I present here a gadget that has been described several times on the Web. Then why talk again about it? It’s only with the aim of showing as simply as possible what can be done, and, for non-mathematicians, explaining how the data to be applied are calculated.

The main interest in measuring the speed of a model train is to set the digital (DCC) CVs (configuration variables) and in particular the CV5 (maximum speed), so that the reduction speed is in conformity, to scale, to the prototype’s. I will not enter into the discussion of whether or not to increase the speed relative to that strictly to scale, to give a better impression of reality. It's up to everyone to decide. Moreover, it is probably more the accelerations and decelerations than the top speed that give realism to a model train.

But where this tachometer really helps, is when you want two or more motor vehicles to work in MU (multiple unit). This is the case, for example, for two EAD (Element Automoteur Diesel) railcars or two BB 16500. In the latter case, although equipped with the same decoder with the CV5 set to the same value, the two machines did not have the same speed — difference due to the engine I suppose — with all the risks of mechanical fatigue associated: transmission, tires. And the test method - comparison - modification was painful. With the tachometer, it's much faster!

The base of the device

The base of the device is a bike tachometer. The idea may seem curious: how to measure the speed of a train that runs say 200 km per hour in reality, so at 200/87 = 2. km per hour to scale, with a device supposed to measure the speed of a bike capable of riding at 77 km per hour (world record on track, 200 m start launched, by François Pervis on December 6, 2013)?

Then what to think about it?

Linear speed and rotation speed

In fact, what matters is not the linear speed (in km/h or m/s), but the rotation speed of the wheels, which is usually expressed in revolutions per minute (RPM). Now, in the case of the train, real or miniature, the wheels rotate at the same speed! Of course yes! You don’t believe me? Then you will have to make calculations, you requested it! If you do not want to, go directly to the Tachometer Operation box. Don’t go to Jail..

The formula that links the linear speed V (in meters per second), the rotation speed N (in revolutions per second) and the diameter D of a wheel (in meters) is:

N =  V
pi × D

Of course, this formula is demonstrative, but you won’t mind giving up the demonstration, will you? Note that pi × D also represents the wheel circumference.

For a model, we apply a factor k (the reduction scale, for example 1:87) to the speed V at the numerator of the above fraction, as well as to the wheel diameter at the denominator of this fraction. The model speed becomes V × k and the wheel diameter D × k. However, we learned at the high school that in this case we can simplify the fraction by this common factor k. This means that N is independent of the applied scale.

Nmodel V × k  =  V  = Nreal
pi × D × k pi × D

Application

A train whose vehicles have 1 m diameter wheels runs at 200 km/h. Raised in meters per second (as for the world record train, named V 150 by technicians, for 150 m/s), the speed becomes:

V =  200 × 1000  = 55,6 m/s
3600

The factor 1000 transforms the kilometers into meters and 3600 transforms one hour into seconds.

By the way, a practical tip: to convert from km/h to m/s, just divide by 3.6. Conversely, to convert m/s to km/h, you obviously multiply by 3.6. Example for the V 150 trainset: 150 × 3.6 = 540 km/h. Well, they slightly exceeded this speed, and almost reached 160 m/s!

In short, for a speed of 200 km/h or 55.6 m/s, the 1 m wheel speed is:

N =  55,6  = 17,68 revolutions per second
3,14 × 1

We are more used to revolutions per minute. Therefore let’s multiply by 60:

N = 17,68 × 60 = 1061 rpm.

Starting from the fact that the wheels rotate at the same speed, regardless of the scale, I wondered why our models require a reduction ratio between the motor and the wheels much larger than in reality. This is simply because miniature motors have nominal rotational speeds much higher than the large ones (10,000 rpm or more, compared to about 1500 rpm).

We then must look for a bike tachometer capable of holding the 200 km/h, or even more than 330 km/h for the TGV friends!

The tachometer

Operation of the tachometer

A reed sensor is fixed on the bike’s fork. Opposite, on a wheel spoke is attached a magnet that will actuate the reed at each turn. The receiver attached to the handlebar will simply count the received pulses and translate them, through a microcontroller, into information of distance traveled and speed. But, to do this, it needs an indispensable information: the distance traveled per wheel revolution.

Choice of the tachometer

I first bought a wireless model, the cheapest possible of course (SSIGMA BC 8.12 ATS wireless), thinking to hold the display in hand while the transmitter placed on a wagon would circulate. But I quickly realized that, in order to operate, these two elements had to be aligned in a very particular way, as indicated in the notice. What was possible on a bicycle fork was not on a train layout! So, I mounted it on my old bike, and I bought the wired model (SIGMA BC 8.12 wired).

