Manual turnouts control

The manual control will be done by a simple switch, for the reason indicated above: it only requires one input per turnout, instead of two in the case of a pushbutton control.

There is, however, one disadvantage, namely that the handle of the switch remains in position, even if the turnout position changes under the effect of a route control. Hence the need for LEDs which indicate the actual position of the turnouts by feedback.

Contradiction between automatic and manual controls

The problem of the possible contradiction between automatic control and manual switches position arises, as mentioned above, with the switch control system (as opposed to the momentary pushbuttons). If the switch remains closed, which means turnout diverging, the automatic route control must be able to return the turnout to the direct position.

It is therefore necessary to transform the permanent control (the contact remains closed) into pulse control. This is called edge control, up or down. On the programmable module, this is achieved by a timing function (B type: passing, activating control for a rising edge, ie when the contact closes, or passing, de-activating control for a falling edge, ie when the contact opens). A very short time is set for the output pulse, for example 10 ms, so that there is no chance that an automatic (route) control and a manual control will happen at the same time.

Commande manuelle des aiguilles

La commande manuelle va se faire par simple interrupteur, pour la raison indiquée plus haut : elle ne nécessite qu’une entrée par aiguille, au lieu de deux dans le cas d’une commande par boutons-poussoirs.

Il y a cependant un inconvénient, c’est que la manette de l’inter reste en position, même si celle de l’aiguille change sous l’effet d’une commande d’itinéraire. D’où la nécessité des LED qui indiquent par rétrosignalisation la position réelle des aiguilles.

Contradiction entre commandes automatique et manuelle

Avec le système de commande par interrupteur (par opposition à celle par boutons-poussoirs momentanés), se pose, comme on vient de le dire, le problème de la contradiction possible entre la commande automatique et la position du commutateur manuel. Si l’inter reste fermé, ce qui signifie aiguille déviée, il faut que la commande automatique d’itinéraire puisse remettre l’aiguille en position directe.

Il faut donc transformer la commande permanente (le contact reste fermé) en commande impulsionnelle. Cela s’appelle commande par front, montant ou descendant. Sur le module programmable, cela s’obtient par une fonction de temporisation (type B : Passage ; activation commande pour un front montant, c.-à-d. lorsque le contact se ferme, ou Passage ; désactivation commande pour un front descendant, c.-à-d. lorsque le contact s’ouvre). On règle pour l’impulsion de sortie un temps très court, par exemple 10 ms, ce qui fait qu’il n’y a aucune chance qu’une commande automatique (itinéraire) et une commande manuelle aient lieu en même temps.