Provisional conclusion

On purpose, I did not wish to detail the whole device. Indeed, it must be adapted according to the needs, the nature of the turnout motors, etc. Concerning this last point, I have in mind to study a servo motor control, of the type used in radio controlling. Indeed, if these motors require a little electronics, their control is much simpler: a simple input switch controls the direction of rotation. No need for limit switches: the stroke can be adjusted by means of a potentiometer and therefore adapted to each particular turnout case, without having to twist more or less the control rod. On the other hand, they operate with a special voltage of 4.8 V which is not necessarily very practical for us, and it would be necessary to provide contacts for the feeding of the turnout frog and for feeback, which the servos are not equipped with. This may complicate things a little… In short, thre’s still work to be done!

Here is the current aspect of my control panel, seen from the rear (at the front are the desk and a shelf to hold the remote control).

What about the yellow LEDs?

By the way, I forgot to tell you about driving the route LEDs (you know, the yellow ones). That's because I can’t have them work! I would need at least six more outputs for this, and my programmable relay has no more free input! I would have to buy another SR3PACK2BD expandable module with sixteen inputs and ten outputs, plus one SR3XT101BD 6-input 4-output expansion module.

Platine de commande

Some prices (VAT incl.) in 2012

Designato Pack Zelio
24 V 12E/8S
Pack Zelio
24 V 16E/10S modulaire
Extension module 6E/4S
Ref. SR2PACK
2BD
SR3PACK
2BD
SR3XT10
1BD
Radio­spares 296,61 € 333,68 € 72,00 €
Conrad 268,94 € 301,57 € 66,28 €
materiel­electrique 232,37 € 260,73 € 59,18 €

The prices are more interesting at materielelectrique.com, but the delays may be longer (material not in stock).

For my needs, overall price 2012 at materielelectrique.com: 319.91 € VAT included. But it may be better in this case to switch to computer control, as I said before. For Lenz, the USB / digital interface is about 130 € at Modellbahnshop Lippe (all prices 2012). But it is also necessary to provide control software, plus relay interface if I still do not want to drive my turnouts with DCC.

Conclusion (provisoire)

Volontairement, je n’ai pas voulu détailler tout le dispositif. En effet, il faut l’adapter en fonction des besoins, de la nature des moteurs d’aiguille, etc. En ce qui concerne ce dernier point, je pense étudier une commande par servomoteur, du type utilisé en radiocommande. En effet, si ces moteurs nécessitent un peu d’électronique, leur commande est beaucoup plus simple : un simple contact à l’entrée commande le sens de rotation. Pas besoin de contacts de fin de course : on peut régler la course par potentiomètre et donc adapter cette course à chaque cas particulier d’aiguille, sans être obligé de tordre plus ou moins des barres de commande. En revanche, ils fonctionnent avec une tension spéciale de 4,8 V qui n’est pas forcément très pratique pour nous, et il faudrait prévoir des contacts pour l’alimentation du cœur d’aiguille et pour la rétrosignalisation, car ils n’en sont pas munis. Cela risque de compliquer un peu les choses… Bref, encore du pain sur la planche !

Voici l’aspect actuel de ma platine de commande, vue de l’arrière (à l’avant se trouvent le pupitre et une tablette pour supporter la télécommande).

Et les LED jaunes ?

Au fait, j’ai oublié de vous parler de la commande des LED d’itinéraires (vous savez, les jaunes). C’est parce que je ne peux pas les faire fonctionner ! Il me faudrait en effet au moins six sorties supplémentaires pour cela, et mon relais programmable n’en a plus de libre ! Il faudrait que j’achète un autre module extensible SR3PACK2BD comportant seize entrées et dix sorties, plus un module d’extension SR3XT101BD 6 E/4 S.

Platine de commande

Quelques prix TTC en 2012

Désignato Pack Zelio
24 V 12E/8S
Pack Zelio
24 V 16E/10S modulaire
Module extension 6E/4S
Réf. SR2PACK
2BD
SR3PACK
2BD
SR3XT10
1BD
Radio­spares 296,61 € 333,68 € 72,00 €
Conrad 268,94 € 301,57 € 66,28 €
materiel­electrique 232,37 € 260,73 € 59,18 €

Les prix sont plus intéressants chez materielelectrique.com, mais les délais risquent d’être plus longs (matériel pas en stock).

Pour mes besoins, prix global 2012 chez materielelectrique.com : 319.91 € TTC. Mais il vaudra peut-être mieux dans ce cas passer à la commande par ordinateur, comme je l’ai déjà dit. Pour Lenz, l’interface USB / centrale numérique est à environ 130 € chez Modellbahnshop Lippe (tous prix 2012). Mais il faut aussi prévoir un logiciel de pilotage, plus des interfaces à relais si je ne veux toujours pas commander mes aiguilles en DCC.