Mounting the wireless tachometer on a bike

It should be easy for an electronics technician to replace the cable with a relatively low cost 433 or 868 MHz radio transmitter / receiver pair that can be found at Aurel for example. The only complication would come from the supply voltage of the components (the tachometer uses a 3 V battery, the modules require a voltage close to 5 V). But we get away from the criterion of simplicity that I had set myself at the beginning.

Information provided by the tachometer

The SIGMA BC 8.12 model can display the following data:

Interesting features not provided by the manufacturer

Don’t ask me why these rum figures (why not 3999 and 199,9, which actually wouldn’t change much). But, for the TGV, it doesn’t do the job. No problem for me, as I am stuck in the IVa era. And we have to admitt that almost 200 km/h for a bike is still not bad!

There is a way out for speeds above 200 km/h: use the shunting mode of the decoder, if provided of course. In this case, the speed is divided by 2 and the CV5 can thus be adjusted to obtain, for example, the value of 150 km/h for a vehicle capable of driving at 300 km/h.

Sigma BC 8.12 ATS bicycle computer
21,49 € - price 2016
sur Amazon.fr

Tachometer SIGMA BC 8.12
9,48 € - price 2016
sur Amazon.fr

Je présente ici un « gadget » qui a été plusieurs fois décrit sur la Toile. Pourquoi en reparler alors ? C’est seulement dans le but de montrer le plus simplement possible ce que l’on peut en faire, et, pour les non-matheux, d’expliquer comment se calculent les données à appliquer.

L’intérêt principal de mesurer la vitesse d’un train modèle réduit est le paramétrage des CV (variables de configuration) en numérique (DCC) et en particulier de la CV5 (vitesse maximale), de façon que la vitesse en réduction soit conforme, à l’échelle, à celle du prototype. Je n’entrerai pas dans la discussion de savoir s’il faut ou non majorer la vitesse strictement à l’échelle pour donner une meilleure impression de la réalité. C’est à chacun de décider. D’ailleurs, ce sont sans doute plus les accélérations et décélérations que la vitesse de pointe qui donnent du réalisme à une rame miniature. Et les démarrages sur les chapeaux de roue ne sont pas rares sur les réseaux…

Mais là où ce tachymètre rend vraiment service, c’est lorsque l’on veut faire circuler des engins moteurs en UM (unité multiple). C’est le cas par exemple pour deux autorails EAD ou deux BB 16500. Or, dans ce dernier cas, bien qu’équipées du même décodeur avec la CV5 réglée à la même valeur, les deux machines n’avaient pas la même vitesse — différence due au moteur je suppose — avec tous les risques de fatigue mécanique associés : transmission, bandages d’adhérence. Et la méthode essai - comparaison - modification était pénible. Avec le tachymètre, c’est bien plus rapide !

La base du dispositif

La base du dispositif est un tachymètre de vélo. L’idée peut paraître curieuse : comment mesurer la vitesse d’un train qui roule disons à 200 km/h réels, donc à 200/87 = 2,3 km/h à l’échelle, avec un appareil sensé mesurer la vitesse d’un vélo capable de rouler à 77 km/h (record du monde sur piste, 200 m départ lancé, par François Pervis le 6/12/2013) ?

Alors, que faut-il en penser ?

Vitesse linéaire et vitesse de rotation

En fait, ce qui compte, ce n’est pas la vitesse linéaire (en km/h ou en m/s), mais la vitesse de rotation des roues, que l’on exprime le plus souvent en tours par minute. Or, dans le cas du train, réel ou miniature, les roues tournent à la même vitesse ! Si, si ! Vous ne me croyez pas ? Alors il va falloir faire des calculs, vous l’aurez voulu ! Si vous ne le voulez pas, rendez-vous directement à la case Fonctionnement du tachymètre. Ne passez pas par la case Prison.

La formule qui lie la vitesse linéaire V (en mètres par seconde), la vitesse de rotation N (en tours par seconde) et le diamètre D d’une roue (en mètres) est :

N =  V
pi × D

Cette formule se démontre bien sûr, mais vous ne m’en voudrez pas de laisser tomber la démonstration, n’est-ce pas ? Remarquons que pi × D représente aussi la circonférence de la roue.

Pour un modèle réduit, nous appliquons un facteur k (l’échelle de réduction, par exemple 1:87) aussi bien à la vitesse V, au numérateur de la fraction ci-dessus, qu’au diamètre de la roue, au dénominateur de cette fraction. La vitesse du modèle réduit devient V × k et le diamètre de la roue D × k. Or nous avons appris au collège que l’on peut dans ce cas simplifier la fraction par ce facteur k commun. Cela signifie que N est indépendante de l’échelle appliquée.

