Let us return to the motorization of the turnouts

Peco motors

I first logically tried the Peco motors, with auxiliary switch to buy extra for frog feeding and feedback. Very noisy, very greedy. As a route control can operate multiple motors at the same time, overall power consumption could have reached up to ten amperes.

If you say “capacitive discharge”, I will anwer that this certainly provides an important instantaneous current. But what is this current switched by? Well, by a relay, a transistor or a thyristor: bulky material, necessarily close to the motor (avoiding voltage drops due to too long wires), complication of an electronic board, etc. And it needs a fairly large capacitor (about 10,000 μF) for each motor. Then, after each use, this capacitor must be recharged. This can take several seconds (depending on the load current), the time during which the tunrout is paralyzed. Not convinced? Then think of the flushing of your toilets: it’s exactly the same principle: quick emptying, slow filling!

Fulgurex motors

So I turn to the slow motor solution. These are usually fitted with suitable auxiliary contacts, but they are much more expensive. Among the least expensive, there are the Fulgurex. When one hears this name, one thinks immediately Swiss Quality… Big mistake, we’ll see it further!

Not too expensive, not too difficult to install. First tests: for the same voltage (DC at first), some motors roar like a Formula 1, some others advance at the speed of a rheumatic turtle, others can’t even start! Another problem is that the springs of the auxiliary switches have an unfortunate tendency to escape. I lost several of them, found miraculously, sometimes a day later. So think of carefully using the blister as a protection, just to recover a strolling spring. But this blister will also have to be carved, because it is unable to wrap the whole thing up to the point of pivoting of the control rod. Very well designed, isn’t it?

Then let’s have a look to the mechanics: there is a terrible backlash in the worm gear transmission, the wheel of which moves with each change of direction. This sometimes leads to jamming: the motor remains blocked at the end of the course, and it can only be released by hand, by rotating the worm… without turning to the wrong direction, and after having removed the blister, so risking misleading a spring! Finally, the plastic deforms, but is still extremely brittle: don’t try to unclip the motor whose retaining lugs are twisted, they’ll break like glass. The same applies to the secondary screw holding. In short: a big junk, to stay polite!

Tortoise motors

Next time, it will be Tortoise or nothing! OK, but the Tortoises remain under power at the end of the course, and therefore unnecessarily consume power, even if it’s not much…

And why do the Tortoises stay under power at the end of the course? To save a contact? I don’t believe it. In my opinion, their gear transmission is reversible, and the turnout switch could move and take off under vibration if the motor stopped powered. This is the principle of the torque motor (stall motor), capable of applying a force while remaining motionless.

Then what to do?

What to do yeah.
I really don’t know,
I really don’t know what to do
.
The Rolling Stones - Aftermath - 1966

Almost last minute (January 2014)

Peco releases a complete turnout control system for servo motors, with the possibility to adjust the speed and extreme positions. Operation may be analog or digital, for a price that seems reasonable to me. To be continued…

Last minute (March 2014)

Peco system is actually that of a probably Chinese manufacturer, ANE Model, to which one can find it cheaper and with more options.

Another manufacturer, Tam Valley Depot, also produces a similar and cheaper system in the USA.

But there's better! I found a way to easily adapt a servo motor equipped with a reversing switch to feed the frog, in direct replacement of a Fulgurex motor. The control unit will use a special accessory decoder, the ESU Switchpilot Servo, of a moderate price. This is the subject of another article

So what?

Good day sunshine!
Good day sunshine!

The Beatles - Revolver - 1966

1966, a good year, definitely…

Revenons à la motorisation des aiguilles

Moteurs Peco

J’ai d’abord logiquement essayé les moteurs Peco, avec contacts auxiliaires à acheter en supplément pour l’alimentation du cœur et la rétrosignalisation. Très bruyants, très gourmands. Comme une commande d’itinéraire peut faire fonctionner plusieurs moteurs simultanément, la consommation globale aurait pu atteindre jusqu’à dix ampères.

