diamètre de roue

Pour le diamètre de roue maxi, il suffit de prendre la valeur donnée précédemment et de diviser par 87 puis par pi. Cela donne 3989 / 87 / pi = 14,6 mm. Les roues de nos wagons HO dépassant rarement 12 mm, cela convient parfaitement.

Choix du wagon

Pour contenir le dispositif, le type de wagon le plus approprié me paraît être le tombereau, mais un plat peut aussi convenir. Pour la tenue à la vitesse, un wagon à bogies serait préférable, mais les roues ont un trop petit diamètre par rapport à l’encombrement de l’aimant. À moins de monter des roues plus grandes, ce qui va rehausser l’attelage et peut-être causer des ruptures. De plus, dans les courbes serrées, l’essieu va se déplacer par rapport à l’ILS monté dans la caisse : on peut craindre des ratés de fonctionnement.

J’ai donc élu un bon vieux tombereau à essieux Hornby Acho réf. 7080 : la caisse est assez grande pour contenir le dispositif, et je lui ai monté des essieux à roues de ø 12. Evidemment, il faut aussi l’équiper d’au moins un attelage du même type que celui des engins moteurs.

Wagon tombereau Hornby

Fixation d’un aimant

Le point délicat est de fixer un aimant sur un essieu du wagon. Celui livré avec le tachymètre est trop encombrant. Il faut que l’aimant s’approche puis s’écarte de l’ILS lorsque la roue tourne, donc qu’il rentre dans l’espace compris entre l’axe d’essieu et le rayon de la roue, sous peine de caler sur les aiguillages ou les crocodiles. Il faut aussi qu’il soit assez puissant pour actionner l’ILS, mais pas trop, ce qui risquerait de faire coller l’ILS en permanence. Enfin, il est préférable que l’essieu soit équilibré, surtout si l’on veut contrôler des vitesses assez élevées.

Essieu équipé d’un aimant

L’axe d’essieu a été fraisé sur 0,5 mm (1) pour assurer que l’aimant (2) ø 5 × 13 soit au dessus du plan des rails. Il est beaucoup plus facile d’usiner l’axe que l’aimant lui-même.

L’équilibrage approximatif est réalisé par une masselotte (3) collée sur l’axe à l’opposé de l’aimant. Tout métal convient sauf le fer ou l’acier ! En effet, comme ce sont des matériaux magnétiques, ils vont prolonger l’action de l’aimant de façon symétrique autour de l’axe ou court-circuiter le flux magnétique, et je doute que l’ILS puisse alors être actionné correctement (mais je n’ai pas essayé). Donc plomb ou laiton me semblent les plus appropriés.

Dans mon cas particulier, pour fixer les idées, l’aimant a une masse de 2 g. Un cylindre de plomb ø 4 × 14 donne la même masse s’il est placé à la même distance de l’axe.

Voici une vue sur l’essieu équipé de l’aimant et de la masse d’équilibrage, maintenus par du scotch d’électricien. Le wagon a reçu un attelage Profi sur mécanisme à élongation Roco. On peut apercevoir le bouton de programmation dans l’angle en bas à droite du tachymètre.

Wagon vu du dessous, avec l’aimant

Rangement du câble

Reste à caser le câble de liaison entre capteur et afficheur, car j’ai voulu éviter de le couper. Il est donc enroulé sur un morceau de tube sur lequel l’afficheur est attaché comme sur un guidon de vélo. À l’intérieur du tube est placé un lest : en effet, le pauvre wagon mesureur va être probablement soumis à des vitesses qui lui étaient jusqu’alors inconnues.

Voici deux vues sur la façon d’arranger tout ça dans la caisse du wagon.

Câble de l’afficheur enroulé, vu de dessous

Câble de l’afficheur enroulé, vu de dessus

Configuration du tachymètre

La notice de mon tachymètre est multilingue, avec un pliage de style notice de médicament en beaucoup plus grand. Le plus dur est donc de trouver la partie intéressante et en français. Il suffit ensuite, après être entré en mode paramétrage (petit bouton à l’arrière), d’indiquer la circonférence de la roue, en la convertissant du 1:87 au 1:1. Pour mon wagon dont les roues font 12,0 mm de diamètre, la circonférence au 1:1 vaut 12 × pi × 87 = 3279,8 ≈ 3280 mm. C’est cette valeur qu’il faut inscrire sur l’appareil.

Montage et vérification

Le capteur (ILS) est monté dans la caisse du wagon, à l’aplomb de l’essieu porteur de l’aimant. Il est fixé par un fil de fer plastifié mince formé en étrier. L’afficheur est placé juste à côté.

Si tout va bien, en faisant rouler le wagon équipé sur un bout de table, vous verrez la vitesse instantanée monter assez vite : la main de Dieu peut pousser facilement le wagon à 100 km/h ! Il faut quand même tenir compte du fait que l’aimant oppose une certaine résistance à l’avancement lorsque le wagon est tracté par une loco, ce qui n’est pas gênant en DCC si le décodeur a une compensation de charge. Mais attention en analogique, et surtout sur du rail acier : avec un aimant costaud, ça freine dur ! On réinvente le frein (électro)magnétique !

Voici enfin le wagon équipé, prêt à entamer une campagne de mesures.

Wagon équipé

Juste un petit inconvénient

Certaines rames, non munies d’attelages, ne peuvent pas être testées : EAD, RGP, VT11. Ou alors en poussant le wagon, mais seulement en ligne droite.

Juste un petit conseil

Pour les essais en numérique, il vaut mieux désactiver les réglages d’inertie (accélération et décélération) de l’engin testé, avec CV3 et CV4 = 0, ou plus simplement en appuyant sur la touche qui inhibe cette inertie, généralement F4. Sinon, on passe plus de temps à attendre que la vitesse se stabilise qu’à faire les mesures.