Nmaquette V × k  =  V  = Nréelle
pi × D × k pi × D

Application

Soit un train roulant à 200 km/h, dont les véhicules auraient des roues de ø 1 m. Ramenée en mètres par seconde (comme pour la rame du record du monde, nommée V 150 par les techniciens, pour 150 m/s), la vitesse devient :

V =  200 × 1000  = 55,6 m/s
3600

Le facteur 1000 transforme les kilomètres en mètres et 3600 transforme une heure en secondes.

Au passage, astuce pratique : pour convertir des km/h en m/s, il suffit de diviser par 3,6. Inversement, pour convertir des m/s en km/h, il faut bien évidemment multiplier par 3,6. Exemple pour la rame V 150 : 150 × 3,6 = 540 km/h. Bon, ils ont légèrement dépassé cette vitesse, et presque atteint 160 m/s !

Bref, pour une vitesse de 200 km/h ou 55,6 m/s, la vitesse de rotation de la roue de 1 m est :

N =  55,6  = 17,68 tours par seconde
3,14 × 1

On a plus l’habitude des tours par minute. Multiplions donc par 60 :

N = 17,68 × 60 = 1061 tours / min.

Note pour les plus exigeants : en toute rigueur, l’expression tour / min n’est plus admise et devrait être remplacée par min−1 (lire « par minute », sans le « tour »).

Partant de ce constat que les roues tournent à la même vitesse quelle que soit l’échelle, je m’étais demandé pourquoi nos modèles réduits nécessitent un rapport de réduction entre moteur et roues beaucoup plus grand qu’en réalité. C’est tout simplement parce que les moteurs miniatures ont des vitesses nominales de rotation bien plus élevées que les grands (10 000 tours / min, voire plus, contre 1500 environ).

Reste à trouver un tachymètre de vélo capable de tenir le 200 km/h, voire même plus de 330 pour les adeptes du TGV !

Le tachymètre

Fonctionnement du tachymètre

Un capteur à ILS (interrupteur à lame souple) est fixé sur la fourche du vélo. En vis-à-vis, sur un rayon de la roue, est fixé un aimant qui va actionner l’ILS à chaque tour. Le récepteur fixé sur le guidon va tout simplement compter les impulsions reçues et les traduire, grâce à un microcontrôleur, en informations de distance parcourue et de vitesse. Mais, pour cela, il a besoin d’une information indispensable : la distance parcourue en un tour de roue.

Choix du tachymètre

J’ai d’abord acheté un modèle, le moins cher possible bien sûr, sans fil (SIGMA BC 8.12 ATS wireless), pensant pouvoir tenir l’afficheur en main pendant que l’émetteur placé sur un wagon circulerait. Mais je me suis vite aperçu que, pour fonctionner, il fallait que ces deux éléments soient alignés d’une façon bien particulière, comme l’indique la notice. Ce qui était possible sur une fourche de vélo ne l’était pas sur un circuit de train ! Du coup, je l’ai monté sur mon vieux clou, et j’ai racheté le modèle filaire (SIGMA BC 8.12 wired).

Montage du tachymètre sans fil sur un vélo

Il devrait être facile, pour un électronicien, de remplacer le câble par une paire émetteur / récepteur radio 433 ou 868 MHz de relativement faible coût que l’on peut trouver chez Aurel par exemple. La seule complication viendrait de la tension d’alimentation des composants (le compteur utilise une pile 3 V, les modules nécessitent une tension proche de 5 V). Mais on s’éloigne alors du critère de simplicité que je m’étais fixé au départ.

Informations fournies par le tachymètre

Le modèle SIGMA BC 8.12 peut afficher les données suivantes :

Caractéristiques intéressantes non données par le fabricant

Ne me demandez pas le pourquoi de ces chiffres biscornus (pourquoi pas 3999 et 199,9, ce qui ne changerait en fait pas grand’ chose). Mais, pour les TGV, ça ne passe pas. Pas de problème pour moi qui suis bloqué à l’époque IVa. Et il faut avouer que, presque 200 km/h pour un vélo, c’est quand même pas mal !

Il y a un moyen de s’en sortir pour des vitesses supérieures à 200 km/h : c’est d’utiliser le mode manœuvre du décodeur, s’il en est pourvu bien sûr. Dans ce cas, la vitesse est divisée par 2 et l’on peut donc régler la CV 5 pour obtenir par exemple la valeur de 150 km/h pour un engin pouvant rouler à 300 km/h.

À propos, la famille Surléchapodrou a trois enfants,
deux garçons et une fille. Comment se prénomment-ils ?
Réponse : Adhémar, Alphonse et Elvire.

Sigma BC 8.12 ATS ordinateur de velo
21,49 € - prix 2016
sur Amazon.fr

Compteur SIGMA BC 8.12
9,48 € - prix 2016
sur Amazon.fr