Vous allez me dire « décharge capacitive ». Je vous répondrai que certes, cela permet de fournir un courant instantané important. Mais il est commuté par quoi, ce courant ? Eh bien, par un relais, un transistor ou un thyristor : matériel encombrant, nécessairement à proximité du moteur (il faut éviter les chutes de tension dues à des fils trop longs), complication d’une carte électronique, etc. Et il faut un assez gros condensateur (environ 10 000 µF) pour chaque moteur. Ensuite, après chaque utilisation, il faut le recharger, ce condensateur. Cela peut prendre plusieurs secondes (c’est fonction du courant de charge), temps pendant lequel l’aiguille est paralysée. Vous n’êtes pas convaincu ? Pensez à la chasse d’eau de vos toilettes : c’est exactement le même principe : vidage rapide, remplissage lent !

Moteurs Fulgurex

Je me tourne donc vers la solution des moteurs lents. Ceux-ci sont généralement munis d’origine des contacts auxiliaires adéquats, mais ils sont nettement plus chers. Parmi les moins onéreux, il y a les Fulgurex. Lorsqu’on entend ce nom, on pense tout de suite Qualité Suisse… Grossière erreur, on le verra plus loin !

Pas trop chers, pas trop difficiles à installer. Premiers essais : pour la même tension (continue dans un premier temps), certains moteurs vrombissent comme une Formule 1, d’autres avancent à la vitesse d’une tortue rhumatisante, d’autres encore n’arrivent même pas à démarrer ! Autre problème : les ressorts des contacts auxiliaires ont une fâcheuse tendance à s’échapper. J’en ai ainsi perdu plusieurs, retrouvés miraculeusement, parfois un jour plus tard. Donc penser à bien utiliser le blister comme protection, simplement pour récupérer un ressort baladeur. Mais il faudra aussi le charcuter, ce blister, car il ne peut pas tout envelopper jusqu’au point de pivotement de la tringle de commande. Très bien étudié, tout ça !

Ensuite, la mécanique : il y a un jeu terrible dans la transmission à vis sans fin, dont la roue se déporte à chaque changement de sens. Cela mène parfois à un coincement : le moteur reste bloqué en fin de course, et on ne peut le libérer qu’à la main, en faisant tourner la vis sans fin… sans se tromper de sens, après avoir ôté le blister, donc en risquant d’égarer un ressort ! Enfin, cherry on the cake, la matière plastique se déforme, mais est malgré tout extrêmement cassante : inutile d’essayer de déclipser le moteur dont les pattes de retenue sont tordues, elles cassent comme du verre. Même chose pour le maintien de la vis secondaire. Bref : une grosse camelote, pour rester poli !

Moteurs Tortoise

La prochaine fois, ce sera du Tortoise ou rien ! Oui, mais les Tortoise restent sous tension en fin de course, et consomment donc du courant inutilement, même si ce n’est pas grand’chose…

Et pourquoi restent-ils sous tension en fin de course, les Tortoise ? Pour économiser un contact ? Je ne crois pas. À mon avis, c’est que leur transmission à engrenages est réversible, et que l’aiguille pourrait se déplacer et se décoller sous l’effet de vibrations, si le moteur cessait d’être alimenté. C’est le principe du moteur couple (stall motor en anglais), capable d’appliquer une force tout en restant immobile.

Alors, que faire ?

What to do yeah.
I really don’t know,
I really don’t know what to do
.
The Rolling Stones - Aftermath - 1966

Avant-dernière minute (janvier 2014)

Peco nous sort un système complet de commande d’aiguilles par servo-moteurs, avec possibilité de réglage de la vitesse et des positions extrêmes. Fonctionnement possible en analogique et en numérique, pour un prix qui me semble raisonnable. À suivre…

Dernière minute (mars 2014)

Le système Peco est en fait celui d’un fabricant probablement chinois, ANE Model, chez lequel on peut le trouver moins cher et avec plus d’options.

Il y a aussi Tam Valley Depot qui produit un système semblable aux USA, et moins cher.

Mais il y a mieux ! J’ai trouvé moyen d’adapter très simplement un servomoteur équipé d’un contact inverseur pour alimenter le cœur d’aiguille, en remplacement direct d’un moteur Fulgurex. La commande fera appel à un décodeur d’accessoires spécialisé, le Switchpilot Servo de chez ESU, d’un prix modéré. Ceci fait l’objet d’un autre article

Alors ?

Good day sunshine!
Good day sunshine!

The Beatles - Revolver - 1966

Une bonne année, décidément, 1966…

Cerise sur le gâteau — j’ai horreur
du franglais, pas de l’anglais…

Comprenez bouse, pour ne pas rester poli.