Turnouts motor control

I plan to power the motors with half-wave rectified voltage. Let me explain: a two-position inverter has its common point connected to an alternative power supply (transformer). Its other two terminals are connected to those of the motor by two diodes, in opposite directions to one another. In one position, the motor receives a voltage whose mean value is positive, and thus rotates until it reaches the end position. In the other position of the switch, the motor receives a voltage whose mean value is negative and therefore turns in the opposite direction. Here is the diagram.

Half-wave rectified power

Note: the inverter may be a relay SPDT contact; the diodes are in close proximity or even directly welded thereon.

This system has several merits: first, the simplicity of the wiring, a single wire per turnout, plus a common wire to all motors! Then, by placing a capacitor (not polarized, but we can cope with this, see below) at the terminals of the motor, not only is the current smoothed, but the average voltage and thus the speed of the motor can be adjusted by changing the value of the capacity, which is appreciable when one considers the little performance homogeneity of these motors. With a 15V transformer output, some motors require no capacitor, others require up to 1000μF!

For such capacities, the unpolarized capacitors are bulky, difficult to find and expensive (example: 8.50 € for 200 μF / 35 V, instead of 1.50 € for a polarized one). The current is reversed as a function of the turnout control, and a conventional polarized capacitor doesn’t like to be connected upside down. Solution: connect two capacitors in opposition, as shown in the diagram above.

Commande des moteurs

Mais, quoi qu’il en soit, pour simplifier la commande, je vais alimenter les moteurs en redressé mono alternance. Je m’explique : un inverseur à deux positions a son point commun relié à une alimentation alternative (transfo). Ses deux autres bornes sont reliées à celles du moteur par deux diodes, en sens contraire l’une de l’autre. Dans une position, le moteur reçoit une tension dont la valeur moyenne est positive, et tourne donc jusqu’à atteindre la position fin de course. Dans l’autre position du commutateur, il reçoit une tension dont la valeur moyenne est négative et tourne donc dans l’autre sens. Voici le schéma.

Alimentation monoalternance

NB : l’inverseur peut être le contact « RT » (repos-travail) d’un relais ; les diodes sont à proximité, voire directement soudées dessus.

Ce système a plusieurs mérites : d’abord, la simplicité du câblage, un seul fil par aiguillage, plus un fil commun à tous les moteurs ! Ensuite, en plaçant un condensateur (non polarisé, mais on peut s’arranger, voir ci-dessous) aux bornes du moteur, non seulement on lisse quelque peu le courant, mais on peut régler la tension moyenne et donc la vitesse du moteur en jouant sur la valeur de la capacité, ce qui est appréciable quand on considère le peu d’homogénéité des performances de ces moteurs. Avec une sortie transfo de 15 V, certains moteurs ne nécessitent aucun condensateur, d’autres en réclament un jusqu’à 1000 µF !

Pour de telles capacités, les condensateurs non polarisés sont encombrants, difficiles à trouver et chers (exemple : 8,50 € pour 200 µF / 35 V, au lieu de 1,50 € pour un polarisé). Or le courant s’inverse en fonction de la commande de l’aiguille, et un condensateur polarisé classique n’aime pas du tout être branché à l’envers. Solution : en brancher deux en opposition, comme sur le schéma ci-dessus.