Commercial offers

As all this seemed promising, I began to look for and compare some “turnkey” solutions. I studied Peco’s Smartswitch (or rather ANE Model’s), Tam Valley Depot’s Quad-Pic, and finally ESU’s Switchpilot.

Of course, the comparison is only virtual, prices will depend on the pound or the dollar’s price, and the shipping costs can be very large.

Here's what you need for four turnouts:

Smartswitch Quad-Pic Switchpilot
Brand Peco / ANE Tam Valley Depot ESU
Product Smartswitch Quad-Pic Switchpilot
Number of servos 4 4 to 6 4
Programming of positions and speed By specific board, which can be re-used for other Smartswitches By pushbuttons, hand or auto (by rising current sensing when the point blade closes) By CV (POM, programming track or Lokpro­grammer) or embedded buttons
Turnout local control (without DCC) Yes, by switches (supplied) Yes, by configurable inputs Yes, by pushbuttons
Power 9 to 24 V DC or DCC 8 to 24 V DC 18 V AC or 24 V DC max. or DCC
Frog feeding Smartfrog, one board per turnout Outputs for relay or Frog Juicer, one for two turnouts Switchpilot Extension, one for four turnouts
Decoder price $39.95 2 27 € 3
Frog feeding price $31.95 × 2 2, 4 27 € 3
Servo price5 $4.75 × 4 2 13,50 € × 4 3
Total price in $ $149.95 1 $122.85
Total price in € 6 109,36 € 89,55 € 108 €

Notes

  1. Set A004 including the decoder, programming board, servo control board, four frog feeders, mounting hardware, manual control switches and connexion cables.
  2. Manufacturer's Price (TAM).
  3. Price at Modellbahnshop-Lippe (Germany).
  4. The TAM (Frog Juicer) solution is electronic, by short-circuit sensing, and can also be used in a reversing loop.
  5. Attention: the servos offered by TAM (and also by ANE Model) are TowerPro SG90 which I do not think much good, and which can be obtained for much cheaper elsewhere. The ESU servos are expensive, but probably much more reliable, Deutsche Qualität… The best is to buy servos of reasonable quality and a moderate price in a RC models shop. See next page.
  6. Based on dollar’s price as of May 19, 2014: $1.3719 for 1 €.

In my opinion

It goes without saying that my opinion is purely personal, and I have not been able to physically test all these products.

To me, the Peco / ANE Model solution seems unnecessarily sophisticated, but it has the advantage of being all-inclusive. TAM’s solution appears to be the most interesting for its relation between possibilities and prices, but the US origin implies possibly important shipping costs, especially if the customs applies the VAT, which is always possible.

The three solutions can be used more or less easily on an analogue, non DCC layout.

I personally opted for ESU, European brand easily available and ultimately the cheapest solution if we exclude the servos. Moreover, I did not use the Switchpilot Extension for the frog feeding, at least at the first time, but simple switches operated by the servos, because I like the simple solutions… which make my life more complicated. I will explain all of this in more detail.

Les offres du commerce

Tout cela me paraissant prometteur, je me suis mis à rechercher et à comparer quelques solutions « clés en main ». J’ai étudié le Smartswitch de Peco (ou plutôt de ANE Model), le Quad-Pic de Tam Valley Depot, et enfin le Switchpilot de ESU.

Bien entendu, la comparaison n’est que virtuelle, les prix dépendront du cours de la livre ou du dollar, et les frais de port peuvent être très importants.

Voici ce qu’il faut prévoir pour quatre aiguilles :

Smartswitch Quad-Pic Switchpilot
Marque Peco / ANE Tam Valley Depot ESU
Produit Smartswitch Quad-Pic Switchpilot
Nombre de servos 4 4 à 6 4
Program­mation des positions et des vitesses Par carte spécifi­que, qui peut resservir pour d’autres Smartswitch Par BP, manuelle ou auto (par détection d’augmen­tation de courant lorsque l’aiguille colle) Par CV (POM, voie de Program­mation ou Lokpro­grammer) ou BP incorporés
Commande locale des aiguilles (sans DCC) Oui, par interrup­teurs (fournis) Oui, par entrées configura­bles Oui, par boutons-poussoirs
Alimenta­tion de puissance 9 à 24 V CC ou DCC 8 à 24 V CC 18 V CA ou 24 V CC max. ou DCC
Alimenta­tion des cœurs d’aiguilles Smartfrog, une carte par aiguille Sorties pour relais ou Frog Juicer, une pour deux aiguilles Switchpilot Extension, un pour quatre aiguilles
Prix décodeur $39.95 2 27 € 3
Prix alim. cœur $31.95 × 2 2, 4 27 € 3
Prix servos 5 $4.75 × 4 2 13,50 € × 4 3
Prix total en $ $149.95 1 $122.85
Prix total en € 6 109,36 € 89,55 € 108 €

Notes

  1. Set A004 comprenant le décodeur, la carte de programma­tion, la carte de commande des servos, l’alimentation pour quatre cœurs, toute la quincaillerie de fixation, les inters de commande manuelle et les câbles de liaison.
  2. Prix chez le fabricant (TAM).
  3. Prix chez Modellbahnshop-Lippe (Allemagne).
  4. La solution TAM (Frog Juicer) est électronique, par détection de court-circuit, et peut servir aussi dans une boucle de retournement.
  5. Attention : les servos proposés par TAM (et aussi par ANE Model) sont des TowerPro SG90 dont je ne pense pas beaucoup de bien, et qui peuvent s’obtenir pour beaucoup moins cher ailleurs. Les servos ESU sont chers, mais sans doute beaucoup plus fiables, Deutsche Qualität… Le mieux est d’acheter des servos de qualité convenable et d’un prix modéré dans une boutique de radio modélisme. Voir page suivante.
  6. Basé sur le cours du dollar au 19 mai 2014 : $1,3719 pour 1 €.

Ce que j’en pense

Il va de soi que mon avis est purement personnel, et je n’ai pas pu matériellement essayer tous ces produits.

La solution Peco / ANE Model me paraît inutilement sophistiquée, mais elle a l’avantage d’être tout compris. Celle de TAM semble la plus intéressante pour son rapport possibilités / prix, mais l’origine US fait que les frais peuvent être importants, surtout si la douane applique la TVA par dessus, ce qui est toujours possible.

Les trois solutions peuvent être plus ou moins facilement utilisées sur un réseau analogique, non DCC.

J’ai personnellement opté pour ESU, marque européenne facilement disponible et finalement solution la moins chère si on exclut les servos. De plus, je n’ai pas utilisé le Switchpilot Extension pour l’alimentation des cœurs, en tout cas dans un premier temps, mais de simples commutateurs actionnés par les servos, car j’adore les solutions simples… qui me compliquent la vie. Je vous expliquerai tout cela plus en détails.