Automatic control by programmable module

Having at my disposal a Schneider Electric (ex-Telemecanique) brand programmable module, Zelio type, (it is in fact a mini PLC), I wanted to try it for this application.

Programmable module

It’s a rather simple device, equipped with several inputs and outputs (their number depends on the model). It is powered by 24 V DC. This can be done by using a 15 V rectified and filtered transformer output, which gives about 21 V, a voltage which is perfectly suited to the module (consumption is low).

Zelio Module

It can be programmed in several ways, either directly by front keys, but this is not very handy, either by computer, the program being transferred through a serial cable. Much handier, except that finding a serial port in a recent computer is not easy. So in addition you have to provide a USB / serial converter (an adapter cable is available to the manufacturer of my module, but it’s overpriced).

The main programming mode is ladder diagram. Various functions, timestamp, timer, etc. are provided.

A starter kit is available, including a 12-input / 8-output module, a serial link cable, a CD-ROM containing the Zelio Soft program, ref. SR2PACK2BD. See prices on the last page. Do not rely on the Radiospares online catalog page which claims that the connecting cable is an “indispensable accessory” at 82.40 €! This cable is included in the pack.

Example of ladder diagram

Example of Zelio diagram

There you can find contacts, either normally open (NO) (I1, I2 for example) or normally closed (NC) (I4), which are in fact actuated by the module inputs, and relay coils (SQ1 for example) actuating output contacts, here Q1.

When two contacts are in series (case of I1, I2), they form a logical AND: in order for the relay coil SQ1 to be energized, I1 AND I2 must be closed at the same time. When two contacts are in parallel (case of I3, I5), they form a logical OR: for the current to pass, it is enough that I3 or I5 is closed (of course, if both are closed, it also works). Finally, a normally closed contact (I4) forms a logical NO (negation): for the current to flow, the contact must NOT be actuated. Finally, in the example, the coils SQ1 and RQ1 are controlled as follows:

To simplify this writing, it has been agreed to note AND by the sign •, the OR by the +, and the NO by a bar placed above the letter, so we write:

What do SQ1 and RQ1 mean?

The S is for Set (set to work) and R for Reset. This simulates a so-called bistable (latching) relay, which has two coils, one to actuate the contacts (and they remain actuated even if the coil is no longer energized), and the other coil to de-actuate them. This makes it possible to change a pulsed command (briefly pressing a push-button) into a so-called maintained command (such as that of a switch which remains in the last position it was put).

You may have guessed that output Q1 itself can control an inverter relay that will drive the turnout motor according to the diagram above: when Q1 is set, the turnout will be in the diverging position; when Q1 is reset, the turnout will be in the direct position (or vice-versa).

Commande automatique

Ayant à ma disposition un « module programmable » de marque Schneider Electric (ex-Telemecanique), de type Zelio, (c’est en fait un mini-automate programmable), j’ai voulu l’essayer pour cette application.

Module programmable

C’est un appareil assez simple, muni de plusieurs entrées et sorties (leur nombre dépend des modèles). Il s’alimente en 24 V continu. On peut pour cela utiliser une sortie 15 V de transformateur, redressée et filtrée, ce qui donne environ 21 V, tension qui convient parfaitement au module (la consommation est faible).

Module Zelio

Il se programme de plusieurs manières, soit directement par des touches en façade, mais ce n’est pas très pratique, soit par ordinateur, le programme étant ensuite transféré par un câble série. Bien plus pratique, sauf que trouver un port série dans un ordinateur récent, ce n’est pas évident. Donc prévoir en plus un convertisseur USB / série (chez le fabricant de mon module, il existe un câble adaptateur, mais il est hors de prix).

Le mode de programmation principal est le schéma à contacts. Il est prévu des fonctions très variées, horodateur, timer, etc.

Il existe un pack de démarrage (starter kit), comprenant un module 12E/8S, un câble de liaison série, un CD-ROM contenant le programme Zelio Soft, réf. SR2PACK2BD. Voir les prix en dernière page. Ne vous fiez pas à la page du catalogue en ligne Radiospares qui prétend que le câble de liaison est un « accessoire indispensable »… à 82,40 € ! Ce câble est bien inclus dans le pack.

Exemple de schéma à contacts

Exemple de schéma Zelio

On y trouve donc des contacts, soit ouverts au repos (I1, I2 par exemple), soit fermés au repos (I4), qui sont en fait actionnés par les entrées du module, et des bobines de relais (SQ1 par exemple) qui matérialisent des contacts de sortie, ici Q1.

Lorsque deux contacts sont en série (cas de I1, I2), ils forment un ET logique : pour que la bobine de relais SQ1 soit excitée, il faut que I1 ET I2 soient fermés en même temps. Lorsque deux contacts sont en parallèle, ou en dérivation (cas de I3, I5), ils forment un OU logique : pour que le courant passe, il suffit que I3 OU I5 soit fermé (naturellement, si les deux sont fermés, ça marche aussi). Enfin, un contact fermé au repos (I4) forme un NON (négation) logique : pour que le courant passe, il faut que le contact NE soit PAS actionné. Finalement, dans l’exemple, les bobines SQ1 et RQ1 sont commandées ainsi :

Pour simplifier cette écriture, on a convenu de noter ET par le signe •, le OU par le +, et le NON par une barre placée au-dessus de la lettre, et on écrit :

Que signifient SQ1 et RQ1 ?

Le S est pour Set (mise au travail) et R pour Reset (mise au repos). Cela simule ce que l’on appelle un relais bistable, qui a deux bobines, l’une pour actionner les contacts (et ils restent actionnés même si la bobine n’est plus alimentée), et l’autre pour les remettre au repos. Cela permet de transformer une commande par impulsion (appui bref sur un bouton-poussoir) en commande dite maintenue (comme celle d’un interrupteur qui reste dans la dernière position où on l’a mis).

Vous avez peut-être deviné que la sortie Q1 peut elle-même commander un relais inverseur qui va piloter le moteur d’aiguille suivant le schéma vu précédemment : lorsque Q1 sera « au travail » (Set), l’aiguille sera en position déviée ; et lorsque Q1 sera « au repos » (Reset), l’aiguille sera en position directe (ou le contraire).