Passing through issue

While we are busy mangling Peco switches, let’s point out and correct a very ennoying “detail” of the large radius tournouts (SLE 186 and 187).

The Y 6400 (EPM) and 7400 (LSM) switchers have a wheelbase — 3540 mm or 41 mm at 1:87 scale — which exactly corresponds to two insulated zones of the blades (the frog point and the separation between fixed and switch rails). So inevitable stop at low speed.

This will also be the case for the future REE DU65 draisine: 3600 mm or 41,4 mm to scale.

Peco turnout before transformation

Solution: move the insulating area to one side or the other. For reasons of firmness, the new location of the insulation should remain above a sleeper, hence the new possible positions: 34 or 48. The value 34 brings us closer to the wheelbase of certain bogies of cars (3 meters), or 34.5 to 1:87 scale). The best is therefore 48 (Note: the Y 8400 Roco has a 63.5 mm wheelbase, the C 61000 Jouef 52.8 mm and the Y 50100 Electrotren 45.4 mm).

So we must:

when I speak of right and left, it is compared to the picture.

Obviously (Murphy's law), I was wrong and shortened the gap instead of lengthening it. But I have an excuse: I realized the problem when the tracks were already in place and I had to operate in situ. The hardest was to weld the small rail coupons without too much deforming the plastic of the sleepers.

Peco turnout after transformation

And, one year later, I realize that the 030-TU has a wheelbase of 35 mm! Aaaargh!

Problème de franchissement

Pendant que nous en sommes à charcuter les aiguillages Peco, profitons-en pour signaler et corriger un « détail » fort gênant des aiguillages enroulés grand rayon (réf. SLE 186 et 187).

Les locotracteurs Y 6400 (EPM) et 7400 (LSM) ont un empattement — 3540 mm soit 41 mm au 87e — qui correspond exactement à deux zones isolées de ces aiguilles (pointe de cœur et séparation pattes de lièvre - aiguilles). Donc arrêt inévitable à basse vitesse.

Ce sera aussi le cas de la future draisine DU65 (EPM ou REE ?) : 3600 mm soit 41,4 mm à l’échelle.

Aiguille Peco avant transformation

Solution : déplacer la zone isolante d’un côté ou de l’autre. Pour raison de solidité, le nouvel emplacement de l’isolation doit rester au-dessus d’une traverse, d’où les nouvelles positions possibles : 34 ou 48. La valeur 34 nous rapproche de l’empattement de certains bogies de voitures (3 m, soit 34,5 au 87e). Le mieux est donc 48 (NB : le Y 8400 de Roco fait 63,5 mm d’empattement, le C 61000 de Jouef 52,8 mm et le Y 50100 d’Electrotren fait 45,4 mm).

Il faut donc :

NB : lorsque je parle de droite et de gauche, c’est en référence à la photo.

Évidemment (loi de Murphy), je me suis trompé et ai raccourci la lacune au lieu de l’allonger. Mais j’ai une excuse : je me suis rendu compte du problème alors les voies étaient déjà en place et j’ai dû opérer in situ. Le plus dur a été de souder les petits coupons de rail sans trop déformer le plastique des traverses.

Aiguille Peco après transformation

Et, un an plus tard, je m’aperçois que la 030-TU a un empattement de 35 mm ! Raaah !